We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room was a bit of a walk through a long hall. The hall was really dirty. It looked like it needed at least a good vacuuming! However, the room was clean. The staff was nice and over all our stay was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    128
    92
    49
    44
See reviews for
147
97
41
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Room was not clean , went out a 8 am came back 4 pm room not cleaned. went up to front desk . The lady at front desk was not able to help . She took my cell number to call when room was ready . She never called.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The honesty of your employees is excellent. We accidently left our laptop in the lobby of your hotel and they kept it safely for us for four days. We could not be more grateful!!! We would have had a very difficult time restoring a new one! Kudos to your staff at Albany NY! We so appreciate their honesty and dedication! We will be customers of Best Western again. Thank you so much for everything! We loved the restaurant breakfast! John & Sue Minick

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed 2 nights because I had an activity at SUNY Albany, which is right across the street. Very convenient that I could easily walk to. The staff at front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The room was a bit small, but nicely decorated and with an updated 32" flat panel TV. The cable was spotty, as was the internet at certain times. The mattress was flatter old style and a little too firm, but the bedding was fresh and comfortable. The breakfast was great, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffle bar, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, breads, fruit and yogurt. Obviously decorated in recent years, but still the building was an older style with things that can't be changed without major renovations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I'm stuck here for 2 days.

Pros: clean room, flat screen tv

Cons: limited shuttle use, continental breakfast is unorganized and crowded, waffles ok, pool is closed for repairs, breakfast doesn't start till 630

I chose this place because of the shuttle and pool but for the price I paid, the lack of care to customers, and the time I have to leave I will not be staying here again. I was here once before and the shuttle did run 24 hours but they changed it as of recent I'm assuming. Last time I was in Albany,I stayed at Travelodge which was run down but the staff was very helpful and pleasant the shuttle ran 24 hours and their breakfast was very good. I still gave them overall 3 stars review. I'm solely disappointed, I don't wish to pay for another taxi or hotel otherwise I'd walk out of here now and go back to Travelodge and save money. There's always next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location is very convenient. Free Hot Break fast, but no longer serves freshly cooked potato fries. However still very good. Rooms are very big, plenty of parking space all around, impressive front desk. Over all, It was a good stay

Room Tip: I would like upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff went over the top for my stay. Very helpful, outgoing and just what u want when checking into a hotel. I love Best Western Plus hotels but this is almost a Plus, without the Plus on the title. You get fridge and microwave in the room. Modern looking and very clean. The beds are comfortable and nice.

The breakfast is amazing and good and worth getting up in the morning for. Close to SUNY University area, the Mall and not far from Downtown. You can get on bus right out in front and go to mall or downtown. I will be coming back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.