We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for price. Second time we have stayed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Albany University Area to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel for price. Second time we have stayed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Went for a weekend shopping trip and hotel suited our need for clean room and breakfast included was a time-saver. A shower cap in the room was missing but no big deal. Hotel assistant manager greeted us and was very service oriented

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us. I am glad to here you had a great stay with us and look forward to your future visit. We always carry shower caps and extra amenities on request at the desk. once again thank you for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
43
21
6
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

While the facility was booked almost to capacity I heard little or no noise from the others in this hotel. The door closers are set so that the doors close quietly and do not SLAM! Breakfast offerings were along the norm that you would expect. The desk staff were always polite and helpful. A warm greeting every time you passed one of them, as well as, the rest of the staff. Pool looked nice, but I had no time to visit it as I was on business with long days. The SUNY Albany campus across the street is enourmous and well manicured. A nice place to take a long walk. I would recommend this facility and would visit on a return trip.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the highest floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a funny place, in parts up to date, in part a little run down, old, and a little pungent. However the staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool looked appealing but is situated where everyone can walk past to look at you, all in all an ok place to rest your head for a night or two, but not much more than that.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on you stay with us.Being an older Fairfield design we are schedule for a future renovation of the property. Once again thank you for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way to New York City and used the Fairfield as a place to spend the night and take a break on our drive to the big city. The positives: great location, right close to the interstate. Free breakfast, which was as good as what you might pay $15 a piece for in NYC (as we found out a couple days later) theres a nice pool and a hot tub and the staff were helpful and friendly. They were able to locate a crib for our little one even though we were there pretty late and also moved us to a new room when we found that someone had broke the rules and smoked in the first one.
The negatives: really just one and it wasn't TOO bad. Most of the facility was very clean but there was a some dirty looking spots on the walls a little. It didn't really bother us too much, just took the overall experience down a notch.

Overall, recommended. I've been to many many hotels and one thing that seems to be constant is you can typically count on Marriott to deliver.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us. I am glad we could meet most of your needs and would also like to let you know that we are scheduled for future renovations and the paint color match issue in on the walls will be corrected. Once again thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff was very nice, especially the front desk. The location was good. There was a nice looking pool on the first floor, but we did not try it. The hallways were clean but shabby. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but the room was a bit run down. There were no alcoholic beverages available on the premises. Would have had to get back in the car and drive down the street for a drink. If you want a drink after a long drive, be advised to bring your own. I prefer the Courtyard down the street and will probably stay there next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us and your brand loyalty. I would also like to inform you that we are scheduled future renovations to freshen you the hotel look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The inn was great with privileges to their sister property next door.

The service and staff were so helpful, friendly, and cordial. The breakfast was really good, plenty of choices for the light to heavy eater.

The inn is also directly across from SUNY-Albany campus and very close to major restaurants and the Colonie Mall, Rt 87 and the NYST.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank yu very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is right across from the SUNY Albany campus, along with a bunch of other hotels. It's clean, has an indoor pool and includes breakfast in the rate. It's nothing spectacular and not near any restaurants. It's worth it if you need to be near campus and you can get a good rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.