We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Standard Springhill property and amenities. This on is particularly clean, well-kept, and well-managed. Appears to have been update pretty recently. Convenient location off the interstate and close to many restaurants. Perfect for families on the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that our accommodations met your needs and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
97
45
12
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When I arrived, my first impression from the surrounding area was "this is probably not as nice as I thought it would be". Upon arriving inside, its very nice, clean, and up to date. The young lady at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming, and she let us check in early. The room was a very clean, up to date suite. I got this room on priceline for less than half of the online listed price and I am shocked at what I got for the money. Theres even an all you can eat buffet with they typical scrambled eggs, waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, and juices, INCLUDED.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear about your experience at our property and hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the Albany area.

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
SpringHill Suites~Albany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have visited this hotel mutiple times over the last 1 1/2 years for work and I have to say that I always am satisfied with my visits. Michael at the front desk is fantastic and always quick to help out. The hotel is kept very clean and I have never had any problems with the maid service. The WIFI can be unpredictable but I believe they have that worked out now. The location is great. It is very close to the freeway and multiple restaurants including Koto Japanese Steak House and Delmonicos (one of my favorites). I have not been there in a while but I look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of your experience at our property. We are so proud to have Michael on our team; I look forward to sharing your comments with him. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to having you stay at our property again.

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at the Albany SpringHill off and on for over year, and while it is a myth that a hotel is like home or a staff can make you feel like home, the staff at the SpringHill does their best to make one's stay as trouble free, convenient and comfortable as humanly possible. Carrie Kerr has the textbook skill of managing the hotel with the dexterity of a winning football coach but never misses the opportunity of providing assistance with any request or issue, no matter how large or small. The staff is just short of excellent and seem to anticipate any request or need, more importantly they pay attention to detail. All of this and with a sense of humor and an uncanny ability to pick up when you have had a bad day.
The rooms,the building and the grounds are kept meticulously clean. The buffet Breakfast is well throughout and satisfying to even the most pickiest eater.
Without a doubt a great place for the lone traveler and particularly great for couples and families that want a clean, safe and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff; your review has made my day! We do our absolute best to make every guest feel "at home" while away from home and I am so pleased that we have accomplished this throughout your stays with us. I can't thank you enough for taking the time to post your review of the SpringHill Suites Albany!

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
SpringHill Suites~Albany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Michael, at the front desk is a true tribute to the Marriott standard of high service. The rooms were great and the hotel is clean and new feeling. We only stayed one night but I wish it were more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience at our property! Michael is a true asset to our property and we are lucky to have him on our team. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had stayed at a Springhill Suites hotel 3yrs ago near Great Lakes, IL & had a great experience so we decided to try this location. Our check in was quick & the young lady at the front desk was very nice & helpful! Our room was on the 4th floor away from the elevator so nice & quiet, very clean & the king bed was very comfortable so we had a good night sleep! The complimentary breakfast was pretty basic but nice to have available! We would definitely recommend this hotel & would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that our property met your expectations. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the Albany area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenburgh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have a son who plays sports at UAlbany, so we've been visiting quite often this year. We initially stayed at Spring Hill Suites solely because of the price and the free breakfast (parents of a college student have to stick to a budget!), but it is the wonderful service at this hotel that has kept us returning! We tend to arrive at night, so we're greeted by Michael at the front desk, who is just a gem. He made us feel welcome from the first visit, by helping us find a late-night restaurant, suggesting places to visit, and hinting at some local shopping gems. Michael is a font of information and shares it willingly - what a great person to have at the front desk! Similarly, other staff members are helpful, kind, and polite. We won't even consider staying elsewhere when we're in Albany!

Room Tip: We have stayed here four times since October 2012, in a variety of rooms and haven't had a bad o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know of the excellent service you received while staying at our property. We are so thankful that Michael is a part of our team as he truly loves what he does, and it shows! I am pleased you have found your "home away from home" while traveling to the Albany area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie

Address: 8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.