We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night in the Albany area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Albany
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fine for a night in the Albany area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having gone to SUNY Albany thirty years ago, I was familiar with the area. The Holiday Inn is a bit dated in furnishings and amenities. However,the staff was friendly and allowed me to check-in early. Room in the Tower Building was clean and queen beds were comfortable. Bathroom needs remodeling. The A/C worked great during a muggy Labbor Day weekend. The outdoor pool looked clean and there is a large indoor pool and game room. There are many restaurants in the area. There is a mall on Wolf Road with a large movie theater and dining options.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower Building on the top floor. Rooms were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear SWTravelmom,

Thank you we appreciate comments such as yours to help us improve where we need to. We hope to see you soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    59
    51
    22
See reviews for
55
38
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our company recently held its annual Regional Sales Meeting at the Holiday Inn in Albany, NY. The staff (Especially the Catering Staff) couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful in every aspect. They truly understand what GUEST SERVICE means. This is one hotel I highly recommend and we will continue to use them for this major event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Wayne M,

We couldn"t be happier we made you and your group happy!! We strive very hard and our staff works hard. We are glad to hear you will be returning and can't wait to do it all over again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here purely to break up the journey from Ontario to the East Coast. Wasn't expecting much and therefore wasn't disappointed. Reception and lobby area not particularly welcoming. Weird inside convention style hall and although had room on the outside there was still a corridor and people walking past the room window all night. Bed was an over king size which was nice. Given the choice again, I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Oakbille,

We thank you for your comments. We strive very hard to please each and every guest and still like to know when we haven't met your expectations. We do hope you will give us another try as we do have different room types you may prefer better.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Unhelpful, unfriendly staff. I tried to cancel reservation and was charged anyway the full room rate. I was on the road with 3 kids and manager was completely unsympathetic. I had made the reservation only am hour before and she still wouldn't let me cancel. This hotel deserves its low ratings.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Travelmomto3,

I do apologize it does sound as if you booked a non cancellable, non refundable rate. Perhaps it was from a third party site. It would be up to them to make this decision as they would have your payment information, not the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here because my flight was cancelled and the airline gave me a voucher. The room was very hot and maintenance came and "fixed" it. Not. Anyway, it is an older mhotel which they have enclosed. Service in the Grille at breakfast is non existent and the buffet costs $11.95 which if you get there in time, you might find eggs and someone to serve you coffee or tea and even take your money as the voucher is only for $10. The shuttle is free and the driver is very nice even though he had been on duty since 5am. There are other hotels in the vicinity if you happen to have a choice. BTW bug in the tub.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Marian C,

I apologize for your experience. Thank you for taking the time to tell us how you feel it does help us improve.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great frout desk staff. However, this is the kind of hotel that meets the minimum expectations of the brand. I'm sure the holiday inn brand forces them to renovate of they pull the flag, then the hotel owners do the minimum to pass the inspections. The bed is really really saggy! The rooms are tired, lamp shades are stained and cracked, the wall paper is pealing, phone and alarm clock are broken. This is not the worst place I've stayed but far from the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Bradley 187,

Thank you for your comments, they do help us know what improvements we need to make. We do hope you revisit us in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The front dest staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a park and fly program so if you have an early flight you can stay the night before and take the hotel shuttle to the airport while leaving your car at the hotel. The room was clean and everything was in good condition. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Hockey Gump,

Thank you for your comments we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Please tell all your friends.

Thank you,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Address: 205 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn on Wolf Road is located less than one mile from the Albany International Airport and provides a free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location on Wolf Rd. finds us extremely close to many area attractions such as downtown Albany, which is a short 15 minute drive and the State University at Albany, only 10 minutes away. Our newly renovated, well-appointed guest rooms feature two-dual line speakerphones with caller ID, refrigerators, in-room safes, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and 27' flat screen TVs with pay per view movies. The beds are accompanied with plush duvet covers, triple sheeting, and even a pillow 'menu' which enables you to choose a synthetic or feather pillow with your choice of firmness, as well as a neck pillow.For exercise and relaxation purposes, you must experience our heated indoor pool and seasonal outdoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, 'round the clock fitness center, and our e-space video arcade for kids! 'The Grille', our in-house restaurant, serves spectacular entrees for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as provides room service seven days a week. '205 on Wolf', our newest creation, is a unique wine and martini bar that you must see to believe its brilliant ambiance and decadent decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.