We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, very nice rooms, but the event food needs work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albany Marriott to your Saves list
Albany Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, very nice rooms, but the event food needs work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

recently stayed at this property for a 2 day meeting-+$120 for an overnight...2 lunches, 1 dinner , 1 breakfast were included with the meeting cost. 1st lunch in the hotel restaurant- all was warm , delicious...Dinner-pork loin- dry and not a memorable sauce or gravy...breakfast: way over done pre cooked bacon- hard to believe they would serve it...no cream cheese/ jelly for the uncut bagles... I had to serve myself on the coffee... 2nd lunch - cold sanwich meats, cold salads( no ice underneath), and yes cold...sorry tepid soup, same flavor from the day before with some pasta added...obviously the chef is not watching out for the food...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    116
    78
    45
    16
See reviews for
62
49
29
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennellville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

With my work we hold our annual Winter Conference at this hotel each January. The staff is incredibly helpful, cheerful and always there to address any concerns we may have. We invite 250-300 of our organizations members and many local dignitaries to the property for meeting, meals and lodging. No reason to ever look for another venue as this one fits the bill and again the service provided by the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I travel often and tend to stay at Marriott brand hotels. Was not happy with my stay and will not stay at this hotel again. I'm going to list pros and cons.

Pro:
-Fantastic fitness center. The best non-pay hotel fitness center I have used.
-Service. Everyone is very nice and goes out of there way to be helpful

Con:
The beds are very hard and uncomfortable.
They charge to use wifi.
They charge for use of their business center ($1.00 per minute).
Rooms do not come with a mini-fridge.
Room temperature is not easily adjusted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate, ny
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Marriott is in close proximity to the Albany airport. It is also close by to one of the areas larger shopping malls, Colonie Center. The hotel is full service with a restaurant and bar. The bar/lounge area is very open and casual. There are plenty of restaurants close by to the hotel. If you are going to downtown Albany, this location would not be a good choice as it is a distance from the downtown business district. This Marriott often is the center for many galas, wedding receptions, and conferences so it can get busy. I have stayed here a few times and have always had very good service and a good room in line with what one expects from a Marriott. It is also a good location to host business events/conferences in the Albany areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a very nice airport-vicinity hotel. Typical Marriott. I was picked up by the shuttle promptly after phoning--less than a 10-minute wait. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, with the usual Marriott bedding. The bathroom was small, but clean, since it was just me in the room, the size was not a problem. I do wish Marriott would consider changing the scent of the soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Bath and Body Works shampoo dries out my hair terribly, and I've never liked the scent. Room service was prompt, but the food was not good. If I had to pick just one thing that I could change about the hotel, it would be the room service food. I ate what I could, and I decided against breakfast. I again took the shuttle, and I did not have to wait for the driver. He was very capable and personable. If returning to Albany on business, I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A corner room gets you extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking for a new hotel 2 stay at on wolf rd--called 3-4 times to see if the bar would be open sun and mon ( new yrs)--got a diff answer each time---the drinks in the lounge were outragesly priced--great staff--but bar was empty--to expensive---the food was dissapointing--small frozen burger--but not priced as such----no free wifi in room---no free breakfast--after partying all night--couldnt get in our room--had to sit in hall way for a 1/2 hr while they tried to fix the computer system that apparantly didnt recognize 2013----they did comp my room but as far as im concerned the damage was done---very poor excuse for a marriott---i suppose if your a company w/ deep pockets -staying there isnt an issue--but 4 the avg vacationer---forget it---u can do much much better on wolf road.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Attended a conference here with a few hundred other people - wish I had brought my lunch! The entree was chicken parm - dried out and tasteless. It was served on top of overcooked ziti, and the sauce tasted like a can of pureed tomatoes - no seasoning, no taste. The only thing that had taste was the cheese they smeared on top. Salad was a joke - a sliced "wedge" of lettuce with tiny bits of bacon and tomato off to the side. Dressing was blue cheese and no other choice - my friend and I hate blue cheese, so requested and got something else that was some sort of balsamic and decent. Dessert was a large slice of some sort of fudgy chocolate cake - you could tell it was premade and frozen - still wet. Dirty cup on the table as well. Another colleague got the vegetable pasta - more colorless pasta with a few bits of carrot run through it and smeared in some sort of alfredo imitation. The room was huge and freezing cold. The only good things I can say is that the bathrooms were clean and the wait staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.