We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to I 90” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1630 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Truro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“close to I 90”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

great price, clean, friendly staff nothing fancy, good stopover while travelling. Easy to find off of I 90 from both directions. Take 87 N off I 90 then Exit 2 W. Its a short distance on left. Stayed twice so far, will stay again.

Room Tip: stayed on bottom floor eaiser with guide dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    25
    8
    15
See reviews for
27
20
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We got into our hotel room and they didn't even have the heat turned on for us, as they knew what time we would arrive and we were froze. It took a while to warm the room up. The clock did not work. one floor lamp was broken, there were ants all over in the bathroom and the vanity room where the sink was. found dirty dust rags in the dresser drawer. the top of the head board was very dusty. I called to tell them about the ants and they said while we were out they would take care of the ants. when we got back that evening the ants were even worse. the next day we checked out and I told them about the ants and everything and said I would like some kind of a refund, as we could not take a shower. he gave a whole $10 back. wow.. please do not stay here. price was $53.99 night plus tax with fridge, microwave and little coffeemaker.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here 1 night, the bathroom toilet kept running all night because the faucet washer to old, the toilet moves because the floor seal is old, the bath drips all night because that faucet washer is old, the base of the shower curtain has mould on it and the heater only works on high. Clearly management doesn't care about this place and it's left to fall apart. Wouldn't recommend staying here at any price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Lake, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am a frequent visitor to the Albany area and have found the Econ Lodge Colonie Center Mall to be conveniently located, modestly priced and staffed with friendly, helpful and professional personnel from the management to the line and front desk staff. The rooms are always clean and well-maintained and on any occasion where something needed to be tended to, it was taken care of at once. I have stayed there numerous times and it is high time I paid them the compliments they deserve. I'll see you all on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRATTLEBORO, VT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was skeptical of booking a room here, but the TA reviews got me to try it and it was worth it. The room was large and clean, SD TV, average bathroom, and the shower was a gusher. The breakfast was nothing special, all bread-based (toast, muffins, donuts, danishes, cereals) and nothing hot except for the coffee. I would normally give this 3 stars, but for $50/night, I had to add a star. It is an Econolodge so don't expect too much, but it isn't much different from the Quality Inn next door that is $80/night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall is a bargain! The room I had was very well updated (well -- for a Econo Lodge that is). It had some nice appointments like granite counter and a updated bathroom. The updates were nice, although you can definitely tell you're still at an Econo Lodge. Some of the floor tiles were loose, and you could actually pick one up off the floor. The motel itself is decent, although it does look a bit shady from the outside. The employees I had come in contact with were nice enough. It's also located really close to the Colonie Center which was very convenient.

Overall, it's a good place to stay if you are looking to do it on the cheap. It was safe, relatively clean and well appointed (from what I understand there are some older rooms which I haven't seen personally but I've heard bad things). So, if you want to save money on a place to stay but don't want to compromise your safety like some other motels in this price range, than this is definitely the motel for you!

Room Tip: Make sure to request an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

On my way back from Georgia to Québec, Canada, I do stop in that hotel at least once a year maybe twice. I like it, it is clean, close to highway and prices very affordable. The breakfast is OK, not very abundant in choice but OK . The staff is very courteous and friendly. Overall, I like the place and will be there again in 2014.

Room Tip: Al rooms look OK to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Address: 1630 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.