We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Wolf Rd., Albany, NY 12205   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get up to 10%
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Albany
Albany, New York
1 review
“Always a good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year for a post Holiday business event, and the staff and facilities are always excellent. This is our fourth year and we are always welcomed and treated well. The pool area is great and the rooms are always clean and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you! We always love having your group here, too. It's starting to make me feel old, though...fourth year here already?! That's just remarkable...can't wait to see your gang back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    67
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
222
77
33
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

One night stay, no complaints at all. Huge rooms, wonderful friendly staff, outstanding breakfast, comfortable beds, and very clean rooms. A perfect place to stay in the Albany area! Even if you need to be in the downtown area, probably worth the trip from here.

Room Tip: You might want a room facing away from the highway, although the faint highway sound didn't keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for a really great review. We hope that we see you again soon, but for a couple more nights next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went to visit Siena College with son and niece. Extremely nice hotel that was close to the college and restaurants. The hotel was a little pricely but since I was sharing the cost of the room, it may it reasonable. Other than the price, I would definitly stay at this hotel again. Large pool and fitness room and a good hot breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate any and all guest feedback more than you might expect. However, I feel it's necessary to comment on the price and on the ranking us a 3 for VALUE. We do cost a bit more than most other hotels in the area, but you should keep in mind what you are receiving when you do stay with us...each room is more than a room; they are suites with full kitchens, sleeper sofas, and vanity areas, ranging in size from 480 Sq. Ft. to 1040 Sq. ft. A full hot breakfast buffet is included each morning, while a full hot dinner buffet is included Mon-Thurs evenings with beer, wine and soft drinks and a salad bar. We have complimentary washers and dryers, business center, high-speed WIFI, heated indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor courtyard area with BBQ grills, fitness center, and a basketball court, to name a few of the amenities that are included in a stay with us. So, while we are a bit more expensive, we feel that we more than provide value behind the cost. I dare say that we are the best value in Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Four-night stay -- my wife and myself -- in Albany meant something more than the traditional hotel room; we were looking for a bit more of the "all of the comforts of home." Homewood gave us all that and more.

The two-room suite was small, but it was more than I expected it to be. We LOVED the FULL-SIZE refrigerator in the kitchenette and the TWO televisions. And in spite of being only a 100-yards from the interstate and rooms full of people around us, it was VERY quiet in our room.

We knew that Homewood provides a complimentary hot buffet breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised by the Mon-Thu "manager's reception" with hot entrees, a limited (though thoughtfully chosen) selection of sides, and complimentary beer/wine in the evenings. I assume that various local restaurants provide the food. Nice touch. The breakfast and evening buffets add value to the experience and certainly make the room rate even more competitive.

Service was fine. The staff were warm, friendly and extremely helpful. Housekeeping staff were top-notch; the rooms were immaculate! Everyone we encountered seemed poised to help and make us feel welcome.

Easy access to many dining and shopping options nearby. If you're a coffee snob -- like us -- there's a funky little coffee shop directly across from the hotel that makes tasty coffee and the Barnsider restaurant about a half-mile south of Homewood is excellent for dinner.

We did ONE small flub when we checked in on Saturday night (26 Jan): no-one at the front desk. We stood there. I called out a couple of times. Nothing. After about a minute or so, the two front-desk staff members ran out from somewhere in the back. From their conversation -- which continued while we were being checked in -- they were looking at something online. Our check-in associate, however, was extremely accommodating in asking about our room preferences and and helping us learn the way Homewood works. Almost made up for the odd empty front desk.

We will be back in Albany many times -- family up there we need to visit regularly -- and Homewood Suites will be our first choice. For sure.

We had one challenge with the room: lack of storage. In exchange for the two-room structure and the kitchenette, we didn't have much in terms of closet space to store baggage, overcoats, etc. And there was no place to put the large bedspread except on the table in the sitting room. Even a set of coat hooks on the inside of the room door would be helpful.

