We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1630 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Albany
queens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not So Bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The people who run this place are very nice. They let me check in an hour early. Stairs are creepy but the room was fine. Comfortable bed. No art or prints on walls, very plain but ok. Room smelled (very faintly!) of cat urine. Maybe it was once a room that allowed pets? Not horrible. I have an acute sense of smell, lol. A/C was great. Did not try continental breakfast but one was available. Excellent location, near many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Good TV, shower clean. Not fancy but totally serviceable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    24
    7
    15
See reviews for
27
17
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Old motel, clean but in a nice enough area near plenty restaurants. Adequate place to stay. Room smelled a little musty. If that would put you off try one of the other close by places. Comp breakfast served 6-9.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for the price! The room was adequate, only had full beds, no queens. Both chairs had stains on them. the beds were comfortable. Check in was easy with reservations. I was a little disappointed with breakfast. Cereal and muffins was about it. I had been concerned about this place after reading some other reviews, But if I was staying again for just one night, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in room 106 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this Econolodge because they had doors that opened to the outside for easy unloading of our luggage, and because they allowed my sister to smoke in the room. I can tell you that we'll never stay here again. The beds smelled. There was a spider in the shower that looked ot have taken up lodging there quite some time ago judging from the size of his web and from the size of him. And when I got out of the shower, a centipede crawled across the floor in front of me and behind the ironing board. When we checked out of the hotel, my sister had to wake up the desk clerk to do so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I always travel via public transportation. The Capital Area Transit Authority CDTA bus went directly from the Amtrak Train Station in Schectady to the front door of the Econo Lodge, 1630 Central Ave, Albany, NY. The following morning, I took the CDTA bus to the Greyhound Station, and took Greyhound into New York City. The Econo Lodge was not only very convenient, but the neighborhood was clean and appeared safe. The front desk agent was cheerful and expedient. The room was clean, spacious and very quiet. The continental breakfast was well supplied and the staff attendent kept the area neat and spotless. On top of the above mentioned positives, the price was very reasonable. Thank you Econo Lodge at Colonie Center Mall. My only regret: I could not stay longer. I will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Fantastic location for a 3 day stay. I am a single female traveler and often travel with pets. I did not have my cats with me on this trip, but i would definitely stay here again. The room was large and well kept... my only issue was the toilet did not flush as well as it should have, but it was liveable. The beds were really comfortable and it was probably the most comfortable place I've stayed. I did not make use of the continental breakfast, but it seemed busy and there seemed to be plenty to eat. I recommend this place for overnight travelers and long term guests.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant available on site, but plenty within reasonable distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My company is cheap with the hotels so I do not have very many good choices.

I arrived at midnight. For some reason from the parking lot at night the hotel pretty much looks like a movie where you check in and no one ever sees you again.

I was on the first floor and that felt creepy. I opened my room and was so happy. It was clean and spacious. The bathroom had granite counters and nothing was wrong with the place. I still felt a little exposed to the parking lot.

I had to stay there again a few nights later so I requested the same room. I arrived in the day light and the parking lot seemed less of a death trap.

If you are looking for cheap and clean the book this place. Considering some of the other reviews you may request a remodeled room to make sure it is clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Address: 1630 Central Avenue, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.