We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blame Rockerfeller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SE UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Blame Rockerfeller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent HIE with lovely staff. But.
The hotel is not just downtown, it's downatheeltown. Rockerfeller's aerial roadways may have wowed the citizens 50 years ago but they cut the city off from its heart, the river. The city moved up the hill, leaving behind empty shops, bomb-site car parks, the bus station and this hotel. The 12 lanes of roads create too much noise for the double glazing to cope with and you wouldn't want to go walkabout at night. Having said that, the staff will happily transport you to and from anywhere you want to go.
We enjoyed our stay and would happily return but it's as well to be warned what you will find.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    115
    48
    15
    7
See reviews for
70
58
23
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Times Union Center for a concert we were attending. We got to Albany early and went into the hotel for directions to the venue and, even though we were hours early, were informed our room was ready for check-in. The room was clean and comfortable. It was a short walk to the venue and a short drive to the Crossgates Mall. The only downside was that the jacuzzi in the pool area was out of order and, when we went to use the pool the water was ICE Cold. We were only there for one night so we didn't inform anyone about the pool water. Had we been staying longer we would've brought it to someone's attention. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast, free wi-fi and a shuttle for guests to get around the area. We were only walking 3 blocks but had we needed to get further we certainly would've taken advantage of the free shuttle service. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and if we stay in Albany again we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Charliebrown:
Thank you you for taking the time to leave a review on stay with us. I am so pleased that everything was great during your stay. I will make sure we heat up the pool before your next stay! We hope you'll come back soon and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here the night before we took train to NYC and we were very pleased with the entire hotel. We parked car and left it until our return from NYC with no extra charges. The front desk staff were excellent from recommending restaurant to getting cab. The room was spacious and clean. Perfect for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just spent the weekend at the HI EX and will be back next weekend,as well. I liked what I experienced. The property is well kept and I particularly enjoyed the employees who want to please you. The room and facilities are just fine with the mattress in the room one of the best I have ever slept on. I like it very firm and was not disappointed. The room was clean and the room staff kept it that way. Front desk folks could not be better. Fitness room is a little sparse, but the included breakfast was fine.
The neighborhood is a bit rundown, but that is not the hotel's fault. At no time did I feel unsafe.
Great price from Priceline.

Room Tip: Rooms and the hallways are quiet. No preferences noted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canda
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It was getting late on our drive back home and needed a hotel to stay at for the night. Through priceline, we were assigned this hotel. We got in at 9pm on a Saturday night. The property looks new and was very clean. The 2 people at the counter were helpful, answered all our questions and brought us another set of towels right away. Our room was clean and spacious with 2 double beds, a chair and a desk with another chair. We were travelling with children and we needed to eat, front desk kindly gave us food flyers and we ordered from our room (the Chinese restaurant was amazing for the price! I highly recommend it).
Breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Bagels, croissants, muffins, fruits, omelettes, meats, cereals, tea, coffee and juices.
I can't comment on the area because we didn't see much of it but as for the hotel itself, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahnawake, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The area seemed seedy and I was skeptical about safety while traveling with a child. The location could have been better but once we were on the property a sense of calm prevailed. Only one of the people at reception wore a HI uniform and ID tag. Our room was nice eventhough it faced the highway and the Hudson River. Thought it was going to be noisy but, suprisingly, it was quiet except for the occasional Harley that passed. The breakfast was a fair offering. Staff at Reception was extremely helpful. When asked how to get to a certain restaurant, Laurie printed up a map before our conversation had ended and she even came outside to show me how to leave the tricky (tricky to the navigationally challenged) parking lot. The shuttle bus brought us to The Egg (2 minute drive) for our event. Once we got our bearings, the area was a piece of cake. It was perfect for our purpose in Albany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Terrible location,
Unsafe surroundings,
Unclean rooms,
Very distant from any activities or shopping centers.

-We were checked into a room that was already occupied and walked in on other guests.
-Not enough parking, ended up having to park my car in an abandoned lot next door with no security.

For a hotel with a trip advisor "excellent service award" on the front desk, this doesn't say much for Trip advisor. You should probably review the rating you gave to this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your experience. Many guests are comfortable with our downtown location and feel quite safe in the city. While the governor has not decided on the Convention Center project, our surrounding buildings will remain in their current state, and, unfortunelty, we have no control over that.
I will share with our front desk associates and our housekeeping staff your comments regarding their room choice and the cleanliness of your room. It is our priority to have rooms that are clean and comfortable in which our guests can recharge. We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to Verizon, General Electric and the Port of Albany. Our hotel in Albany is also near the Legislative Office Building and State Offices. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station. Or if you're flying into Albany Airport (ALB), we'll pick you up there, too. We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.