We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Ravena, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for four days for a convention. The staff was excellent in attention to detail, my room was great, wifi service was a lot better than most, and the food service was very good. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Stephan, Thank you for the great compliments! We are so glad that all of our friends that stayed with us for the convention enjoyed their stay with us. I will be sure to share your review with our entire staff so they know to keep up the great work. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    142
    104
    52
    46
See reviews for
157
105
48
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found this out of need to break up a long trip to Rhode Island for the wedding of my niece.
Now, Best Western's are independently owned and we had a horrific experience at one in Estes Park CO-where they charged,in cash only, a security deposit of $200.00, as a no smoking guarantee-extra money for towels and a 2 person, room inspection before they would refund you no smoking deposit. Literally the worst place I've ever stayed.
This was the total reverse-wonderful people, atmosphere and a full breakfast in the morning -all for a very reasonable room rate-(that normally makes me suspicious of the place). The only criticism we had was the baggage carts we as big as a '57 Buick-and the elevators the smallest we've ever seen. No easy task fitting one into the other. Otherwise-quite a value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times, most recently in Feb 2013. It had been done up since I was last there and it looks great. The hotel is a little old but it is clean. And it is excellent value.

But the one thing that really stands out about this hotel is the staff. They are absolutely superb, so friendly and helpful. They really could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble, from arranging transport for us (we are irish and were a bit lost) to getting us extra items at breakfast and many other things.

I can't recommend them highly enough, I certainly hope to stay here again some day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently attended a convention at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. The facility is in good condition, pool is very nice, and it is easy to find.
It is close to a lot of good places to eat too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This Best Western is in a very pleasant part of town, just across the road from one of the entrances to SUNY-Albany, close to Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks, CVS and a few other fine stores. The staff were friendly and pleasant. The rooms were well laid out and comfortable. The refrig was large, as was the microwave, which were nice pluses. We found the breakfast area to be a great place, as it was decorated with old Americana toys. The breakfast food selection was good and plentiful. The indoor pool looked so inviting, but sadly we were too rushed in our schedule to use it. The only minor compliant would be that the hallway carpets were a bit stained and worn, and should be replaced. Overall this Best Western was a good find.

Room Tip: The chlorine smell from the pool is strong. If that bothers you, ask for a room far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
To our friend from Long Island,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with our friends on Trip Advisor. It is always great to receive such kind words and know our hard work is paying off. I will be sure to share your review with the entire staff so they know to keep up the good work. We are glad your had the chance to enjoy our hot breakfast buffet as well as all the great attractions right around our hotel. We truly are lucky top be so close to so much. We hope to see you on your next trip into Albany so you can enjoy our indoor heated pool!

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I spent one night here. The room was comfortable enough. Friendly staff. No complaints. I would stay here again. Room was quiet; breakfast was average; bed was comfortable; room was clean; good temperature control.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our friends at Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear your stay was comfortable and that you would stay with us again in the future. If there is anything we can do to make your future stays more comfortable please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very good. I like this hotel. I think I have stayed here for at least three times in the past two years and will continue to stay there in the next two months. I will come to Albany in Dec. this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jareddemo1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dejun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience from your recent stay at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel. We can not thank you enough for choosing our hotel as your home away from home when visiting the city of Albany. If there is anything we can do to make you feel more at home please let us know. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

At your service,
Jared DeMagistris
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.