We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Anthony and Samantha-great hospitality at this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thanks Anthony and Samantha-great hospitality at this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Samantha juggled many things at one time while upgrading us to a suite at check in. Anthony is outstanding in his attention to service and hospitality, and helped us get an even better suite and cot for our second night. Ketsia did a super job taking care of the breakfast bar. This was a great hotel experience thanks to these excellent people! Great job everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    114
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
69
58
22
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Fushkill, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

One night stay for Disney show went smooth.....shuttle to show was convenient. Hotel had indoor pool so next time we will bring our suits. Staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast fine as usual. Parking safe too. Not too many places to choose from in Albany do I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear LD,
I want to thank you for your kind remarks. And, thanks for mentioning our location, which is so convenient to the Times Union Center. I will pass on your nice comments about the staff to all of the Department Manager’s. They will appreciate hearing the accolades. I'm glad that you will return with your swim suits to take advantage of our indoor pool and jacuzzi. Thank you for your stay and please do not hesitate to contact me when you are ready to come back for another getaway. We appreciate your business.

Kind Regards,

Kim Levy
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira Heights, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff at this hotel are top notch, they provided the level of service one would expect from a very high end establishment. The front desk attendant Anthony was exceptionally helpful and courteous, and the shuttle driver was patient and efficient. Our room was very clean and a generous size, the bathroom was well appointed, and the bedding was quite comfortable. The free parking was a bonus, as was the free breakfast in the morning (which had a nice variety of items to choose from). I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the building if you're carrying heavy luggage---there is onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mr. Marshall,
Thank you for your kind words! Our top priority is creating an atmosphere where our guests can relax and feel right at home! I'm so happy we were able to accommodate you and you were able to enjoy Monday Night Football! We hope to see you on your next trip from LA to NY.
Kind Regards,

Kim Levy
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksville, LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

When checking in, I was greeted by a friendly woman behind the counter. I am here for work and was given the same room rate as my boss, even though he had way more "points" than me. The room was very clean with a comfortable king sized bed and...wait...is this TV HD? It is! HD television might not seem like a big deal, but watching Monday Night Football was much easier on a high-def flat screen than your usual old box standard def television in most hotel rooms. The hotel has a shuttle service for taking guests downtown and the surrounding area. My boss and I had to go about 5 miles away, which was out of the shuttles service area, but the manager brought us and picked us up anyway. The shuttle service really made everything so much easier. The manager was quick to remember our names and suggested multiple good restaurants as well as some watering holes for cocktails. All in all, it was a very pleasurable stay. I'd have to give most credit to the manager, he really went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. Oh, and breakfast is actually edible!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is right off the freeway but a bit tricky to find. After parking our car underneath the hotel (parking is free, what you cannot take for granted at a downtown hotell), we were welcomed by a very friendly staff. Check in was smooth, they explained everything we needed to know about our stay and offered us the free shuttle (we used it twice because it rained and we were a bit in a hurry, but everything downtown has to offer can also be reached on foot).
The shuttle driver was very friendly and told us a few facts about Albany on our short ride to the arena (we were in Albany to see the Devils). We also had dinner at the sports bar right at the arena (Wolfs 1-11 - good beer selection, food was good).
Our room was very clean and pretty spacious. It faced the freeway intersection but noise was no problem at all.
Breakfast was good (standard HI breakfast - I love their cinnamon rolls).
The hotel also has an indoor pool - we had no time to take a swim but it looked nice (maybe a bit small).
I would stay there again - no complaints at all !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here overnight on our way by train to Montreal. Arrived in the late evening after a 4 hour drive. Parked our car and they took us to a restaurant, the next morning to the train station and picked us up when we returned a few days later. The staff was very helpful. The room was upgraded so it was very large, though the set up was odd -- the sofa faced the jacuzzi tub rather than the TV. The van drivers were very proud of Albany and expained the sights and history as they drove.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday inn express on our way to Wildwood in august of 2012. The location was perfect, breakfast included and the room was CLEAN and spacious.

Food was good and close to walking distance of a lot of good restaurants.

The pool was nice, a bit cold for me but still !!! the kids loved it!!!

Price was decent, I booked online a couple of weeks before.

Checkout is so easy to do (You leave your card in the rooms and that's it!)

Will go back again

Room Tip: Right of the highway easy to find and good quality for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to Verizon, General Electric and the Port of Albany. Our hotel in Albany is also near the Legislative Office Building and State Offices. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station. Or if you're flying into Albany Airport (ALB), we'll pick you up there, too. We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.