We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205 (Formerly Days Inn Days Inn - Albany Airport / Wolf Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had flown into Albany International the week before, rented a car, visited family in the Catskills, and returned to Albany to leave early the next morning. We arrived at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the super clean entrance and fresh look of the décor. This is one of the nicer Comfort Inns that we have stayed in. My plan was to return the rental car that night and use the hotel shuttle service the next morning. The desk attendant gave me all the right directions and arranged for the shuttle to pick me up after I returned the car and bring me back to the hotel. The next morning all went as planned. Since we left so early we missed the complimentary breakfast.

The room was immaculately clean and the bed was comfortable. All appliances worked perfectly!

There is also a nice mall across the street with some great national chain restaurants and a theater.

Room Tip: I also stay on the top floor (quieter) at least two rooms away from any elevators, staircase or ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
32
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moneymore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Myself and 3 other girls stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013, the rooms were excellent you have everything you require for a comfortable stay. The staff were more than excellent and welcoming, especially Zee, it was snowing and he took us to the supermarket and brought us back no bother. Would stay again next time in USA, hi Zee from the Irish girlies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The parking here is tight, and although the lot was lit, was a long walk from my room at night. The hotel is dated w narrow dimly lit halls and rooms. I could here everything the neighbors were saying, and they were simply having a conversation. The TV makes a chime sound when you turn it off, so you hear tones all night and it could wake a kid up if in the same room. Saving the night, the bed was super comfortable. Overall, it was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked the Comfort Inn because of the favorable reviews in tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! This place is a lot of bang for your buck. Our rooms with AAA rate were $99, they were spacious, clean, nicely appointed, and the beds were super! Nice cushy foam top mattresses and lots of pillows, we slept very well. The room had coffee machine and fridge---- and as I am writing this, I am sitting in a Cambridge MA hotel which was twice the price and has neither!

The bathroom is not large, but the shower was very nice, good pressure and no problem with the hot water. We had breakfast in the hotel, it was pretty standard fare ( bagels, Danish, muffins, make your own waffles, instant oatmeal, fruit, cereal... Chafing dish looked like it may have held bacon and eggs but it was empty by 8 am). But it's free with the room so can't really complain!

Dwayne at check- in and Linda at check -out were both pleasant and efficient.

The only caveat for travelers....and maybe a tip for the manager as well: the shower/tub is quite slippery, they ought to invest in some adhesive grip- strips. Yes there is a grab bar but by the time you realize you need it, it could be too late.

additional... There's a big mall across the street, and the IHOP next door serves late on weekdays and all night on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

our room was smelly, dirty and humid. very questionnable odors also in corridors. even a whole in the wall. they advertise free wifi wich never worked. we really needed it in our planning. go somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last 45 days and I have found it to be an excellent place to stay. Mike's checkin was friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and perfectly cleaned. The bed was crisp and comfortable. The airport shuttle was on time and the driver was friendly. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room acquired through Priceline "Express booking"...no bidding, but you still don't know what hotel you're getting until you've booked the room.

This room was a non-smoking with two full-size beds, a small 'fridge, and a microwave. Our reservation was ready when we arrived at about 8:00 PM, but when we went to check the roomt, the door had been propped open and the bathroom light was on. No one was there, and it looked like the room had not been used, but it was a little unnerving. We mentioned it to the desk clerk, who apologized and told us that hotel maintenance had been there and had apparently forgotten to close the room when they left.

The sink and make-up mirror are separate from the bathroom, which allows use of both simultaneously, but my partner noted that the arrangement left the mirror over the sink too far away and the overhead lighting inadequate for proper make-up application. The light in the bathroom is connected to the exhaust fan, but there was an LED night light permanently mounted in the wall that provides enough light to perform necessary Nature calls without turning on the ceiling light (and waking your partner with the fan noise). There are also LED lights on the hair dryer (over the sink) that provide just enough light to navigate the room in the wee hours without running into furniture. These nightlights are nice touches showing that the management is thinking about the customers.

Breakfast is free and consists of the usual fare. At our last visit, the pickings were pretty sparse when we got there close to the end of the breakfast period, but we went a bit earlier this time, and the "larder" was well-stocked....egg rounds, sausage patties, bacon, english muffins, a variety of juices, breads and pastries, coffee that comes from a made-to-order dispenser that allows both regular and "strong" options for both normal and decaf, and a do-it-yourself waffle maker. Nothing spectacular, but it's definitely edible....and it comes with the room. If you're not into what's there, McDonald's, Denny's, and the Wolf Road Diner are minutes away on Wolf Road (exit the parking lot and turn left).

Our beds were comfy, though I did find that the plastic protective sheet made the bed a bit too hot.

There is also free wi-fi, which doesn't require a password and has worked well in the past, though we didn't use it on this trip.

I have only two complaints: First, it's a Comfort Inn...a $10 or even $20 price reduction would be welcome. Second, the wall-mounted TVs are all set permanently to "wide" mode in order to make sure everything always fills the screen, which means that every program you watch, whether standard or high definition, has people that look short and fat, and the HD programs (which would fill the screen anyway) lose content off the edges. This refusal to let the customers set the aspect ratio of the TV (or to set the TV so that it can choose the proper one on its own) is one of the most annoying things about this place, though I have to note that it's not the only hotel assuming that customers are too stupid to do it themselves.

All the hotels in this area are busy during the week, and you pay for that. As hotels go, this is one of the better Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road

Address: 16 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205 (Formerly Days Inn Days Inn - Albany Airport / Wolf Road)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#14 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are so proud to show off our new Comfort Inn and Suites on Wolf Road in Albany NY. We are completely renovated and very excited for you to visit and experience our luxuriously appointed rooms and suites. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves as well as 32" flat screen TVs. High speed wireless internet and a satisfying hot breakfast buffet are complimentary. Of course our location can't be beat if you are coming to Albany to shop. We are the closest hotel to the Colonie Center, directly across the street. We are easily accessible from all major highways including the NYS Thruway and 87 the Northway. And of course if you are flying into Albany we are 5 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites / Wolf Road
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road Hotel Albany
Days Inn Albany
Albany Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.