In spite of the "oops" moment with the front desk and the lack of storage space, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for a very fair and honest review of our hotel. Obviously, we are humbled by your rave reviews of our cleanliness, food, and, for the most part, our service. I can tell you that I am deeply sorry and terribly embarrassed for the front desk issue you faced when trying to check in to our hotel. Certainly, that is not what is supposed to happen, nor what our team is trained to do. I assure you this will be addressed and eliminated. I would also like to comment about a couple other items you mentioned; the first being our food. We serve a full hot breakfast buffet seven days a week and a full dinner including an entree, sides, salad bar, beer, wine, and soda on Monday-Thursday evenings. All of our food is prepared right here at the hotel and, as a matter of fact, we have won several awards for our food and beverage! The last thing is the lack of storage or closet space. A very little known "secret" is that we have twelve private storage closets throughout the hotel. They are all complimentary and are on a "first come, first serve" basis. Simply ask the front desk staff (if you can find them) ;) and they will do their best to find you a closet as close to your suite as possible that you can have during your stay. Once more, thank you for your honesty and thank you so much for your business. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The property was well designed and maintained and the staff was warm and helpful. Great location just off the highway and close to the hotel. I used the fitness facility and it had just what I needed - basic but enabled me to stay with my routine. The best surprise was the complimentary breakfast. Many of these self-serve breakfasts are not well maintained and offer the same things. The staff at the Homewood were always visible and ensuring that all food was stocked and surfaces cleaned. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the pro of being close to the highway leads to the con of hearing highway noise. If you can't sleep through that noise, I highly suggest you request a room at the front of the hotel. I will certainly come back to this property whenever I am in the Albany area.

Room Tip: Again - request a room in the front of the hotel if highway noise prevents you from getting a good n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for a nice review. It is really too bad that we couldn't get the 5-Star review, but it gives us something to shoot for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From our initial contact (a phone call from the interstate) we were welcomed and made to feel at home.
The lobby is lovely and gracious. We enjoyed sitting there by the fireplace with a cup of tea.
Be sure to specify if you want a full bath rather than a shower bath. They are equally nice but I am a fan of a nice soak after a long drive. The desk clerk asked our preferences and gave us a first floor suite facing a courtyard. The suite was spotless and fresh.
Next morning, we overslept and nearly missed the breakfast, which would have been a great loss. The staff were as kind as could be, bringing scrambled eggs, english muffins and other delicious foods for our enjoyment. It couldn't have been better, or more appreciated.
We recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
This is an outstanding review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. I would like to comment on your recommendation of a room with a bath tub versus one with just a shower. Our Studio Suites are the ones that have just a walk-in shower, while our one-bedroom suites offer the tub with shower. There are other differences in the two, as well. Studio Suites have desks and 37" TV's and one-bedroom suites do not have the desks and have 32" TV's; one each in the bedroom and living room. If you have any other questions, we are available 'round the clock to answer them for you! Hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Staying here over a month has been a good experience. The dinners Monday - Thursday are good as a whole and 7 day a week breakfast offers a nice variety of items. Highly recommend this for long or short stays.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAlbany, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you! Your review is a great one and is greatly appreciated. We love having you here with us and couldn't be happier that you are enjoying your stay so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany

Address: 216 Wolf Rd., Albany, NY 12205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Albany
#1 Business Hotel in Albany
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany is an all suite hotel that caters to the guest staying 5 or more consecutive nights but is absolutely perfect for the traveler that only needs a night or two. All suites include a kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, twin burner stove top, dishwasher, garbage disposal, and all pots, pans, dishes, glasses, and utensils. Our rate includes a full hot breakfast buffet, seven days a week, and a dinner buffet including salad bar and beer, wine, and soda Monday through Thursday evenings. We have a beautiful heated indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor basketball court, a newly remodeled 24-hour fitness center, BBQ gas grills, complimentary washers and dryers, and a well-stocked 24-hour suite shop (convenience store). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Albany Hotel Albany
Homewood Suites Albany
Homewood Albany
Albany Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.