We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Albany University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Albany University Area to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1379 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Portola Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good choice for a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located for getting around the Albany area and sits in a row of similar hotel choices on Washington Ave. I've stayed in 4 of them so far and the TownePlace Suites is a very good option. Was in town with my sister and her husband so the two bedroom suite was a perfect choice for us. The bathroom is a little awkwardly set up with the sink in one space and toilet/tub closed off. You wind up with two small spaces which are not very comfortable rather than one decent size bathroom. I get the idea of multiple people using the two spaces but in reality only one person at a time feels comfortable in the area. Our room unfortunately was located directly over the outside door which is opened via card key and slams quite loudly after guests have entered or exited the building. Everything else about the TownePlace Suites was positive. The people at the front desk were always pleasant and helpful, even went so far as to get me some milk from the kitchen area to go with the cereal dinner i purchased from the snack area. The snacks are plentiful and even included frozen dinners and fresh items so you could, if needed, eat in and survive. Our suite had two comfortable bedrooms with TVs as well as a TV in the living area which works well for a group with different viewing tastes. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it's pretty standard fare: toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt. One bonus is that they have a couple of waffle irons - while i didn't make one, the aroma of waffle cooking lent a great ambience to the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Try to stay as far away as possible from the entry doors in the building across from check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the TownePlace Suites. We appreciate your kind words and hope to have you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
18
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We wanted a "hotel" with 2 bedrooms, at a good price. Found it. 2 BR, each with a queen size bed, kitchen area, living room. Bathroom was small, but very manageable.

Free breakfast was simple - basic breads, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, packaged yogurts, juice, waffle maker. The room was small & seating was tight at times.

Only 13 minutes from downtown Albany. Right across the street from Univ of Albany

Room Tip: we had room 132 - don't take it. It's right next to one of the outside doors, and was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the TownePlace Suites Albany University Area. I was happy to hear that our hotel was perfect for your needs! I hope that we get the chance to have you back as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a nice place for just an overnight trip to Albany and came across this one! Booking our room was fast and easy. The folks at the front desk were very kind and helpful. Our room was very open and fresh looking! Having a kitchen set up is nice! It also has free parking and free breakfast! Since we were only stay overnight we were unable to ck out the pool and workout room. I would recommend this place to anyone! Its a very nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the TownePlace Suites with the TripAdvisor community. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we have the opportuniy to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Albany to visit my husband's family for almost 25 years. This is the first time we stayed in a hotel. My kids are young adults now and we need more room than their house can provide. TownePlace Suites was the answer. We had a two bedroom suite. There was plenty of room to spread out. With the pull out sofa and the two bedrooms we had plenty of room. The staff was very attentive, handling every request quickly and professionally. We used the fitness room, enjoyed the breakfast and I loved the tea in the lobby all day. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceSales, Assistant General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. The feedback we receive from guests help us improve our product and service for our current and future guests. As always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Satisfaction. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations! The tea is always hot and we cannot wait for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had not stayed at a TownePlace Suite hotel before, but have been to many different Marriott brands over the years. This property is fine and was convenient, and would be a good option for a low-cost long-term stay. It's like a scaled-down Residence Inn. I like to shop for food and keep it in the fridge of my room, so I appreciated how this room was equipped. Roomy, clean, and comfortable. The free breakfast was a little sparse but not out of line with my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceSales, Assistant General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. The feedback we receive from guests help us improve our product and service for our current and future guests. As always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Satisfaction. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rooms and very spacious and clean. Staff was friendly and bubbly. Wi-fi connection in the room can be a little spotty but it never dropped. There are bars within walking distance and other restaurants about ten minutes by cab, so while you get a good rest away from the noise, you are still near downtown. Recommended for its value and location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceSales, Assistant General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Your feedback helps us improve our product and service for our current and future guests. As always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Satisfaction. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this TownePlace Suites because I was exhausted from a cross-country drive, because I'm a Marriott Rewards member, and most importantly because Marriott extended-stay hotels take my black Lab! The hotel was a good save on a long trip, enabling me to arrive at my final destination refreshed instead of frazzled. Nice staff, nice clean room, nice green grounds on which to walk my pet. I used the exercise room treadmill to work out some ya-yas after long days on the road. My two suggestions are an elliptical in the exercise room and that the Marriott look into reducing their pet fee to make it competitive with comparable hotels; this pet fee was high. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceSales, Assistant General Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We love welcoming our four legged guests! Your feedback helps us improve our product and service for our current and future guests. As always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany University Area

Address: 1379 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott SUNY Albany hotel provides the perfect location when traveling to Albany for business, relocation, or pleasure. Our Albany hotel is central in the capital area and is only minutes to most everything. Conveniently located off I-87 and I-90, next to SUNY Albany and only minutes to shopping centers, downtown Albany and Albany International Airport. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Albany hotel offers uncomplicated living with your budget in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Albany: Suny Hotel Albany
Albany Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Albany University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.