We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wraps - great lunch place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Gate Cafe

Iron Gate Cafe
182 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12210-2304
518-445-3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 598 Restaurants in Albany
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic wraps - great lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a gem! I've turned 15 people into fans of this place. Several people now order 2 lunches at a time. It's that tasty! Three different people had the mushroom soup last week and all raved about it. Absolutely delicious. One individual said it was the best mushroom soup he ever had. Two individuals had the special steak fajita wrap and loved it. To die for - was one of the reviews. Four of us had the Mediterranean wrap - breaded eggplant, fresh mozzarella, roasted red pepper and hummus. Again all loved it. Note the mozzarella are little balls, so if that doesn't suit your fancy, you can ask them to slice it. Two people ordered the Gobbler - smoked turkey, cheddar cheese and sliced apple and really really liked it. One individual had the Tuscany - fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, basil and sun-dried tomatoe pesto - and loved it. One person had the veggie and hummus wrap and said it was fantastic. One more ordered the sesame chicken wrap and liked it a lot. Finally, two people ordered the lentil soup. It was packed with lentils, but just ok. We have now decided to frequent this cafe once a week. It's that good and it's very reasonable. The wraps and sandwichs are a good size and are about $7. Each sandwich/wrap also comes with a small bag of chips.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We found this gem online as a great place to eat breakfast since the hotel did not offer a continental breakfast. The Jersey was delicious and giant. Enough to share. Everything was fresh and homemade. So good after a long night of driving. We ate outside in a charming area with flowers and small tables. We bought several white chocolate craisin cookies that were so good. Well worth looking for. Not so great a block to walk down though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch, breakfast was great too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had a lovely veggie omelet @ this great little restaurant. A 2 egg omelet stuffed with mushrooms peppers, onions tomatoes and cheddar cheese. Perfectly cooked. Multi-grain toast which was fine but nothing special. Great cup of serve yourself coffee. $6.85 Great bargain fast service, good food. Cant be beat! Eat outside in the front iron gated courtyard or for some real pleasure try the side deck and courtyard secluded from the hustle and bustle of busy Washington Ave. Go early for free parking on Washington Ave before 9am.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Must Try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Four of us went to Irongate on a Sunday around 12pm. As we approached the "gate" one of the waitresses kindly asked us to walk inside so the hostess could seat us. We preferred to sit outside and she led us promptly to a table, of which there were quite a few available. Surprising for that time of day and knowing that this place has become popular over time. The menu had great specials, as well as drink specials. Never having been there, I was torn over ~4 choices, all very inventive flavor pairings and ingredients. I ended up with the "Elvis" which was eggs with peppers, onions, maple sausage (a must) and crumbled bacon mixed in, topped with pepperjack cheese. It also came with a side of homefries and grilled cornbread, which was fantastic. Others in my group had the eggs florentine benedict, the french toast breakfast sandwich, and an avocado/bacon omelette. All of us cleaned our plates, which is rare! I loved feeling like I was sitting in a secret garden, and all of the staff was very pleasant. Coffee refills were abundant. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because the kitchen was slow in preparing the food, and we waited for what seemed like an hour. It was well worth it though, I would highly recommend this place and am definitely headed back very soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“SO CUTE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We fell in LOVE with this charming little cafe! They had a cute little patio nestled into a garden that felt like it was hidden in the city. It was a nice little find while we were sightseeing. And the food was amazing, it was so good we went back twice. We recommend the "Bacado" omelet.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Gate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Iron Gate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Gate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.