We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Desmond Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Desmond Albany to your Saves list
The Desmond Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 Albany-Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay, Park and Fly
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Albany
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel almost 30 years ago and were not disappointed with our recent stay. The rooms were clean and nicely-decorated and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The interior courtyard is designed to look like a colonial village square and is very charming. The bar/pub was cozy and not very crowded. Our dinner in the lovely-appearing Scrimshaw restaurant was the only disappointing part of our experience. My husband enjoyed his meal, but mine was mediocre: both my salad and entree. There was a talented pianist playing which made our dining experience better, however. We would definitely stay here if we come to Albany again, but would choose somewhere else to eat dinner. Our breakfast in the other spot was tasty, but overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask to look out on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    158
    78
    33
    22
See reviews for
94
90
18
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a large company conference at this hotel. The hotel was large enough, the rooms were great for the presentations. Lunch food was good and the service was great. A co-worker lost a wallet and phone and the hotel staff/housekeeping found and returned the items back to his home address. Great service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Travelers need to be aware that the restaurant meals are extremely overpriced and not great value for your money. After paying $30 for 2 egg white omelets with 2 english muffins and $7.00 for two coffees, we did not return for another meal. For that price, coffee could have been included!. Additionally, service was a little slow. The rooms were beautiful and the conference rate was very good. One of the main elevators was not working and that resulted in a problem trying to get our luggage to our room.

Room Tip: The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and clean. You should try for a balcony room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Saturday night stay, Bed and breakfast package, gift from Christmas 2011. The good. Older property very well maintained. Room was nicely done with attractive wallpaper, a four poster bed, and clean carpeting (important, not often found). Common areas also attractive, inside courtyards (2) looked appealing. Desk clerk was in training and did not know how to do a gift card, but she and her mentor were friendly. Close to the airport but never heard any aircraft. The Not So Good. Ate breakfast in Simpsons Restaurant to use the breakfast credit, and boy is it expensive. $37+ for two dishes and coffee that runs half that at Denny's and not a bit better, the coffee was 3.50 each and was absolutely the worst we have ever had. Never found the Bar, didn't ask anyone, but I guess it's well hidden unless it was in the area being used for a private holiday party and off limits to the rest of us. As I said the room was beautiful, but there was no hotel information packet, nor any pen/paper. A first for me in 40 years of hotel stays. Only 2 towel set-ups in the bathroom, usually there are 3 or 4, the hot water in the shower had that little hot flash thing going on about every 30 seconds or so, and if you've ever been on a cruise ship that had a shower curtain that billowed into the tub, you are right at home here. Mattress so-so. None of these are game breakers except the breakfast and coffee though.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at The Desmond Albany, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry you were not able to locate our Tavern. The Tavern is in the same area as Scrimshaw, our AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant and provides a light menu, and happy hour. We hope you can enjoy this on your next visit.

Thank you for your comments on the coffee and the issues in your room. Constructive comments and observations, such as yours, are valuable to us and to our continued success, and your time and efforts are appreciated. We hope you will be our guest again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Tyler Desmond
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Desmond for a little time away from the real world. Originally, we had planned on going away but our financial standing just would not allow it at this time. From the time we checked in to the time we left, I must say that our little time away from home was well spent at the Desmond.

Service was key to our stay as we felt that the staff throughout the hotel was more than what we had expected. It seemed like at every wrong turn, their was someone asking if we needed help. This was a major plus since the hotel is very large and we had gotten lost quite frequently.

The hotel offers shuttle service to all their guests and we were able to dine outside the hotel and even take in a movie. The bell hops also serve as drivers which I found quite interesting..

Our stay was short but the ambiance of the hotel and the great staff made our getaway a success.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean although the furnishing can use a little updating. We had a room with a King be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakisland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Located within a mile of the airport, the Desmond Hotel is a large full service property that is very busy hosting meetings and large and small groups. The hotel is quite experienced at meeting the needs of large functions. A particular strength of the hotel is the quality of service and food that is offered overnite attendees when they stay at the hotel. If you are willing to pay the price, the hotel is very convenient to the airport for single or multiple night stays for those in town for business. The hotel offers shuttle services upon request. Having stayed at the hotel over 20 times for meetings, I was never disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was a great value. Clean and updated rooms made to look like Colonial America. Rooms face the courtyard indoors and it looks and feels like a village. Used the work out room and swam in the indoor pool. Also used the whirlpool spa...worked great. And all were clean and a pleasure to use. But the best part was the restaurants...Scrimshaw ( fine dining at it's best ) and from appetizer to soup to entree to dinner...unreal...the best New England clam chowder ever ! Simpson's and The Tavern...both great places for food. And the service...top notch. Will definitely stay here again if traveling to Albany and areas nearby. Mr. Frank Rivera...director of restaurants...you deserve a lot of credit for managing and running great restaurants. A great experience all around.

Room Tip: Ask for any room facing the indoor courtyards.....a great look. Not noisy even with events going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albany
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University
5.8 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Albany

Address: 660 Albany-Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#9 Business Hotel in Albany
#12 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's Grille and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Desmond Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
The Desmond Hotel Albany
Desmond Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desmond Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.