We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Albany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at SpringHill Suites for one week for work and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Below are just some of the highlights from my stay.

-Once I was assigned a room and I checked in, the concierge called and left a message asking if everything was ok and if I needed anything else, demonstrating top notch and proactive customer service.

-My room had a separate toilet/sink and shower/sink which is convenient if traveling with other ppl

-I had a handwritten note from housekeeping at my desk in the room telling me to enjoy my stay

-In the evening the receptionist puts out warm chocolate chip cookies that guests can have for free

-There was a fireplace in the lobby that was lit at breakfast and throughout the day, making it super cozy.

-Breakfast includes both hot and cold foods and these delicious yogurt parfaits that were a nice grab and go option.

-The surrounding area includes a mall, movie theater, affordable restaurants and more.

Overall, my stay was great and the customer service was genuine which really goes a long way!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about the service you received while staying at our property. My associates truly do their best to ensure every guest feels at home when staying at our hotel. I am excited to share your comments with my team. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    74
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
85
40
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshires, Ma.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Marriott branch very much. Upon arrival, we were greeting by Michael at the front desk and he was so charming, friendly and helpful, ( and had a sense of humour too ), that we felt we were off to a great start !
Our room was very clean, spacious, and based on previous reviews I brought along some night lights for the bathroom areas which worked out just fine. The bed was so comfortable, we liked the walk in shower and seperate bathroom and shower areas and the sliding glass panels that divided up the sleeping area from the sitting area. The pool is small, but the water was warm..( we did miss a hot tub however ).
We are reward members and like to try out different branch's and this was certainly up to Marriotts usual standards.
We walked across the street and down the road a bit and dined at Ralph's Tavern..what fun !..and such a cool place too !
Then, next morning we dined at Delma's Diner which is walkable from the hotel, friendly service, good food.
So, This hotel is on our "plan to return " list for our next leisure visit to the Albany/Colonie area.
Thanks Marriott folks.. we are happy and pleased customers !

Room Tip: Our first floor room down past the pool, reception, dining area was quiet. ( # 120)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. I look forward to sharing your comments with Michael, as well as with the rest of my team. Please let us know if we can be of assistance with booking any future reservations.
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We submitted a Priceline bid for a three-night stay and ended up with this hotel...one of the few in which we had never stayed during our many trips to visit family in the area. The room was a second-floor king suite which consisted of a single large room cleverly divided into a sleeping area and "sitting" area by a desk having sliding panels which can be set to obscure the view from the sitting/working area into the sleeping area...makes it seem like separate areas without actually BEING separate areas.

Positives:

- The bed was comfortable.
- The room was reasonably quiet.
- The decor was pleasant and relaxing.
- It was clean.
- There is free wi-fi (which apparently remembers you from day to day, so you only need the password once...cool beans).
- There's plenty of free parking.
- The sitting area had not only a couch, but also a chair in addition to the office chair.
- There was a microwave and a small, under-counter refrigerator, though we did have to change the refrigerator from its warmest setting to store our restaurant leftovers.
- The coffeemaker was capable of making more than one cup at a time.
- Breakfast is included in the price of the room.
- Shower has nice glass door instead of annoying curtains.
- Shower room and bathroom are separate, with separate sinks...but see below.
- Room temperature control was quiet and efficient.
- TV was not "stuck" in wide mode...it could be adjusted for the aspect ratio of the program being viewed, and the channels available were mostly the HD versions of the usual cable channels.
- The eating area in the lobby area had a nice fireplace.
- Partner says that the complimentary Paul Mitchell toiletries were nice.
- NOTE: The staff was absolutely super!

Negatives:

