We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for WIFI? No breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Marriott

Save Saved
You added Albany Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albany Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 50 hotels in Albany
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pay for WIFI? No breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Made a reservation for this place then cancelled it when I found out they would make me pay $10 for wifi in the room. Ya this is a business center. Who cares. People want free wifi in their rooms. Don't be so cheap. Add in no free breakfast and this place was a bad choice. Instead Booked at the Holiday Inn Express. In a word it was fantastic. Cheaper than the Marriott AND free wifi and a huge complete breakfast. Holiday Inn sells themselves short because they call it a continental breakfast when in reality it has everything from eggs to pancakes, fruit, cereal.....everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    99
    60
    34
    13
See reviews for
52
36
27
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rice VA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference. I found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel was near the airport and had an easily accessible shuttle. There was no unpleasant odor or noise which, for me, are important factors. Those are the pluses. The negatives were having to pay for the internet. In this day of wifi, this seems sort of chintzy.Also, those attending the conference (and I was one of the presenters) had no internet at all - some malfunction. Also, the air temperature in the public areas was either uncomfortably cold or too warm. Finally, the restaurant was very overpriced. When I travel, I really don't care to spend over $20 for an entree and $20 would have been on the low end of this. My meal with a tip was $35.00. The food was good but not excellent. There was no complimentary breakfast offered which added to my food costs. Overall, however, the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel made it worth the stay.

Room Tip: Get the king room. The room arrangement was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently attend a conference at the hotel, which was crowded of course but ht was to be expected. Long lines again expected due to the size of the crowd. The food served to the group was not expect or acceptable. Lunch was something that most of us moved around our plates hoping dinner would be better. Well it was worse, to the point we considered ordering out for pizza. Pasta was over cooked and dry, meatballs had no sauce and were like pebbles. When we entered the place tables were set with salads and deserts, no thought to if someone might have issue to what was there. I for one did as I walked to a table with pumpkin pie, I am highly allergic to spices in the pie. Seemed like they were rushing group, yet if asked for more sauce that took 15-20 minutes

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I'm a big Marriott fan, and this one doesn't disappoint. Large and conveniently located on the highway, it does the job. The lobby/lounge is kind of nerdy- modern. Fitness room is adequate, and the service was friendly and helpful. Didn't eat or drink there, so no input.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have the good fortune to stay in the Albany Marriott. It was a very nice place to stay with the family, in an area with little choices . The rooms have been updated recently and were very
well done. the exterior is a bit older- but the part that counted was the comfort of the rooms.
Really friendly staff, attentive. Most of all the breakfast was out of this world. Great meal
choices. well prepared. I have been staying at Marriotts for 20+ years. They have always
been my 1st choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here on business for one night. Wolf Road is a gret location, close to Albany, Schenectady, Airport, and Shopping and eateries on Wolf Road. The hotel was clean, but the rugs and wall coverings were a little worn and dated. Other than that I thought it was a nice place, the staff were helpful, onsite free parking, walking distance to the Macaroni Grill. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff was very nice and helpful. The location is good near restaurants and a mall. The fitness center is very good and they have a pool but no hot tub. The beds are very comfortable and the temperature control worked well and was not overly loud. The shower head and water pressure was poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albany Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Marriott

Address: 189 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany Marriott 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Albany Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Marriott Hotel Albany
Marriott Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.