We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Commack, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Graduation weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have stayed at many hotels in Albany due to my daughter being in college for the last four years. For graduation weekend we wanted to stay only Saturday night and most of the hotels in the area were only selling rooms if you stayed for two nights during graduation weekend, that is how we came to this Marriott. My only regret about this was that I did not find this Marriott sooner in those four years.
Our stay here was wonderful, the staff working here were so pleasant and helpful at all times. We had two rooms and both rooms were very clean, large and extremely comfortable. The lobby and food area was very nice. I am used to the hotels that do offer a free breakfast so that part I did miss, though I just paid for my coffee and muffin, not really a big deal. Our stay here was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
12
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you want a clean, comfortable and conveniently located hotel-then stay here. Right off the highway, near the airport, and steps away to lots of restaurants and shopping. The rooms are adequate and clean. For a quick overnight stay in Albany, this hotel works. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I travel a lot for work and I am a Marriott Platnium member. I usually avoid staying at the Courtyards because despite the fact they market this as the hotel for "business travelers" it is anytinng but that.

I was running late and called ahead to make sure they knew I would be there. As a frequent traveler I know the later you check in, the chances are you will get the worst room. So I called ahead to let them know I would be checking in later hoping they would assign my room. I checked in at about 10:30pm. No recognition of my Platnium status, no welcome smile. Checked in and was told that for my Platnium status I can receive a free cup of coffee in the morning or an item from the "market" (basically a candy bar). Really , a free cup of coffee in the morning? That's what I get for being Platnium? If I stay at a regular Marriott you get access to the conceirge lounge for breakfast and basicall dinner at night. If I stay at a Residence Inn everyone gets free breakfast. At a Courtyard ..the so called hotel for business travelers you receive nothing..well a free cup of coffee. So much for loyalty. It is just bizare to me that this chain of the Marriott brand hotel markets the business travlers and the most loyal business travelers, staying over 75 nights a year at Marriott brands, you receive nothing but a cup of coffee.

I think I stay at a Courtyard every couple of years and then I am reminded why I don't stay at Courtyard hotels.

This hotel is old and outdated. After checking in I knew that my room would be the worst of the hotel despite calling ahead and despite being a Platnium member. Sure enough, I walked the long hallway down to a small corner room that was freezing with the heat not working correctly. Outdated bathrooms, carpet and old beds.

The person who checked me in could was not necessarily rude but just not very friendly.

I was immediately sorry I book a room here. For that matter, sorry I booked a room at the Courtyard.

No paper delivered to my door, no breakfast but hey for your Platnium status we will give you a free cup of coffee !! She didn't even offer me the points which I thought was standard.

I would never stay here again and I will never stay at a Courtyard again. Just find it very bizare that a hotel that markets to the frequent business travelrs does not recognize them.

I really need to rethink my whole Marriott loyalty. Maybe it's time to switch brands.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any "good" rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate your feedback. It allows us to share with our staff what our guests think of our hotel and also helps other travelers make decisions about where they want to stay. I want to sincerely apologize and let you know we are always looking for ways to provide better service for our guests and have taken your comments into consideration for further improvement. We strive to offer excellent service for all our guests and I am sorry that we fell short of that expectation. We appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum member and wanted to let you know that starting March 3rd of 2014 not only do Platinum Members receive a Market item or Starbucks beverage but this is in addition to 400 points which is automatic upon check in. Again, I apologize if this was not communicated properly by our staff. Thank you for your feedback and I hope we will get the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for a few days on business. This courtyard is located in a prime location for shopping and eating and is very close to the airport property but just far enough to avoid the noise of planes or traffic.The only downside was there was a small cafe in the lobby so free breakfast isnt there.. it appeared by the setup even coffee required payment. The rooms were we kept, staff was friendly, pool, weight room and the wifi was good. I would surely stay here again when in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised (and happy) with this hotel. We got a great deal on the price (we'd booked about four months in advance and paid for it) and paid less than $100 during the Christmas holidays. The staff was pleasant when we arrived late -- and even helped us with amenities (toothbrushes/toothpaste) after some lost luggage with a smile and sympathy. The bed was very comfortable and my husband couldn't stop talking about how comfortable the pillows were. All in all, we were impressed and happy with our choice and -- if we arrive into ALB late again -- we are likely to be back if we can get the same rate.

There were only a few downsides (only two of which were under their control). First, the location of the toilet was very poorly executed. There was literally 2 inches between the front of the toilet boil and where the door is. So don't even think about closing the door while you're sitting down. Second, we arrived at 10:50pm and didn't have our luggage, which meant we arrived after the last free shuttle went to the hotel (11pm). So we ended up just renting a car a bit early. Third, we had the misfortune to be there when a group of high schoolers were there and they were very loud running up and down the hall. But once they went to bed, the insulation in the rooms was okay. The front desk was also apologetic about this when we left.

Overall -- a big thumbs up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here on business. Average Courtyard. You know what you are getting here. Would have rather stayed in Marriott across street, but they were booked. The room was very clean, and the furniture was in in very good shape. The lobby is very nice as well. Nice chairs to work in, as well as a great bar with beer/wine, and light snacks. Great for if you do not want to leave the hotel. There are a couple very good places to eat right across the street. One is the Macaroni Grill, and the other is a Seafood place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice Courtyard near lots of eating options. Front desk staff was cheerful, helpful and efficient. Room was clean and up-to-date and in-room ventilation was also very good. Was here for only one night after a long 4 hour drive and had a good nights rest and productive work session.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport

Address: 168 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Marriott
Albany Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.