We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Albany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Albany
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to stay in Albany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great service. Friendly staff at the restaurant and at the counter.
On a snowy/ice conditions, it was nice to park the car in hotel's garage. The sleep-number bed was great. The negatives are; refrigerator was noisy and they authorize $50 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
34
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything was great. I ordered room service and received it in about 15-20 minutes. The breakfast was delicious. The lady who made the omelets was so nice. I went to breakfast on a Saturday morning and the young lady who served me was very helpful and on top of things in order to help me and others in the restaurant area.
The front desk was very friendly and a special shout-out to Tammy at the front desk for going over and beyond for her guests. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here on New Years Eve. Content with service of front desk at check in, but why is it necessary to authorize an additional $50 on a credit card for incidentals (for a one-night stay)? $10 and $20 seem to be the industry norm. Not the end of the world, but people may want to be aware of this.

If our stay ended in calendar-year 2012, I would have given 5-stars.

Early in the morning on New Year's Day; we began to see the negatives, such as the dirty microwave and fridge. For the microwave, it looked like a housekeeper sprayed a cleaner once, and made one or two wipes in there and that was it. Similar thing with the fridge. Someone who may just open these items and not look probably doesn't notice, but as I did look, there was dried up spaghetti-sauce in the corners and something that resembled butter. The fridge had a couple hairs on the top rack. Probably don't notice those hairs if I didn't first notice the microwave and take a deeper look, but they were there. Felt safe using them, but they were not fully cleaned. That knocks it down from 5 to 4 stars.

Now, the internet. I had to log in about 5 separate times during the couple hours in which I tried to use it, and I tried both the wired and wireless connections. Called the desk about this, and they did a good job trying to troubleshoot and I was content with the way they responded, but it didn't really fix the problem. Knocked from 4 to 3 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfitzsimons1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Kristen,

Thank you for choosing to spend your New Year's Ever with us. We are honored to be a part of your memories and we are glad you enjoyed your evening. We are sorry to hear about the housekeeping and internet issues you encountered New Year's Day and having shared your comments with our team we will work to prevent similar issues in the future. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and we will continue to work towards this goal with your experience in mind. We hope you enjoyed your time in the city and that you will consider staying with us again should you return in the future.

Thank you,

Mary Fitzsimons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very friendly staff, good comfy and clean rooms. Breakfast buffet was better than average but was dissapointed that the bar closes so early. Good Hilton standard, useful business hotel. I will certainly look to return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night when in town for a wedding. It was a very functional hotel; clean, quiet, no frills, reasonable cost. We'd stay here again if passing through the area. Good location, easy to find. Free parking. Decent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I booked a room for a weekend get away. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Our flight was canceled due to Hurricane Sandy and we had to extend our stay. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy and taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while in Albany on business. Check in was a breeze. Room was very clean and quiet. The hotel itself had a good fitness center. Very convenient to the interstate, the state offices and to SUNY.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, and want food, you can always eat at the hotel, but if not, plan on driving abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area

Address: 1389 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / Suny Area Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.