We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points!
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Albany
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheektowaga, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In the heart of Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice hotel in the heart of downtown. Within walking distance to the captial and other gov't buildings. Also within walking distance to many eating establishments and bars. The staff were friendly and the room was very clean, except the bathroom. There were numerous dark hairs all over. Maybe the maids should wear hair nets. Bed was comfy and had nice linens. Always a plus! The bar in the hotel had a nice atmosphere and the bartenders were spot on. Breakfast has both hot and cold items to choose from. And plenty of hot coffee and hot water for the tea drinkers. Parking is available ($12.50 overnight) in an open lot with attendants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Kathy987,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and found our location to be very convenient to you. I am especially thrilled to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am, however, very sorry to read about the bathroom- that is completely inexcusable and I greatly apologize for it. I hope you give us a second chance again soon!

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a review- we truly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    166
    47
    23
    8
See reviews for
91
107
30
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Be careful not to forget any of your belongings in the room when you check out. Once you've left, they will not help you. I called more than once that same day and was promised that the problem would be looked into and someone would get back to me, whether or not the item was found. No one ever called me back. I'm an HHonors member, too, but that made no difference. Hilton/Hampton, treating your customers this way isn't good for business, and I'm very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear ptodom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and our staff. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service to each and every guest. I am sorry that we failed to deliver this to you during your stay with us. It is our policy that all items left in rooms are brought down to the front desk so that we can contact the guest. We unfortunately did not locate your item, but that does not excuse us from not following through with a call to formally let you know that it was not located.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton branded properties and we do hope to have the opportunity to deliver you with the exceptional service that we are known for.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to Albany for a concert at the times union center. This hotel was perfect for that! You can see pearl at from the entrance of the hotel. A clean and safe, restaurant-filled, 7/8 min walk, even at night, to the venue. It's a straight shot. We would come to Albany again for a concert and stay at this hotel bc of it's location. It is also a newer hotel. Very clean, beautiful tile shower and comfy bed. We vacation a lot and have been in many hotels and this one is one of the better ones!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Mandi2310,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad you were able to come visit us while you went to the concert. I am glad that you enjoyed everything and found our location to be the perfect one for you! I am thrilled that you found the rooms to your liking and you found it very comfortable; that is always our goal to provide the most comfortable accomodations for each and every guest!
Thank you again for spending your weekend in Albany and staying at the Hampton Downtown Albany, please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here one night on business. Rooms were nice size with good wifi. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful in directing you where to go to eat. There are plenty of "taxis" outside ready to take you where you need to go. I say "taxi", but it's more like a shuttle as they have fixed rates and will let you know what they are after you've already arrived instead of running a meter. (Make sure you ask beforehand if you're using a credit card) Close to the true downtown area and Amtrak. Breakfast was minimal but plentiful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Spankytoes,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review us. I am glad that you enjoyed your night here and that you found the rooms to be comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful! I am also glad you were able to have breakfast while you were here, we are constantly working to revamp it and hopefully you'll enjoy it even more next time.

We hope to see you back again here soon, thank you again for staying with us- we truly appreciate have you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Before heading to Albany for two conference days I researched the reviews for the available hotels offering the government rate and was impressed with the Hampton Inn. It almost feels like a boutique hotel as you enter the lobby, with everything up-to-date and modern. The room was clean and provided the necessary amenities. It was near the elevator and I worried that I would hear noise but the room felt like it was soundproofed. The hot breakfast is included and offers choices for everyone. Who could argue with the free coffee round the clock? The only drawback is the fee for parking, but I felt secure knowing my car was in the adjacent lot. The location is good -- I was able to walk to the Empire State Plaza for the conference and it was close to the highway. This is a reliable choice if you have government business.

Green Features: I was impressed with the fact that their containers are plant-based recyclable material.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Karen,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and for writing a review for us! I am so glad that you had such a phenomenal stay and that you found everything up to your standards. We take great pride in our hotel and everything it has to offer and I'm glad that you agreed and feel the same way!

Thank you for choosing our hotel, please come back and visit us soon! We truly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the hotel to attend a concert in the city. We took advantage of an upgrade promotion and stayed in a suite. Largest room we ever stayed in. The hotel was a ten minute walk from the concert making it very convenient. There were several restaurants and bars in the area. The hotel is located downtown but was very quiet. We would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Charles,
Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad that you were able to enjoy a concert in the city and found our hotel to be a perfect location for you! I am thrilled that you had a great visit and everything was up to your standards!
Thank you again for choosing our hotel; please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

...do not be outside when the bars let out. We were on the 10th floor and were awakened by loud noise and sounds of small explosions 7/5/14. It ended up there were large crowds in the parking lot at Pearl St. As we watched police, at least 10 on foot were in the parking lot breaking up the crowds. A car came down Sheridan and an M-80 was thrown out on the sidewalk and exploded. A cruiser car came into the lot then stopped in front of hotel and were handcuffing a gentleman.
This does not take away from the quality of the hotel itself. Very friendly staff at valet and check-in. Pillows are too soft. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is decent. Elevator was loud so make sure you ask that you are not near the elevator.

Room Tip: Elevator was loud so make sure you ask that you are not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Sully423617,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review us! I am sorry to hear that your stay was so noisy and there was so much activity on the streets outside! Unfortuantely, being in a city (nonetheless the Capitol), we cannot control that as much as we'd like to! But I am glad that your experience IN the hotel was great!

Please come back and visit us again, hopefully it'll be MUCH quieter next time! Thank you for choosing the Hampton Downtown Albany, we truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.