We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel okay but the location poor.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hotel okay but the location poor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was clean. The breakfast was hot with a good variety. The only downside was the hard beds and the location. We arrived late at night and needed to find something for supper. There are no restaurants near the hotel; however, they offered a free shuttle to a variety of restaurants. The hotel was downtown so I expect that there should be restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Greetings DetDuke!

Glad that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast, downtown Albany is going through a transformation with alot of new development that will bring a convention center, condo's, shopping and more great restaurants.
We'd love to welcome you back should your travels bring you to our area.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    121
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
74
62
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Service was great. Free shuttle from train station and airport. We had a lightbulb go out and it was promptly solved. The room was clean, the bed was nice, and the TV channel selection was excellent. And we enjoyed the pool and admired that it was obviously handicap friendly (with a mechanical chair for those who are wheelchair bound. However, most of the breakfast items were awful. Yes, they had bananas, apples, and oranges. But they also had those terrible fake omelets with the processed cheese. Yuck. And all the yogurt was HIGH in sugar. Give us some healthy sources of protein. And the juices were all syrupy.
Also, the gym is lame. They need a better nautilus machine and some free weights. And more space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad that you enjoyed several of our amenities.
We apologize that the breakfast wasn't to your liking and we will take your suggestions into consideration. We do have limited space in the fitness center due to the Sauna and Steam room which many guests enjoy.
We would definitely like the opportunity to welcome you back when in our area.
Until then Safe and Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for Paul McCartney concert at Times Union, which was fantastic! This is my first time staying at a Holiday Inn Express. The location is close (approx 6 minute walk) to Times Union, but the abandoned building next door is quite a turn off. My biggest gripe was that I booked this room 2 months prior, nervous there wouldn't be a room available with Sir Paul in town. Since I booked early, I did not expect to get a room across from the elevator and a view of the freeway. The room was clean, a little small, toilet seat wobbly but I was surprised that at the price I paid there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room! That was surprising! With that said advantages: 6 min walk to times union, close to downtown attractions in general, breakfast was adequate, there is a pool, room was clean. Disadvantages: close to blight, 90 parking spaces 135 rooms (does that make sense?), wobbly seat, no refrigerator, no micro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from freeway if car noise is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear cthonesttraveler,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. I am truly delighted you found our rooms clean and breakfast adequate. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the issues encountered with the toilet and parking space. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to management to consider for upgrades needed. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Sincerely,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night when we were traveling across the East coast. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean with a comfortable bed, however the building is old and musty. It was a 5-10 minutes walk to some unique buildings but with one or two wrong turns, we felt like we were in a very uncertain neighborhood. The free breakfast was ok, nothing special. It is lacking of surrounding restaurants and we had to drive to find some dinner. If you need a convenient location for a one night stay it is ok, but wouldn't suggest staying otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Kyle C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the hotel. Please note that we do also offer a complimentary shuttle to our guests that can take you to and from local area restaurants, it is based upon availability.

We do pride ourselves on our staff, it is one of our most complimented areas in the hotel.

Safe and happy travels~
Carol Robinson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The best part of the 4-day stay was Brittany at the front desk. Super friendly and helpful. The room was clean - nice sheets and towels. But the location (between the bus depot and the freeway) left little to be desired. It's listed as convenient - true - you can get on the freeway to go anywhere - and you should. This is not the neighborhood to be walking in at night or on a weekend when there are very few people around. My biggest issue was the ipod dock/alarm clock which for some reason was set to go off every day at 7:30 am. I'm pretty tech-minded but I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to disarm the alarm so finally just unplugged it. Typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast. Why they charge you $20 for parking is beyond me - that should be standard with hotels like this. Never did use the pool although I saw lots of people in it. Indoor pools just don't do it for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway, as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear SoCalEncinitas,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am delighted to hear that you found our room clean and I am particularly appreciative of your comment about our front desk staff. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied by the in- room amenity. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again here in Albany.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Located in downtown Albany right next to the Greyhound terminal, I found this a nice place to stay, but...

A charge of $5 plus tax was attached to my bill for self-parking outside the reception area under a canopy. The lobby was smallish, with no place to sit. My room was okay, but the window looked out on a Interstate ramp and nothing else. Noises were muted, but still, the outside scene was disconcerting. A free breakfast buffet was good consisting of eggs, bacon, sausage and plenty of donuts.

A major negative of this motel was there was no fridge as is common in most facilities. You had to rent a portable one, but the four days I as there, none were available. Good-bye to keeping insulin chilled or sodas cool.

All together, it was an adequate place to stay in downtown Albany, but...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Other reviewers have touched on what might turn off some travelers about this hotel -- a charm-free location in the shadow of the urban spaghetti of elevated highways, and a chlorine-y smell pervading the lobby area from the adjacent pool. But if you can look beyond these issues, the Holiday Inn Express is really a lovely little spot that does what it does very well, we found. The location is convenient. We were staying overnight for a road race, and found it easy to walk everywhere we needed to -- restaurants, the race, downtown attractions, etc. Our rooms were very comfortable, spacious, perfectly clean, and included everything we might need. Breakfast was ample and tasty. And best of all, to my mind, the front desk staff was good-natured, helpful, and friendly. For instance, we needed a last-minute adjustment of our rooms, and they quickly accommodated us with a room switch. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to Verizon, General Electric and the Port of Albany. Our hotel in Albany is also near the Legislative Office Building and State Offices. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station. Or if you're flying into Albany Airport (ALB), we'll pick you up there, too. We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.