We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1630 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Ontario
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed here for one night during the week of Aug 10, 2009. Very pleasant owner at the front desk. The breakfast area was spacious, view of the television was nice. The room was much larger than expected , it looked like it had been recently re done as it did not have any towel racks. Fridge and microwave were in room. Definetely would stay here again. The price was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    25
    8
    15
See reviews for
27
20
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monticello,N.Y.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I have a son going to school in Albany and we had to bring him down for a couple of days. We were very happy with our room. It was very large and clean. My husband recently had surgery and we were booked on the second floor, without hesitation they gave us a room on the ground floor. We plan on staying there everytime we want to visit our son, It is nicely located to great food and lots of shopping. Very Nice!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed here near the end of July in 2009 when we came down to Albany for a concert at the Times Union Center. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood about a 15 minute drive north of the downtown area. The rooms are clean and spacious and come with a large bathroom and tv. Wi-fi and breakfast is included, and breakfast consists of toast, bagels, donuts, cereal, orange juice and coffee. Staff was friendly and made sure we were comfortable. Overall, great value for the price and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

"Americas Best Value Inn is the fastest-growing hotel chain in the country" from their web-site. The Photo on their web-site must be 40 years old.
We booked the Jacuzzi Suite with 1 King bed. Suite amenities include complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet access, separate living area, sofa, table and chairs coffeemaker, mini-fridge, microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary local calls. Please specify smoking or non-smoking room preference at the time of booking.
We got 1 King bed with a leg propped up with pieces of wood. The internet access was slow at best. The living area was 2 well worn chairs and a table without sofa. The mini-fridge was full of frost. I don't think it had been defrosted in a year. The TV had no power on/off switch. You had to use the remote with the batteries held in place with tape. The Jacuzzi worked, but just. The carpet was new. The place was clean
I should have known better. Never again....
PROPERTY AMENITIES :
AIR CONDITIONING -Sounded like a motor boat.
CABLE TV -Ours had no power off button and the remote had the batteries taped in place.
CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST -Never tried it. A Japanese tour group took it all and left at 7:30 in the morning.
EXERCISE ROOM -One exercise bike and some weights.
FAX -Did not use.
HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE - I saw some wooden ramps.
HBO -Yes.
INTERNET ACCESS -Slow.
LOUNGE NEARBY -Did not see.
MEETING FACILITIES -Did not see.
NON SMOKING ROOMS -A requirement in New York State.
OUTDOOR PLUG INS -Did not see.
PETS -I guess.
RESTAURANT NEARBY -Yes.
TRUCK PARKING -Yes.
WHIRLPOOL -Did not see.

  • Liked — Not one thing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Rudeness rises to new levels at this place.

On July 10th, I made a reservation for July 12th-19th in person at an America's Best Value Inn at 1630 Central Ave Albany NY. I am new to the area having relocated from San Diego. Shortly after I left, I drove by another hotel that had a lower rate and seemed to be at a safer location. I called the person at America's Best Value Inn and canceled my reservation. It was within the parameters of the cancellation policy. The manager's response was that I was "playing games" and that she "should charge me anyway." Although she eventually cancelled my reservation, I am not confident that there won't be a charge on my credit card. Further, she had no idea the reason behind my cancellation. What if, per chance, I had to cancel because of a death in the family? The last thing I would want to deal with is an unprofessional employee. Finally, I have served my country for 8 years in the Marine Corps for citizens like her to enjoy a safe and comfortable life. I have been shot at, rocketed, mortared, and nearly blown up for folks like her. I don't want or expect a thank-you. I just want to not be treated rudely.

It doesn't stop there. I contacted corporate to inform them of her attitude. There response was that it was a privately owned hotel and I had to work it out with her. The hotel and chain clearly doesn't care about their brand name or their customers. Their name is an insult to our country.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
526 reviews 526 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

We stayed here on our way through the US. We started in LA, so we've seen many motels since.

This here was a quite good one. We had a coupon, so that saved us a few extra bucks.
When we came, nobody was really around, so we waited a while. After a few minutes the owner arrived. We got our room, but we asked for a fridge, that costed us extra 5$...but we really wanted one...that's ok.

The rooms are good sized and came clean. It had TV, microwave, some extra seats and a fridge (if you want). The motel wasn't really busy that night, but not scary.

It's located at the Central Ave, which makes it easy to go for a drive for eating, shopping...

Altogether we spent a nice night here...even the front desk area looks nicer than the rooms will be.... but for a NY state Motel it's already quite cheap....we had a good stay here.

There is a nice place very close to have some good breakfast: Empress Restaurant, go have a look.

Wanna know more about my trip:
[--]

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

I stayed there around 4 nights and it was really awful.
I am not a demanding person I just like when it is clean. Anyways this was not the case. After the first night I found 2 DEAD ROACHES in my bathroom !!!! I told the manager to do something about it and it took them 2 days to take any action BUT when they cleaned the roaches up - they LEFT A CORPUS of one of them in the bathroom!!!!!!!!
I don't expect for $80/night a super service w/ jacuzzi but for got sake I dont want to see roaches!

2. The coffee machine (the only thing I really need in the morning) was leaking!!!! I dont even know how it was possible.

3. The lights in the room were so dim I could not read neither during the day nor at night.

4. There were spiderwebs (w/ spiders) in the bathroom and when I told manager about it he said that no one had ever complained about webs before (!!!).

5. The girl in the reception had tattoos on her arms, forearms etc. Not a very nice view.

I think I would have been much better off if I stayed in a motel!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Cockroaches
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Address: 1630 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.