We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, Close to SUNY Albany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Albany
Baldwin, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, friendly staff, Close to SUNY Albany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here when I attended a 4 day training at SUNY Albany(right across the street). We've stayed at other Hilton Garden Inns before and this was no different. Clean rooms and friendly staff. You'll need a car if you want to get around town or go to one of the many restaurants they have in the area. Parking is free which is the norm for the area hotels. Apart from SUNY Albany(North Side), a Dunkin Donuts, not much else is in walking distance. The CDTA (forgot which route number) has a bus stop close by so that's one option.
I got the room with 2 double beds since it was the only one available at the government rate. Loads of channels on the tv, a desk to work on, free wifi and a clean bathroom was what I expected and was there. There is also a restaurant in the lobby that served all three meals. I would definitely stay here again but only if I had my car to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    79
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
81
37
13
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lakes Region, NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for a quick visit but this hotel was class, class, class. From the moment you walk in you can tell that it is well maintained, beautifully decorated and well staffed. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, everything was in working condition and it even had a microwave and mini fridge. There were cookies, apples and newspapers in the lobby for the guests to enjoy along with coffee and tea. I had asked for an accessible room since my mom was in a wheelchair and the room was huge!. We were able to maneuver in it with no problem.
I usually stay at a neighboring hotel due to price, but actually got this at the last minute from hotels.com for cheaper than the others. Will definitely stay here again and spend more time in the hotel. It is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were up in Albany for a friend's grand-daughter's Bat Mitzvah and we stayed here for the weekend. The room wea large, SPOTLESS, and comfortable. The front desk was very friendly and extremely helpful with directions. And the breakfast--the breakfst was the bargain of the year. $10 for a full breakfast buffet with degg orders to order. It was the talk of the affair. If I am ever in Albany again, this will be my stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, N.Y., United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great Hotel - reasonable price - great service I have stayed at other Hilton Garden Hotels and I prefer their brand. This hotel is in a row of many hotels - across from SUNY Albany - This is is my favorite of the group. I do not think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a great stay at this Hilton Garden Inn. The hotel staff was extremely pleasant. The breakfast offerings were plentiful and the hotel was quiet and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again when I am traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach,Fl
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

In Albany for some work stayed at this HGI, Very nice clean and quite, !0 min from where I was working, Good place to eat downstairs, The Recovery Room Great Wings! Will stay there again if I have to Return. Parking can get a little tricky At least for me, I guess there's 2 or three was in, I use a different every time. But it got me to the same place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and the room clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar and dinner were quite tasty. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The restaurant staff was very gracious and accommodating. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. Great place to stay when you are on a business trip in Albany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.