We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Albany
GreenLeadersBronze level
Horseheads, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to Albany for a concert at the times union center. This hotel was perfect for that! You can see pearl at from the entrance of the hotel. A clean and safe, restaurant-filled, 7/8 min walk, even at night, to the venue. It's a straight shot. We would come to Albany again for a concert and stay at this hotel bc of it's location. It is also a newer hotel. Very clean, beautiful tile shower and comfy bed. We vacation a lot and have been in many hotels and this one is one of the better ones!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Mandi2310,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad you were able to come visit us while you went to the concert. I am glad that you enjoyed everything and found our location to be the perfect one for you! I am thrilled that you found the rooms to your liking and you found it very comfortable; that is always our goal to provide the most comfortable accomodations for each and every guest!
Thank you again for spending your weekend in Albany and staying at the Hampton Downtown Albany, please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    162
    46
    23
    8
See reviews for
88
106
30
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here one night on business. Rooms were nice size with good wifi. The front desk was very pleasant and helpful in directing you where to go to eat. There are plenty of "taxis" outside ready to take you where you need to go. I say "taxi", but it's more like a shuttle as they have fixed rates and will let you know what they are after you've already arrived instead of running a meter. (Make sure you ask beforehand if you're using a credit card) Close to the true downtown area and Amtrak. Breakfast was minimal but plentiful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Spankytoes,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review us. I am glad that you enjoyed your night here and that you found the rooms to be comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful! I am also glad you were able to have breakfast while you were here, we are constantly working to revamp it and hopefully you'll enjoy it even more next time.

We hope to see you back again here soon, thank you again for staying with us- we truly appreciate have you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Before heading to Albany for two conference days I researched the reviews for the available hotels offering the government rate and was impressed with the Hampton Inn. It almost feels like a boutique hotel as you enter the lobby, with everything up-to-date and modern. The room was clean and provided the necessary amenities. It was near the elevator and I worried that I would hear noise but the room felt like it was soundproofed. The hot breakfast is included and offers choices for everyone. Who could argue with the free coffee round the clock? The only drawback is the fee for parking, but I felt secure knowing my car was in the adjacent lot. The location is good -- I was able to walk to the Empire State Plaza for the conference and it was close to the highway. This is a reliable choice if you have government business.

Green Features: I was impressed with the fact that their containers are plant-based recyclable material.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Karen,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and for writing a review for us! I am so glad that you had such a phenomenal stay and that you found everything up to your standards. We take great pride in our hotel and everything it has to offer and I'm glad that you agreed and feel the same way!

Thank you for choosing our hotel, please come back and visit us soon! We truly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the hotel to attend a concert in the city. We took advantage of an upgrade promotion and stayed in a suite. Largest room we ever stayed in. The hotel was a ten minute walk from the concert making it very convenient. There were several restaurants and bars in the area. The hotel is located downtown but was very quiet. We would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Charles,
Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad that you were able to enjoy a concert in the city and found our hotel to be a perfect location for you! I am thrilled that you had a great visit and everything was up to your standards!
Thank you again for choosing our hotel; please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

...do not be outside when the bars let out. We were on the 10th floor and were awakened by loud noise and sounds of small explosions 7/5/14. It ended up there were large crowds in the parking lot at Pearl St. As we watched police, at least 10 on foot were in the parking lot breaking up the crowds. A car came down Sheridan and an M-80 was thrown out on the sidewalk and exploded. A cruiser car came into the lot then stopped in front of hotel and were handcuffing a gentleman.
This does not take away from the quality of the hotel itself. Very friendly staff at valet and check-in. Pillows are too soft. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is decent. Elevator was loud so make sure you ask that you are not near the elevator.

Room Tip: Elevator was loud so make sure you ask that you are not near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Sully423617,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review us! I am sorry to hear that your stay was so noisy and there was so much activity on the streets outside! Unfortuantely, being in a city (nonetheless the Capitol), we cannot control that as much as we'd like to! But I am glad that your experience IN the hotel was great!

Please come back and visit us again, hopefully it'll be MUCH quieter next time! Thank you for choosing the Hampton Downtown Albany, we truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Let's be honest, it's a Hampton inn, not the ritz. Expectations were tempered as such. The reception is hit or miss, best on sunday. The rooms are pretty much what you pay for, nothing more nothing less. This may lead to wonder why, why give this hotel such a good rating? The reason is plain and simple, the valet is great. They are very personable, give great insight as to where to go in the city, they will accommodate you and make sure that even if they aren't there personally, you will still be taken care of. These guys are genuine, and not just fishing for tips, they care about there jobs and I've been to this hotel for years and was always treated respectfully. One in particular, I believe his name was Omar, always stopped me when I forgot my phone in the car a number of times and made sure I had it before going up to my room. He did not linger after waiting for anything, he just did it because he cares. I travel frequently for work, and it is experiences like that, with people like that, which makes me return. It's the silver lining of this mediocre hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Marc,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you continue to come back to us and have been such a loyal customer! I am thrilled to hear about your fantastic valet experience(s). How wonderful! We also agree that they are fabulous, friendly, and genuinely good people. I am particularly impressed to hear about how wonderful Omar has been to you- I will be sure to pass along your kind words to him and his manager.

Thank you so much, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I will on occasion play tourist in our hometown and when we do we stay at the Hampton Inn. it has a good location, I usually find parking on the street and the rooms are good size and fairly updated.

There is now another Hilton up on State Street. The property itself has changed hands a number of times over the years, but for my money you are better off at this Hampton Inn.

It was also pretty busy for a Saturday in downtown Albany.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaghan W, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
TPXB,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown and taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you make the trip back to Albany and choose us as your home away from home! I am glad that everything is up to your liking and you choose us time and time again.

Thank you again for staying with us, we truly appreciate having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.