We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Desmond Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Desmond Albany to your Saves list
The Desmond Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Albany-Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Albany
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I did enjoy my stay. This is a very unique hotel. There are two huge courtyards in the middle. The decor is very different too. The wallpaper seemed like something my Grandma would have chosen. But, I liked it! The bed was comfortable, and I slept well. There were a few "negatives". The pillows were not very good (I put two of them together and slept fine). I did hear a few planes take off (no big deal). The thing I liked the least was that I got turned around inside at least four times and had trouble finding my room. I recommend looking over the hotel map they provide. The staff was very helpful. Check-in and out was also a breeze. I don't recommend staying on the 4th floor. The hallways were very stuffy (warm), and I stayed in May, when it wasn't even that hot outside. Overall, this is a nice hotel. It is right off the expressway, and I parked close to my room. I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    140
    66
    28
    18
See reviews for
85
79
16
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My room was a little warm but other than that, it was a great experience. The hotel looks like a mini village. Staff was helpful and the food was delicious. I would return to The Desmond when in the Albany area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was at the Desmond for my high school reunion weekend, and it was a very pleasant experience. I stayed in one of the old "Mansion" rooms. My room was large, quiet, comfortable and very nice. The location is great, if you need to be near the airport (free shuttle) or highway I-87. I have no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed my time.

Room Tip: I imagine that rooms facing into the internal courtyards (yes, the place is huge) are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed during my HS reunion/bicentennial. They hosted almost all the attendees (over 1,000) people including class dinners and 2 receptions. They were very accommodating and while the decor is dated, the room were generally well maintained and the service staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the Desmond recently while attending my High School's Bicentennial celebration. Most of the events were at the School so what was important was a good night's sleep each night. I definitely got that at The Desmond. The bed was so comfortable. My room overlooked the atrium but unless the french doors were open, I couldn't hear any noise. The decor is a little bit kitschy but isn't that more fun that the standard generic hotel furnishings? Also, the Tavern has an excellent single malt scotch selection. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A hotel that hosts conferences and large groups but has been designed to make that feel welcoming and rather fun. The internal "square" made up of house facades and storefronts is welcoming and, at least when we were there, was quiet--which mattered, as our room faced the square.

Room Tip: Facing inward to the square on the 3rd floor was a good location, though if there is a party going o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The weekend was bound to be madness--my school's bicentennial plus reunion for classes ending in 4 and 9--and the challenge they faced was substantial. But it was a great experience from the van driver who collected us from the airport to all the desk staff, housekeeping, and the folks who provided a fine Reunion dinner. (Particular praise for the cheesecake, I remember.) It's a sprawling establishment but I got to enjoy that walk to my quiet room at the far end. Plenty of hot water in the shower, too. Decently comfy beds. Good coffee and nice offerings at the continental breakfast. If I ever need an Albany hotel again, this is likely to be the one I turn to.

Room Tip: I heard some rooms that opened to interior were stuffy, a little muggy. Make sure you have a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Desmond Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Albany

Address: 660 Albany-Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Business Hotel in Albany
#9 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond is Albany's premier hotel and conference center in the heart of Tech Valley. The landmark hotel is conveniently located within minutes of the Albany International Airport (ALB) at the crossroads of I-87, I-90 and downtown Albany. Voted "Best Local Hotel" in 2014, culminating seven consecutive years by Times Union newspaper readers. The hotel offers 323 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. Guests can choose from spacious accommodations: two queen beds, four poster king beds and Executive, Junior, Duplex or Presidential Suites. Our exquisite ballrooms and indoor courtyards are stunning venues for weddings, social events and business conferences. The hotel offers over 28,000 square feet of attractive event space encompassing 22 function rooms and boardrooms. Guests of The Desmond enjoy an excellent choice of cuisine at three popular restaurants: Scrimshaw, a AAA Four Diamond-rated fine dining experience; Simpson's Grille, casual dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner; and The Tavern, an English pub complete with a copper bar, flat screen televisions and comfortable table seating for cocktails and lite fare. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Desmond Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Desmond Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desmond Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.