We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in all ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Albany
Cornish
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great in all ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed there 1/2 way to Syracuse for family weekend. Rate was excellent with my AARP card just over $100 with taxes. Very nice lobby area with coffee, fruit and cookies available. Room was nice. Pillows amazingly small but called to 2 extra which were bigger and fine. Ate both dinner and breakfast there. Both were good. We definitely will keep this in mind for other times

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
34
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for UAlbany homecoming weekend and we had a great experience. It's walkable to campus and don't forget to enjoy the nice fireplace area near the lobby. We will recommend to others, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were driving back from Bar Harbor Maine and chose this area to stay halfway. Great area to stay, checkin was easy with 2 complimentary bottles of water, rooms clean and comfortable. Great breakfast in morning with lots of choices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklawn, NJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn was a solid room. Frankly, that's what I was looking for - it was a stopover on the road. I got a very good rate (under $90 before taxes), for a room. We were able to park outside, and the room was nice. The desk clerk was pleasant and very smooth. I didn't mind the breakfast price - I just went elsewhere. There are tradeoffs for the price.

The room was smallish, pretty basic looks. The bathroom was small, was was actually designed with adults in mind (the shower head, for instance, was high enough that adults don't have to do the limbo to get a shower).

Two minor nitpick issues - the bathroom door closed way too tightly, poorly situated in the frame; and the pillows were so weak that they were essentially useless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is well located. The rooms are large and well laid out and the overall appearance and upkeep are keeping with Hilton standards.
Now with that said, there were several small annoying issues during our stay.
1) When we showed up the free coffee provided in the lobby was luke warm. We mentioned it to the front desk and they said they would get to it. We went back down 25 minutes later after unpacking, same situation
2) When our room was cleaned the next day the 4 paper cups (that we had used) that are left in the room were not replaced. Neither was the automated coffee cups that we had used in the rooms coffee machine (see prior note)
3) We had used the shampoo and soap that are left at check in, again these were not replaced the next day
4) On Saturday when we went down to breakfast the line was 10 deep with open tables in the dining area. You could tell they either had people call in sick or had understaffed. We left and went elsewhere
These are admittedly small issues but when I’m thinking of going back, these small issues ensure that I will go to another of the adjacent facilities and give them a try the next time instead.

Room Tip: Get one up front otherwise you WILL HEAR the highway from a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Hotel front desk staff are great. The breakfast in the morning is not free ( I have had free breakfast that have tasted better). The bathroom was not cleaned very well and they actual left a dirty towel for us to use. The towel was filthy and the used shampoo bottle and conditioner bottle were left on the tub floor. The parking garage is tight but parking is free. The lobby is nice and free wifi is always a good thing. Very close to SUNY Albany. The pool is small but clean with a nice hot tub. A bowel of fresh apples is always available and free coffee. The fridge in the room is also a great feature. Definitely more positive than negative and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed at ths hotel each year for the past 4 years and have had nothing but positive experiences with the staff. They have a great cook to order and self service breakfast ($10!) and you can usually get a decent rate. I usually stay in a suite - 1 1/2 baths - really convenient if you have somebody sleeping on the pull out sofa (not the most comfortable but okay). There is a small in-door pool and gym - didn't use it this time but did last year. It's right across from SUNY and close to the shopping malls. Only issue is that some of the furnishings are starting to look a bit worn - room was spotless in terms of dirt but the carpets did look a bit stained. I still would recommend this hotel for people traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.