We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs found-photo to prove” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Albany
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bed bugs found-photo to prove”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Warning: Do not stay at this location, I had to switch rooms, not once, not twice, but THREE times. The first smelled disgustingly of cigarette smoke, then the second was all the way at the back of the property down a dark empty hallway, which is not a good idea for a single female traveling along; the exit to the outside was right next to that room. Finally, and certainly not last, was the 3rd, and final room, this is where I encountered the nasty bed bug infestation that was there. I quickly removed my belonging and did not stay. Truly a filthy establishment and not exactly the crowd you would like to be in the same building with. There was a man in the arcade area (strange that's there) yelling and cursing and making a scene, making me extremely uncomfortable. do not stay here period, especially if you are traveling with your family and small children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take all guests concerns very seriously. We do not have a record of this occurrence, it would be greatly appreciated if you could contact us, so we may investigate properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    67
    58
    24
See reviews for
64
42
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was configured in a confusing way. The front desk staff explained the awkward setup so fast and poorly that we were lost trying to find our room for about 15 minutes before I had to go to the front desk again to have them explain it better. The room itself was clean but the shower was not clean and the sink near the fridge had disgusting buildup on it. I would have given it a higher review if the bathroom at been cleaner. Other than the setup and the cleanliness of the bathroom, our overall stay was pleasant. Our kids (2 and 4) loved the pool. The lifeguard was great with the kids and got out some noodles and floating vests for them to play in which was a really nice touch.

Room Tip: The rooms in the central tower were quiet because they were far enough away from the pool and confer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your bathroom. We appreciate your comments, they only make us better. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've stayed in various hotels around the Albany area, and keep coming back to this one as my default. It's easily accessible off the highway, has a full-time restaurant, and is simply a comfortable place to stay. I was disappointed that my room wasn't made up after my first night there, but there are greater crimes in the world to worry about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I like to apologize for the room not being made up. I do appreciate your patience with us and are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This location was more convenient than staying in Albany, so I selected it based on that criteria. I ended up checking in late and it wasn't the most convenient customer service experience. The hotel associate was on the phone during all of my check in when I just wanted to get to my room.

My room was fine, not extraordinary in a positive or negative way. I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I would like to apologize for your check in experience and we look forward to your return to make your stay a perfect one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked this hotel for my son and his family and they thought that it was great. They enjoyed the pool very much and loved the king sized bed. They also like the proximity to everything in Colonie.

The staff was very friendly and made them feel welcome.

Mary R.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel with nice staff. My suggestion is to try for a tower room if you want something quiet. The courtyard rooms are in an open space and it seems like noise could be a factor. My family stayed in both and didn't seem bothered by that. Nice pool. Amazing bar which is hidden. I wish front desk made me aware of it upon check in. I just stumbled on it. Very chic and romantic. Good location, close to airport and near shopping.

Room Tip: Traveling with no kids, try the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay B, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to all departments at the hotel. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The lobby and entrance of the hotel leave you with a good impression however once you enter your room you will think you've checked into a cheap motel.dirty bathroom grout lines,moldy silicone...gloomy looking room.
The main problem is the mattresses I tossed and turned all night because the mattress was lumpy and uneven. My body sank towards the middle of the mattress because of the 3 inch slant from the side to the middle.
I brought this to the managers attention.She acknowledged that the mattresses were old and offered me a free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy W, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, your business is very important to us. We strive very hard to make each and every guest feel satisfied with the service we give, and are always interested in finding out when we are not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Address: 205 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn on Wolf Road is located less than one mile from the Albany International Airport and provides a free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location on Wolf Rd. finds us extremely close to many area attractions such as downtown Albany, which is a short 15 minute drive and the State University at Albany, only 10 minutes away. Our newly renovated, well-appointed guest rooms feature two-dual line speakerphones with caller ID, refrigerators, in-room safes, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, and 27' flat screen TVs with pay per view movies. The beds are accompanied with plush duvet covers, triple sheeting, and even a pillow 'menu' which enables you to choose a synthetic or feather pillow with your choice of firmness, as well as a neck pillow.For exercise and relaxation purposes, you must experience our heated indoor pool and seasonal outdoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, 'round the clock fitness center, and our e-space video arcade for kids! 'The Grille', our in-house restaurant, serves spectacular entrees for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as provides room service seven days a week. '205 on Wolf', our newest creation, is a unique wine and martini bar that you must see to believe its brilliant ambiance and decadent decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.