We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding staff, nice rooms, pool was a disaster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“outstanding staff, nice rooms, pool was a disaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We met up with friends for a quick visit to Albany. The staff were outstanding - positive and helpful. Breakfast was good and again great service. However, the pool was disgusting-smelled like urine with a foul looking green color. I think it should've been closed because it was so bad and the kids wouldn't even stay in it for more than a few minutes because of the smell. This was so disappointing as one of the main reasons we picked this hotel was so the kids could spend some time in the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let me know of the excellent service you received during your stay at our property. I appreciate your mention of the pool; it has since been cleaned and we are actually having work done to it in the very near future. So the next time you stay with us the kids should love the pool!

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
97
45
12
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was a guys' weekend trip to Saratoga and this hotel was great. The suite was large, modern and and very comfortable. Even the fold out bet from the couch was more than adequate. It certainly didn't feel cramped with three people there for two days. The breakfast was a nice touch with plenty of hot and cold items. It certainly was very popular. It's located just a stone's throw from I 87 and I 90 and we were sitting in our folding chairs enjoying a cold one at Saratoga in a half an hour. It was a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Staying on the first floor worked out quite well at breakfast time. The lobby area was very popular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that our Albany SpringHill Suites was the perfect stop for you guys' weekend. We appreciate you taking the time to let other travelers know about our convenient location for Saratoga! I hope you will choose to stay with us again next race season, if not sooner!
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location not far from airport and near lots of dining. Service is great! Breakfast is great! And hopefully you will get to meet Michael at the front desk. Rooms are well equipped and clean. They include a microwave and mini fridge. Also a pantry in lobby. Right across the street is a pub so you don't even have to drive anywhere. Free parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that our hotel was a great location for your stay. I'm pleased that you got to meet Michael, he is a guest favorite! We look forward to having you stay with us again, should your travels return you to the Albany area.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We needed one night and this was super. The front desk people checked us in and provided good information about where to take a nice long walk. We immediately went to our room on the top floor at the end of a hallway. Everything was exactly as we expected. Clean and nicely appointed.

The park was a short 10 minute car ride and was a superb way to spend a summer evening (fyi...Crossings at Colonie). There was a workout facility but the weather warranted outdoor fun! Note: as others reported, the pool is very small.

The shower was clean and good pressure. The location was great for restaurants and shopping.

I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The end of the hallway on the top floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy some time at the Crossings of Colonie; it is a beautiful park! Our staff works hard to ensure a smooth check in experience and a nice clean room to relax in. I look forward to sharing your comments with my team.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Husband & I had an overnight stay here on our way to Troy to move our daughter home from RPI for the summer. Our stay was with Marriott points & we were recognized for being Platinum level. We had a king suite with sofabed but don't recall the room number. The hotel is on a very busy road but we managed. Lots of eating & shopping places nearby. There is plenty of free parking. Room was very clean & modern. There are pocket doors to a room with a potty & sink and then another to the room with shower stall & vanity. Both bathrooms were fresh & clean. Only glitch we had, and it was taken care of quickly when reported to the desk, was it appeared that a queen sized fitted sheet had been put on the king bed. Oh & the mattress was way too soft for our liking but you can't please everyone. Nice desk area with 1 tv that could be swiveled from sitting area to bed room & little "kitchenette" area with tiny refrigerator, microwave & coffeemaker. We didn't get ready in time to have their breakfast so no help there. We would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we are a good location to stop at for your visits to RPI. I appreciate you letting us know about the problem with the fitted sheet so that I may address this with my housekeeping staff. I hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to the area.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Lake Placid. The hotel is easy to find and close to the mall and restaurants.

We were greeted by the manager, and another staff member. We were made to feel welcome. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were great.

The small toilet room was missing towels and we also needed some additional coffee for the room. We left for a bit. When we came back the towels were in the room, as well as the requested coffee.

The hotel is very clean. The exercise room is VERY small (a couple of treadmills and a stationary bike, I think) but the machines were in good working order. The room seemed a bit dirty, especially the carpeting.

All in all, for the short amount of time we spent here, it was a great stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad we were a nice stopping point for you. I appreciate you making us aware of a possible issue with our excerise room carpet; we will have that addressed immediately. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one one night while visiting family. I usually stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in East Greenbush but that was fully booked. I like the area where this Springhill Suites is located so I thought I'd give it a try. Room was nice & staff was friendly but one of the main reasons we stay at a hotel instead of with our relatives is so the kids can use the pool. The one at this hotel was the size of a postage stamp... really... We were there on a weekend when high school basketball teams were staying there for a tournament and if there were one or two of the older kids in the pool there was no room for anyone else. Other than this, the hotel was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that our pool wasn't as big as you are used to. I am pleased that the staff met your expectations of a Marriott property. We appreciate your feedback and hope that should you need a room for a short stay in the future you will choose to stay with us again.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie

Address: 8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.