We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds, great extras,awesome staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 74 State Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 74 State Hotel to your Saves list
74 State Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   74 State Street, Albany, NY 12207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy beds, great extras,awesome staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at 74 State before a concert at The Palace Theater. When we arrived we were greeted by welcoming staff who provided us with directions to local pubs, gave us free bottled water and helped us figure out parking and free wi-fi. Our room was very roomy, the bathroom was enormous and the beds were clean and comfy. They had cookies and snacks in the afternoon in the lobby and coffee and tea 24 hours! We were there on a Sunday so not much was open in the area but it was easy walking distance to the theater and dinning. Desk staff even helped us order a pizza for late night delivery AND brought it to our room! Check out was at 11 and we enjoyed the delicious and plentiful continental breakfast that was included in our room rate beforehand. They even had a waffle station! All in all it was a marvelous stay with the only downside being no view from the room and not much open in the area on a Sunday. If I ever go back to Albany I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for taking the time to review 74 State, we really appreciate it! Reviews like this really keep our staff motivated to continue giving our guests the best stay possible. We can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    99
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
38
72
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location for events at Times-Union Center, spacious rooms and the most comfortable beds ever! Service and Staff were excellent and very friendly. Free breakfast, too! The only reason this review isn't even better is because there is no longer a working bar or restaurant on premises. Overall an excellent choice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Gary Z,

Thank you for your response about your stay with us! We would also like to once again thank you for choosing us for your trip to Albany, NY! We can't wait to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay after dropping off rental car at airport and before catching the train to NYC. Arrived well before check-in time but no problem about access to room. Staff very friendly and helpful and pointed us in the right direction with some restaurant recommendations. Would recommend anyone going to Albany to book this hotel. Very reasonably priced and included a basic breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear qwerty165,

Thank you for the kind response regarding your recent stay with us. It means a lot to us when we hear our guests enjoyed staying with us. We'll see you the next time you're in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at 74 State on a recent trip to Albany for an event at the Times Union Center. Staffers were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel itself was very nice. We had a junior suite that was terrific, especially the bathroom. The location was perfect as the Times Union Center was right around the corner and there are a variety of eateries within walking distance. As we arrived on Friday afternoon, we parked on the street right in front and only had to feed the meter for a couple of hours as parking was free Friday evening and for the rest of the weekend. We parked the car and it never moved until we checked out on Sunday... very nice! The included breakfast was basic but fine. We would stay here again! Overall it was a much better experience than the run of the mill chain motels that we usually stay in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear HockeyVoice,

Thank you for the great response regarding your stay with us! We definitely enjoyed having you with us. We can't wait to see you again the next time you are in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had just a short two night stay for a business trip, but was very thankful for the attentive staff clean rooms and well-appointed public areas. My room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable, the staff and the restaurant at the front desk and valet parking were all very professional and attentive. A great location and a beautiful building also.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear 151MGE,

Thank you for the kind response regarding your recent stay with us. It means a lot to us when we hear our guests enjoyed staying with us. We'll see you the next time you're in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here on a Sat nite and was very pleased with the courtesy of the staff, the amenities in the room and the continental breakfast. We had tickets to the Hart Theatre ("The Egg") and it was an easy walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again when in the Albany area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Amber301,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We would also like to take the time to once again thank you for choosing us as your hotel in Albany! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here just for one night after dropping the hire car back at Hertz (located in the nearby Hilton...which was full). Lovely reception from the staff and a little welcome goody bag. Room clean and peaceful. The TV didn't work initially but they fixed it and knocked a bit off the room rate to say sorry. Breakfast was US hotel basic - muffins, yoghurt, coffee, juice, a waffle maker (can't argue with that, I love those things) and scrambled eggs that looked to have seen better days. Overall, not stellar, but very pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Cairoken,

Thank you for your response and thank you for staying with us! We would like to apologize for everything being not quite right initially, but happy to hear you were satisfied with the solutions! We hope to have you again the next time you're in Albany!

Sincerely,

Andrew Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#15 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 74 State Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 74 State Hotel

Address: 74 State Street, Albany, NY 12207
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 74 State Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
74 State Hotel Downtown Albany NY. 74 State Hotel is located on historic State Street in the heart of Albany's business and entertainment districts - just steps from the Capitol Building, Federal Courthouse, and Times Union Center. 74 State is conveniently minutes from the Amtrak Station and Albany International Airport. 74 State Hotel features 74 rooms and suites offering complimentary High Speed and Wi-Fi Internet Access. • 74 Rooms and suites• Whirlpool baths and fireplaces in select rooms• Complimentary high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet service available throughout the hotel •Valet Parking• ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 74 State Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 74 State Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.