- Shower and bathroom doors are sliding doors with frosted glass inserts...an interesting approach to maximizing usable room space, but the frosted glass meant that any light turned on in the middle of the night also flooded the rest of the room with light. Also, although the frosted glass didn't really allow for "viewing" of the processes going on behind them, it was definitely not opaque, and shapes could be discerned if directly adjacent to the glass (anything more than a foot or so from the glass is essentially invisible, and the commode itself is behind a solid wall, so you can't see anyone sitting there). The bathroom door was sticky and noisy.
- Hot water for both the sinks and the shower took forever to arrive.
- There was only room for a nightstand on one side of the bed.
- The TV is "centered" in the room and must be rotated to watch from either the bed or the sitting area...it really can't be seen properly from both areas at once. Also, the power plug on the TV worked itself loose due to the constant rotation from bedroom to sitting room.
- Breakfast, while free, was just average, i.e., it filled the empty stomach, but was nothing to cheer over. Bite the bullet and go pay for breakfast at the Wolf Road Diner (a couple of miles away at the far end of Wolf Road) if you want more than prepackaged eggs, sausage patties, breads, cereal, juice, and barely ripe melon. On the other hand, as I said, it IS both free and edible.
- Room glasses and coffee mugs are glass and ceramic, respectively...a bit of class compared to pre-wrapped plastic, but also a point of concern for anyone who saw the TV documentary and is concerned about the sanitation of items like this that can be re-used.

In short, this is a typical Marriott property...basically well done, well kept, and quite functional, if you're willing to overlook a few quirks about the room design. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Tripadvisor has this property listed as #9 out of 50 in the area (as I write), and they really do deserve it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that our hotel met your expectations and appreciate your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Springhill suites in Albany and were really happy with the experience. Really helpful staff (Michael at the desk was awesome to help us find a pub and cab on Thanksgiving night) all in all. Our room was spacious, quiet, little fridge, in room coffee machine, fast wifi, sitting area, nice small pool (great for kids), exercise room. There's a restaurant bar across the parking lot as well as a gas station for snacks. The breakfast was a perfect (yogurt, fruit, waffles, eggs etc) way to start the day. The room was really clean and we left $5 tip on both mornings to help out the hard working staff. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about the outstanding customer service you received while staying at our property. I am pleased that our accommodations met your needs and look forward to sharing your comments with my team. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Needed a place to stay on short notice in Albany and chose the Springhill Suites. The location is a little further away from the Airport than I first thought and it is tucked in behind a few other business, so locating it was not as easy as I would have liked. Hotel does have ample parking, however parking lot and exterior of the hotel felt on the darker side and I feel could use some additional lighting.

Check in was quick and easy, room was just ok. The furniture (sofa and chair) looked and felt cheap and slightly on the dirty side, I really did not want to use it. The desk area had ample work space and offered plenty of lighting. Bed was comfortable, TV location felt off, I realize they are trying to use one TV to serve the sitting area and bed area, however it did not work easily. The bathroom, I am still undecided how I feel about the set up. Looking straight on from the bed, you could easily see both the toilet (located in a separate area) and the shower located in a separate area from the toilet. Both areas had doors, however it did not feel it offered any level of privacy and if you get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, the light from the 1/2 bath will shine right onto the bed until you get the door closed.

Last issue, the sound proofing was non-existent. I could clearly hear conversations through the walls and door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the SpringHill Suites~Albany/Colonie. I am glad you were able to find our location. I am sorry you found our furniture and sound proofing to be less than expected. I do hope you will remember us the next time your travels bring you to the Albany area. I sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Md
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was a little upset that they didn't have an airport shuttle so that's the only thing that kept this stay from being excellent. Otherwise, I found the hotel room and common areas to be exceptionally clean. Bed is very comfortable and bedroom spacious for the price. The staff is friendly and attentive and it's always special and worthy of a wonderful review when staff remembers your name. I have always been a loyal to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport but I really enjoyed my stay here. Plus, it's right across the street from Ralph's Italian Restaurant (see my review). The taxi fare from the airport is $16.00+ not including tip so if they ever do an airport shuttle, I'm here every month lol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that our lack of airport shuttle cause an inconvenience for you. I always tell my staff that our service will set us apart from other properties so I am hoping this proves true with you. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in the Albany area.

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Corners, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The beds we slept on were foam, not memory foam but a latex foam on an innerspring mattress...very uncomfortable. My back was killing me by morning. Overall minus the bed issue, very nice and clean. We had an upgraded suite, included a sofa, mini bar area and desk...very clean. NO pets allowed here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie243, General Manager at Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with the SpringHill Suites by Marriott~Albany/Colonie. I am sorry that you found our beds to be uncomfortable. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that should your travels bring you back to the Albany area again you will choose to give us another shot!

Thank you,
Carrie Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie

Address: 8 California Ave, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#16 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Albany-Colonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.