We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impersonal service & so-so location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“impersonal service & so-so location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This hotel wasn't as easy to find as you might expect since there is no sign out for the road. Easy to get back on the highway if you're heading west. My suite ended up being cancelled due to other guests staying longer and they promised adjoining rooms around the same price which did not end up happening so the stay was more expensive than anticipated. The check-in process was extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. The room itself was good and fairly normal for the Hilton Garden Inn. I would definitely stay at one of the many other hotels in this area before I would stay here again.

  • Liked — nothing was exceptional
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    101
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
117
53
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Stayed at the HGI Albany SUNY Area for one night with my wife and 2 young sons (2 & 4) as part of a reunion with some of my wife's closest college friends and their families. We booked the hotel's one-bedroom suite, which had a separate living area with a pull out sofa, a separate bedroom and one and a half baths. The accommodations were perfect for my family, as my older son slept on the pull-out and we brought a Pack & Play for the 2 year old who also slept in the living area. The accommodations were spacious and the hotel had HD TVs, which I thought were very good.

The only downside was that each floor only had one suite, so each of the five families had to stay on different floors, so socializing at night was a bit of a challenge. We had to pile into one family's room to "hang out", but as our kids all started getting sleepy we had to break up the party and go to our respective floors. Next time we might trade the suites for adjoining rooms so we could be in closer proximity to one another.

The hotel seemed fairly new and was in very good condition. The indoor pool was a big hit with all of the kids, though I think we reached its capacity with about 8-10 people in it. The restaurant gave everyone a chance to get a good, hot meal before we hit the road at the end of our stay. Overall, everyone in the group gave the HGI high marks and we all said we'd try to use it again for another reunion, as it was about halfway for those families traveling from upstate NY as well as the NYC/LI areas.

I would definitely recommend this for families on the weekends, and it seemed like a reasonable place for business travelers from Mon.-Fri. Also, the close proximity to other restaurants, shopping, and activiites (apple picking, in our case) was excellent.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and great value.
  • Disliked — Restaurant filled up quickly when the hotel was sold out. Could use more tables for dining guests.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

I travelled here for fun with my 9 year old son.
The room was immaculate with everything we needed on hand. Front desk staff relaxed, approachable and helpful. The location is very close to the wonderful NY State Museum and downtown and other sights we were interested in.
Beds here. are truly to die for-so cozy and comfortable, right down to the pillows! I groaned and felt really sorry for myself when my 9 year old son jumped up and woke me at 6am, excited to start our day. Breakfast buffet also was excellent.-though NB there is a charge if you are not a member of the Hilton "frequent flyer" club.
My only complaint was that I wished I was there longer!

  • Liked — Quality and location.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in August for one night en route to NYC. We had a great stay. Room was very clean and modern. The recently renovated and it shows. Clean carpets in the hallways. New LCD tv's. Very nice. Property was well kept. For the price we felt we got great value.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn from 8/29 through 9/1. The hotel is new and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located right across from Suny Albany. It is centrally located to some good restaurants in the area, as well as nearby malls. We stayed in room 615 which had a view of the suny campus. The room had a good size fridge, a small microwave, and a very comfortable bed. There was free internet access and free parking. There is also indoor parking available located on the ground floor. We found this very convenient as the elevators went to the ground floor, and we didn’t have to walk far to get to the car. The hotel also offers complimentary fresh baked cookies during the afternoon at the concierge desk, as well as coffee and tea daily all day. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Albany. We think this is one of the better hotels in the area.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I stayed here several times for business during 2008 for multiple days. I think it is the best hotel in the SUNY area. It is new. The hotels around it is old and stinks.

The rooms are nice. Decent work out facility. Across the street from SUNY giving you plenty of space to walk or run. It's 5-10 minutes from plenty of restaurants.

I definitely would stay there again.

  • Liked — It was new
  • Disliked — Cost of breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights for a job interview in Albany. I chose the perfect hotel; I got a lot of rest in the clean, comfortable beds, had excellent meals in the hotel's restaurant, and enjoyed watching the flat screen TV in my room. I am not familiar with Albany, but, the desk clerk was more than willing to help me find my way around with maps, and provided great suggestions for things to do. There was not a staff member without a smile, and I got a great rate too. I am aware that this is a newer hotel, and in addition to a beautiful facility, they have friendly staff was well. I was calm, well rested and prepared for my interview, thanks to the Hilton Garden at Suny.

  • Liked — clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.