We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice simple hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Albany University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Albany
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice simple hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed at this hotel Oct 29-30th 2011. The hotel was clean and nice. It is near hwys and shopping. The free WiFi in the rooms was great and breakfast was included in the morning. The only criticism I have of this hotel is that the lighting in the parking lot was non existant and it was a bit creepy if you had to park farther away from the lobby. I would stay at this place again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel not only do we appriciate the nice things about the hotel, but also what you did not like. I do apologize about the lights in the parking lot, they were off due to a timer malfunction that was corrected immediately the next moring. Once again thank you for your time.

Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
41
19
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent just one night here. We had a room with 2 queen beds, beds were very comfortable, the room looked very clean. Bathroom was clean too. The lobby had a strong smell to pool chemicals as the pool is right next to it. It was a bit too strong for one of us who is allergic to certains smells... nothing major. Breakfast was average. Well located if you are driving into Albany. All in all, we would probably stay here again if we need to stop in Albany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The cholrine level in the pool is regulated by the County Health department, and those are the level we maintain and check several times a day. Once again tahnk you for taking the time help us improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Tiny lobby with a sofa and a few chairs, 2 computer stations. Nice spacious indoor pool. Staff was indifferent, only helpful if sought out and asked . Housekeeping staff was better than front desk or breakfast staff. Better experience in other area Marriott Hotels. Free breakfast offered as in standard at Fairfield Inns. Very convenient to Suny Albany, right off the highway, gas station and Dunkin Donuts on the same road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to do a review for our hotel, this always gives us input on areas we need to improve for our customer satisfaction, and once again thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn SUNY for your stay from all the various Marriott Brands offered in Albany, NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hotel room and premises were nice and clean. Did not seem old. Stayed in room with two queen beds. The room size was more than ample for two queen beds. Breakfast is okay. One thing we did not like was the towel changing policy. Inspite of keeping the towel on the floor as instructed, it was not changed and we got the same one back but folded. We could figure out because there were some dirt mark left by us on that towel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. This is a tool we use to help improve our services. I would like to apologize that your towels were not change, and we have reviewed with our staff to make sure everyone understands the towel exchange program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The stay was pleasant and reasonably priced. We arrived late, rested well, and were on our way in the morning. The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet offered healthy alternatives for breakfast. We'll stay again on our annual trip to Maine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the beds and the hotel in general was. The staff was really helpful and the breakfast was great with lots of variety!!! Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My family and I had originally booked a 2-bedroom suite at CrestHill Suites, just a short distance away. However, before we had the opportunity to settle in, we had an awful experience with a very rude staff member at the front desk. Our room was very dirty as well. So, we did not stay there overnight, and ended up checking availability at Fairfield Inn.

After a long trip from Maryland, and our poor experience at CrestHill Suites, we were delighted to meet the very friendly and polite staff at Fairfield Inn. They were extremely helpful. We needed to accommodate 6 people, preferably in a suite. They were unable to put us in a single room. Therefore, the staff assisted by calling around to various other Marriott hotels in the area to find out pricing and availability. It was Memorial Day weekend and most places were already booked. So, we decided to stay in 2 of their rooms. They selected rooms for us that were near each on the first floor. The rooms were not fancy, but very clean. The beds were the most comfortable my family and I have ever slept in at a hotel. It was great to get a good night's sleep after a long trip, in preparation for my son's graduation from RPI the next morning.

The free breakfast buffet had a good variety of items to please many different eating habits. They had Belgian waffle irons, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, egg omelets, etc. If I should visit Albany again, Fairfield Inn will be one of my first choices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we are happy to have made your visit to Albany more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.