We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant One-Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Albany Marriott to your Saves list
Albany Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant One-Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a very nice airport-vicinity hotel. Typical Marriott. I was picked up by the shuttle promptly after phoning--less than a 10-minute wait. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, with the usual Marriott bedding. The bathroom was small, but clean, since it was just me in the room, the size was not a problem. I do wish Marriott would consider changing the scent of the soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Bath and Body Works shampoo dries out my hair terribly, and I've never liked the scent. Room service was prompt, but the food was not good. If I had to pick just one thing that I could change about the hotel, it would be the room service food. I ate what I could, and I decided against breakfast. I again took the shuttle, and I did not have to wait for the driver. He was very capable and personable. If returning to Albany on business, I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A corner room gets you extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    113
    77
    42
    16
See reviews for
60
48
29
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was looking for a new hotel 2 stay at on wolf rd--called 3-4 times to see if the bar would be open sun and mon ( new yrs)--got a diff answer each time---the drinks in the lounge were outragesly priced--great staff--but bar was empty--to expensive---the food was dissapointing--small frozen burger--but not priced as such----no free wifi in room---no free breakfast--after partying all night--couldnt get in our room--had to sit in hall way for a 1/2 hr while they tried to fix the computer system that apparantly didnt recognize 2013----they did comp my room but as far as im concerned the damage was done---very poor excuse for a marriott---i suppose if your a company w/ deep pockets -staying there isnt an issue--but 4 the avg vacationer---forget it---u can do much much better on wolf road.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Attended a conference here with a few hundred other people - wish I had brought my lunch! The entree was chicken parm - dried out and tasteless. It was served on top of overcooked ziti, and the sauce tasted like a can of pureed tomatoes - no seasoning, no taste. The only thing that had taste was the cheese they smeared on top. Salad was a joke - a sliced "wedge" of lettuce with tiny bits of bacon and tomato off to the side. Dressing was blue cheese and no other choice - my friend and I hate blue cheese, so requested and got something else that was some sort of balsamic and decent. Dessert was a large slice of some sort of fudgy chocolate cake - you could tell it was premade and frozen - still wet. Dirty cup on the table as well. Another colleague got the vegetable pasta - more colorless pasta with a few bits of carrot run through it and smeared in some sort of alfredo imitation. The room was huge and freezing cold. The only good things I can say is that the bathrooms were clean and the wait staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on Wolf Road not far from the airport and malls. Several good restaurants nearby.

I actually stayed here because the last minute rate was better than the courtyard across the street.

Marriott bedding is always good and worth staying. Check in experience was great. Room service breakfast was promised in "45 minutes or less." Kind of long. Although it arrived in about 30 and was well done and presented.

I don't know why the Marriott doesn't comp Internet like all their other brands (e.g Courtyard). During this stay the room rate was low so I stayed here but I usually avoid the regular marriotts because of having to pay for Internet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

this is a really convenient hotel near the airport, corporate woods, and wolf road. the rooms are large and comfortable, the work out room is nice. The only issue that if it is raining you will get walk walking in the covered parking lot--puddles and ceiling drips--and then getting into the hotel. lounge is nice place to relax

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Made a reservation for this place then cancelled it when I found out they would make me pay $10 for wifi in the room. Ya this is a business center. Who cares. People want free wifi in their rooms. Don't be so cheap. Add in no free breakfast and this place was a bad choice. Instead Booked at the Holiday Inn Express. In a word it was fantastic. Cheaper than the Marriott AND free wifi and a huge complete breakfast. Holiday Inn sells themselves short because they call it a continental breakfast when in reality it has everything from eggs to pancakes, fruit, cereal.....everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice VA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference. I found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel was near the airport and had an easily accessible shuttle. There was no unpleasant odor or noise which, for me, are important factors. Those are the pluses. The negatives were having to pay for the internet. In this day of wifi, this seems sort of chintzy.Also, those attending the conference (and I was one of the presenters) had no internet at all - some malfunction. Also, the air temperature in the public areas was either uncomfortably cold or too warm. Finally, the restaurant was very overpriced. When I travel, I really don't care to spend over $20 for an entree and $20 would have been on the low end of this. My meal with a tip was $35.00. The food was good but not excellent. There was no complimentary breakfast offered which added to my food costs. Overall, however, the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel made it worth the stay.

Room Tip: Get the king room. The room arrangement was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.