We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 74 State Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 74 State Hotel to your Saves list
74 State Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   74 State Street, Albany, NY 12207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Albany
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Staff were friendly, valet and check in was quick, the restaurant was really good! The only downside to this hotel, if I had to pick one, is the location. While the location is perfect for business travellers, being right downtown, we arrived on a Saturday in July and had a hard time finding any stores or restaurants open within walking distance. We took several pictures walking around, and not a soul was in any of them! Very much like a ghost town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff and restaurant. Downtown Albany has lots of dining options, and we apologize if we did not provide you with that information. In the future, the front desk will be able to direct you to one of the many local restaurants and bars. Thanks again for the lovely review and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    85
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
31
58
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our room, a junior suite, was spacious, comfortable, and attractive. It was clean except for the carpet, which had stains - unappealing for my morning floor exercises. The hotel overall is attractive and nicely renovated, except it appears they had not yet gotten to the elevator which was dirty and stale smelling.

Biggest problem here for us was the internet service, both wireless and ethernet, which alternated between no connectivity and impossibly slow for anything other than plain text (no file attachments, no web pages). The hotel staff were kind but had no ability to help; the contracted support tech (by phone) was unable to help. The 'business center' is a single computer on a desk in the lobby - which was occupied when I needed it - set up for quick occasional use rather than any amount of ongoing work. We were in town on business and a decent internet connection was vital for us, so after one night we regrettably moved to the Hilton. The manager discounted our bill, which we appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance of our hotel and apologize for the issues you experienced with connecting to the internet. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will look into the matter. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for the last night of a college tour. We've never been to Albany and elected to stay downtown rather than out at the airport. The hotel staff were welcoming and at tentative. The room, which appeared recently redone, was comfortable and well-appointed. The bedding was high quality and a welcome relief after a couple of nights spent on another hotel's scratchy polyester sheets. We did not get to spend much time here as our flight left early the next morning, but we were pleased with the room and the value we got booking on Expedia.

Room Tip: Our room faced the building next door. If staying longer, request a Hudson view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the well appointed amenities at the 74 State Hotel in Downtown Albany, and look forward to serving you the next time you are in Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed one night here before going on our vacation. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The pillows and the quality of the bedding were good as well! It was also impressively clean, which is very important to us. The lounge on the second floor was a nice place to relax and have a drink before bed, and the bartender was very friendly. We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of 74 State Hotel, a Downtown Albany hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our comfy Serta Eurotop beds and drinks at the Bistro/Bar at 74. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room on Priceline for about $65. If we take that into consideration, then the value was fair. Room was very small -- and we were convinced bed was a double and not a queen. In the morning, we would have killed for a cup of coffee, but the room had no in-room coffee maker. Later, we received an email from the hotel, boasting of their in room coffee makers! Ha.

Anyway, a decent place to lay your head. And the location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review 74 State Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient Downtown Albany location. Please note that our smallest bed available is a queen size. We do have coffee available in the lobby and in the rooms, and sincerely apologize if there was none in your room during your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here when we were attending a concert at the Times-Union Center. This hotel is within walking distance from the venue which was perfect! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfortable...I wish I could order one for my home! The rooms were spacious and clean. The black towel in the bathroom with gold lettering that said "makeup" is one of the best ideas I've ever seen. Unfortunately, the worst idea is only providing one of these towels per room as this was a girls' trip for us! We enjoyed our stay and I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of 74 State Hotel, a Downtown Albany hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient Downtown Albany location and luxury amenities on your girls’ trip, and look forward to serving you the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this hotel on Priceline and upgraded to the suite room. I would highly recomend doing that if you have the option. It was a very nice room, nicely appointed and the bed was very comfortable. I liked the fireplace and the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and a stand up shower. The room was very comfortable overall.

Things I wasnt impressed with: The fitness center. Very sparse. 3 pieces of cardio equipment werent what I was looking for so I had to find a gym locally. Also I was not impressed with the front desk staff. As an example, when I had the room keys made they had accidently given me the wrong keys, so they didnt work, so I had to lug everything back downstairs and get new keys. The front desk attendent didnt even apologize, and just gave me new keys and sent me on my way. That experience could have been improved.

I would certainly stay here again. The location was nice, the room was very clean and I liked the hotel very much. Nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne L, Manager at 74 State Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review 74 State Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and Downtown Albany location. We apologize if we failed to exceed your expectations in any way and will look into your concerns. Thank you for choosing 74 State Hotel. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 74 State Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 74 State Hotel

Address: 74 State Street, Albany, NY 12207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#12 Family Hotel in Albany
#13 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 74 State Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
74 State Hotel Downtown Albany NY. 74 State Hotel is located on historic State Street in the heart of Albany's business and entertainment districts - just steps from the Capitol Building, Federal Courthouse, and Times Union Center. 74 State is conveniently minutes from the Amtrak Station and Albany International Airport. 74 State Hotel features 74 rooms and suites offering complimentary High Speed and Wi-Fi Internet Access. • 74 Rooms and suites• Whirlpool baths and fireplaces in select rooms• Complimentary high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet service available throughout the hotel •Valet Parking• Onsite fitness center and business center• Event space for up to 150 people• Board room with audio/video and meeting technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 74 State Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
74 State Hotel Albany
Ascend Collection Albany
Ascend Collection Hotel Albany
Clarion Albany
Albany Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 74 State Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.