We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, average accommodations...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Desmond Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Desmond Albany to your Saves list
The Desmond Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Albany-Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay, Park and Fly
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Vernon, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, average accommodations...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the Desmond for 5 days during a business conference.

The service from the staff was excellent. I was very pleased by the way they attended to our needs.

Once you get accustomed to the layout of the hotel it's not too confusing, but got lost a couple of times on the first day. Every hall and corridor looks exactly the same. May be time to update the wallpaper.

Rooms and hallways have a musty smell that never receded no matter how much air freshened I sprayed or scented candles I burned.

Unfortunately, the food offered to the conference guests was inedible. The worst I ever tasted. But people who ate at the hotel restaurant seems to enjoy the food there.

Great location. Lots of stores, restaurants and malls nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    154
    75
    31
    21
See reviews for
91
85
17
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unexpectedly diverted by bad weather to Albany, New York on a general aviation cross country flight. The Desmond was recommended by airport operations. Absolutely perfect recommendation. Hotel van arrived five minutes after request. Hotel staff could not have been more helpful or courteous. Entire hotel exquisitly designed and decorated in the 18th century style down to the most subtle details while providing the most modern conveniences.DInner and breakfast at the hotel tavern were superbly prepared, provided by outstanding servers in an atmosphere of 18th century simplicity and elegance. Business center was up to date and modern and provided fast and convenient access to the internet and flight planning tools. Absolutely zero wait for hotel van back to airport operations. I will return as soon as I can with family and highly recommend The Desmond to anyone who appreciates the elegant simplicity of an 18th century atmosphere with all the modern conveniences.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at The Desmond. Several rooms open on to colonial inspired courtyards and fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here in the evening as a midway point on a trip to western NY. Many of the chain hotels were booked (we made the reservation a few hours before arriving) and this was well reviewed on tripadvisor.

The pros: this is a really spacious hotel. Big open courtyards for conference areas, big comfortable room. They hold weddings and conferences here. It is very clean and very comfortable. The staff, on a busy night, was friendly and helpful. So far so good.

The cons: others have made this observation -- it smelled. Something odd in the common areas, very musty, mildewy in the room.

My daughter commented that the place looked like the inside of grandma's doll house, but that didn't bother me so much. It is a nice change from cookie cutter chains and the place is really roomy, but I could not get past the smell.

I asked for a quiet room and they were great to find me one; there were a couple of wedding going on.

Bottom line. It is ok if you need a room near Albany/Troy, but there are probably better.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have used the beautiful hotel many times the night before we fly out of Albany. The rooms are very nice and there are restaurants and cocktail lounges on site for a relaxing time. They shuttle you to the airport and pick you up when back. Special thanks to our favorite bartender "Jeff" and the rest of the very nice staff.

Room Tip: Downstairs if you have the bad habit of smoking as I, quick trip outside and I'm good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

An unusual hotel that is worth trying but you need to know one thing - at check-in, ask if there is an event on. If no, no problem as any room will do. If yes, avoid any room overlooking the internal courtyard area. The noise associated with the event itself, the post clear-up operation that goes on till late and the following morning's preparations for the day's event that start very early are so noisy, you would get a better night's sleep sleeping next to the runway of Albany airport
If you get the right room, the rest is good. Great bar area, good food and helpful staff other than at breakfast - I gave the waiter my $20.00 breakfast voucher and he made the serious mistake of advising me that the voucher covered the cost of the food and not the gratuity. Suffice it to say, I put the $5 bill I had in my hand back in my pocket and the only tip that I gave him was to suggest he did not make a comment like that again

Room Tip: As I have said, avoid rooms overlooking the inner courtyard during events
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfiled
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love the Desmond. We make an effort to enjoy the quaint atmosphere, well furnished rooms and attentive staff each time we travel through Albany. This facility will remain on the top of our recommended list.

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy all the fine facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Desmond for two nights while visiting friends and we loved it. Couldn't be happier with our room that overlooked the courtyard. We both love the colonial charm this hotel has and highly recommend it. We also stopped by the Tavern for a few drinks and appetizers - good food and good service.

Room Tip: Recommend a 2nd floor room with a balcony overlooking one of the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Desmond Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Albany

Address: 660 Albany-Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#9 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's Grille and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Desmond Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Desmond Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desmond Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.