We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean ,friendly place ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Albany
1 review
“Great clean ,friendly place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I stayed at the hilton garden inn Albany for a lacrosse tournament . We found the hotel bright , clean and well appointed. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the Albany area

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Gary T,

I really appreciate your positive comments on our hotel and staff! I am glad to hear that on weekends which can be busier we are taking care of you like a Hilton should! If you should find yourself in Albany again I would love to have you back!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
86
38
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wife and I enjoyed our stay at this Hilton Inn very much. Wonderful friendly staff,
breakfast was fantastic. One of the best omletes I have every had, waite staff, and
chef, no words to describe...absoutly the greatest. We will stay here again.
They couldnt have been more friendly and helpful.
My only suggestion would be is about parking, and especially very late in the evening,
a sign out front to direct you to overflow parking would be a big help. It was difficult to find
a spot to park after 10pm.
Otherwise..we had a wonderful stay at this hotel, we will return when we are in the Albany area.
Please note, this hotel is very gracious to our military, and miltiary veterans, I can't thank them enough, they made me feel so appreciated. God Bless everyone at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, quite and very very nice rooms. Enjoy their fantastic breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Bernie L,

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel! I post all of these so our staff can see what they are doing good or where they can improve. I really appreciate your detailed comments about the individual departments. I will make sure they are individually rewarded. Your comments about the way we treat and respect active military and military veterans especially resonated with me. I grew up in a military household and have complete respect for the men and women who serve or have served. I would be honored to have you back!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Came to town for a tournament. Called twice ahead of time to change mistake in booking from King to two doubles. Told by reservations it couldn't be done but when I arrived the helpful front desk attendants offered a rollaway which was fine. Very convenient to restaurants, big mall, and right across the street from Univ at Albany. Staff was very nice, hotel was clean and always had coffee and cold lemonade in the lobby. Glad I had a good corporate rate, the regular rate was a little pricey but average for this type of hotel. Indoor/outdoor parking was tough but adequate. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Didn't have a problem on the 3rd floor. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear JessicaL2012,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I too look at this site when traveling so I know that a good or bad review can make or break my decision. I appreciate your comments greatly! The next time you are in the Albany area we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel was conveniently located for Excelsior College graduation. The food, especially breakfast, was good. The wait staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk staff--so-so.
Room was adequate. Parking is terrible. The garage fills up quickly and handicapped parking is very limited.
Nice common area for socializing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear andicb03,

I am sorry you had to cancel but I do thank you for your overall positive review. I would love to have you back as our guest in the future. If there are any issues I can assist you with I can be contacted at the hotel.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stay the weekend of 7/13/14 for a tournament. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Pool was clean, but was very hot in the area and could use better ventilation. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on our staff and pool! We have recently updated an air conditioning unit that should add more comfort to the hot tub area on your next visit! The next time you are in the Albany area we would love to be your host again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old Bridge, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel was very clean...nice size room...staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants. Used the indoor pool which the kids loved and had fun, there is hot tub which was also good.... great location to Albany University (acrosse the street), which worked out great for our Lax event (only 1 min drive). Another plus was Dunkin Donuts was down the road. Will stay here again when in Albany.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Larry C,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! I always display these so the staff can see how they are doing. The next time you are in the Albany/Saratoga area we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our second stay at this location HGI. Front desk was unwelcoming on check-in. I'm sure that Tyler says the same thing over & over, but she talked so fast I could hardly understand her.
When we reached our room (king suite) we discovered that half of the lights (including the bathroom) didn't work. Turned out a switch by the front door was off. It has a little sign over it that says to "Please leave this switch in the on position". Someone obviously didn't do that. Even after we fixed that, there was still one light in the bathroom that was out.
Bed was very uncomfortable, even after trying to adjust it. Feather pillows offered no support. Ended up with a backache by morning. Also didn't appreciate the smoke detector (?) green light flashing in the room all night.
8:15 the next morning and housekeeping was knocking on our door. I opened the door and she asked when we were going to be leaving. I told her we were going to breakfast and would be checking out later. We brought this to the attention of the front desk and were initially dismissed, but then apologized to.
Breakfast was fine. Nothing spectacular.
Our room was right near the elevators and the ice machine, but we heard nothing from either. No vending machines on our floor.
Disappointed as I don't remember our first visit being like this. The location is great as it's close to Crossgates and major roads.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am sorry for the difficulties with your stay. If you would like to discuss your stay further I will always be available at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Albany
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.