We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Warm Service by the Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Albany
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Warm Service by the Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We felt really special by the personal attention by the staff. Especially Ann Marie who was so helpful, even managed to do a hotel reservation for our onward Journey to NY city. Thank you so much. We felt really at home. Well done!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. AnnMarie received a copy of this and we shared it with the entire staff.

Wishing you well on your travels adn we hope to see you again some day.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    79
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
123
57
24
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islip. NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had a recent trip to Albany, New York for work oriented relations and chose the Holiday Inn for my stay, as I have so often in the past. This time is no diffrent from any in the past, clean rooms,nice area, a relativly decent breakfast selection, heated pool and most importantly friendly staff. One staff member in particualr by the name Nick actually came out and shook my hand upon arrivial,it was suprising to see an employee so warm and welcoming. In the future if I ever get a chance to revist the Albany area this would certainly be a top pick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The entire staff works very hard at what they do and Nick is truly a shining star among them.

We read your review to the staff and presented Nick with a copy!

Thank you very much for helping us show everyone what a truly fantastic job they are doing.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Your staff were so kind and knowledgeable. From the moment we came in to departing 3 days later. Always calling us by our names... how do you remember all your guests names?
My husband had business in town and I tagged along with our grandson.

Our room was clean, comfortable and so quite. Thank you for the free bottled water - most places charge you for the water in the room. Breakfast was good and staff are so helpful - gave my grandson crayons and even colored with him.

Your pool is PERFECT - nice and warm. It was so hard to get out of it because it was so relaxing.

We will be sending our neice over to meet with you about her wedding plans in 2013 at the Albany Country Club. I'm sure you will be able to help her plus this is where we will stay for the wedding.

My only complaint is we had to leave, my stay was that comfortable.

Sincerely
Mary

Room Tip: Next time we're requesting a Parlor Suite. We got to look inside was and its very nice! Dont f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for writing such a rave review about your stay with us! We are very happy to have been able to provide you with such a nice experience. The staff is very good at remembering everyones names! They can teach me a thing or two about that!! :)

Looking forward to seeing you again and especailly to meeting your neice!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Room was big and clean. Area was quiet. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Free wifi worked the best I've ever had in a hotel. A lot of places you have to keep on logging on, but here you were always on....Nice. Oh and breakfast was fantastic. They advertise it as a continental breakfast but it realy is a complete breakfast. Nice. Anyway I give it a top scor. And you are close to a Starbucks and Chipotle!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much! We enjoy reading these reviews and appreciate the time it takes to share your experience.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location for our visit, very clean modern and hospitable. Every employee was wonderful
We were part of a medium size group that was treated tremendously. Only wish we had time to take advantage of pool

Room Tip: Quite a few hotels on Western Avenue but this one is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! Believe me ... we wish it were more too! :)

We do truly value the time you took to post your review and hope to see you again in the future.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel has most of the amenities one would expect at a budget travel hotel--a microwave, frig, large tv, clean room, comfortable bed. They have free breakfast that isn't too bad. No restaurant and the place is small. I wish they had real glasses in the room because i don't like drinking out of plastic, especially if i have brought wine with me. But over all, a nice clean place to stay. Across the road is the Styvesant Plaza which has restaurants and up scale stores. Fyi, there is a liquor store in the plaza.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly appreciate every one of these!!

Just a tip for your next visit, we keep wine glasses at the front desk...give us a call and we will send some up.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 3 times and service at this hotel was on overdrive every time. It just could not be better. The breakfast is complete, well prepared, and fresh. The breakfast buffet area is kept very clean. Seating is in an area with 2 large screen TVs. The pool is always kept hot and is larger than what it looks like in the photos. Rooms are well stocked with everything you could imagine. Just a wonderful place to stay and convenient to all.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the entrance to the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Just a quick note to thank you very much for your review. We really do appreciate all of our guests and are thankful that you took the time to post about your experience. These comments really keep the staff going!


Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Albany
Holiday Inn Albany
Albany Holiday Inn
Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albany
#6 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Holiday Inn Express Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.