We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points!
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very very very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Front desk staff extremely polite courteous and helpful. Room was very very clean and well appointed, especially the bathroom with updated fixtures and a large stand up glass enclosed shower rather than the tired old small crappy typical hotel bathtub. The bedding was clean and seemed new. One of our beds had obviously been ruined, as if the same fat person slept in the same spot for years, it was like sleeping on a slope, thankfully we took a room with 2 beds so we were able to use the other bed instead. Microwave and refrigerator in room, very nice. We did request frig so I'm not sure if it would have been there or not had we not requested it. No extra charge.
Our 2nd day we discovered upon our return in our bathroom a spray bottle of cleaner and a filthy disgusting cleaning rag, obviously misplaced by cleaning staff. I was horrified that this rag was laid down near my personal belongings. Was obviously an oversight, but that rag was disgusting and given our clean our room remained during our entire stay, I am not sure what it was used to clean, but it had no business being in our room never mind being left behind and laid down near our personal belongings.

The valet situation we weren't told of ahead of time so we coughed up the extra $13.50 per night for that. We were assured it was a secure lot and our vehicle would be safe and looked after. BS. At first I was bummed at the rear facing room since there was a lousy view but was glad after as we had a view overlooking the parking lot and were able to see that our car lights had been left on! Went down to turn them off, no one anywhere in sight to mention it to. We could have done whatever we wanted in that lot, not a soul around. The second night our car was parked next to the door, no big deal, except that when I glanced out the window I saw a group of people leaning and sitting on my car as they were waiting for their car to be brought around. Again, went down to complain, by the time we got down from the 8th floor the group had gone off in their own car and again no valet anywhere to mention it to. There is a free public lot that is diagnonally facing the "secure" lot as well as on street metered parking and I think next time I will opt to self park for free or by meter since the "secure" part of the parking deal is obviously BS so what were we paying extra for? Coffee station was to be 24 hours but was frequently lacking, hot water and coffee were often empty. Breakfast cleanup crew was rude and pushy at 11am breakdown of breakfast area, repeatedly asking us if we were done with the plates and trash on our tables in a matter that made it clear they wanted us out of their way so they could clean up. Food was taken away as we were serving ourselves, not very nice.

We did have an issue with a crowd partying outside the elevators right next to our room, a call to the front desk and security removed them immediately so that was nice, I will remember next time to ask for a room away from the elevators.

I would consider staying here again, but will self park and ask for a room away from elevators. Overall it's a clean and lovely property.

Room Tip: rear facing on a higher floor if you want to be able to see your car in the valet lot or the public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear TERKOT,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We value all of the feedback we receive from guests. We are glad that you were pleased overall with your stay. We work hard and take cleanliness very seriously and are glad to see that it is noticed!

In regards to the parking lot, we apologize that you were not completely satisfied with the service there. Our lot is owned by another company and we do our best to work with them to ensure security and satisfaction among our guests.

We would love to welcome you back and invite you to let us know if you are not 100% satisfied during your next stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    178
    49
    24
    9
See reviews for
97
117
33
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for the second time, and it was just even better from a few years ago. First of all the staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming. Second the hotel is a four or so block walk to the main government office area and court of appeals. Third the free hot breakfast buffet in the lobby is terrific. Fourth, the bed is so comfortable and shower pressure is v good. Of note there is no room service. If you want to go for a walk after dinner, ask staff for safest area as north of the hotel as some parts of the adjacent area are deserted and not as nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear LITTLEBITFUSSY,
Thank you for staying with us again! We are very glad that you had a great stay and found the hotel to be convenient. We strive to provide amenities that will enhance your stay so hearing that you enjoyed things such as the breakfast, bed, and shower makes us feel great! Whether you come for business or leisure, we would love to welcome you back again the next time you are in Albany.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were visiting our daughter who attends a nearby university. Despite our late arrival (a little past midnight), we were greeted warmly, given great information regarding locale and breakfast and sent off to our room. Beds were very comfy (they are truly queen sized and not doubles), bathroom exeptionally clean - housekeeping is to be commended. We stayed two nights and were happy with the free wifi which let us get caught up on some work. Very convenient location - walked to a local restaurant recommended by the front desk staff (they really are terrific!) for lunch one day and were very pleased. And if you stay on a weekend, you can park on the street for free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ERANIE957,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate when our guests take the time to tell us about their stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed some of the many amenities we have to offer such as our complimentary Hot Breakfast and Wireless Internet. One of our goals is to make sure each guests feels welcome and has a wonderful stay and we are happy that you found our location ideal and our staff friendly. We certainly hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are visiting the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We arrived around midnight and was greeted by the front desk agent who was very nice. The hotel was a quick trip from the airport and is in an okay location. The only issue we had was the noise from the construction from across the street was very loud!

All in all was a nice hotel and nice staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear BIJOUS,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. One of our main priorities is to make our guests feel welcome and we are so glad that you found our staff friendly. We appreciate our guests bearing with us as improvements are made to the downtown area. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 2 boys age 3 and 13 Great hotel perfect location right on pearl st free wifi the food is good especially for free LOL I will stay here anytime I'm in albany the staff was very accommodating and pleasant to deal with i got in very late and was greated very warmly parking was a breeze A+++++

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear KEITH07002,

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on maintaining our level of customer service no matter what time the time of day, AM or PM our staff is here to help! It’s great to hear feedback from our guests about our amenities; we’re glad you had a chance to use the complimentary wireless internet and enjoyed our On the House Hot Breakfast. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

For those of you visiting Albany I would recommend the Hampton Inn Downtown. The rooms were spacious with flat screen TVs and a large channel selection and the lobby gives you a "days of yesteryear" ambience.The hotel has a good hot breakfast and there are two restaurants, one a bistro type right on premises. The staff was courteous. I wish parking was free but he $16 you have to pay is not a budget buster and is secure. The downtown location makes it convenient to take in Albany's historic sites and being the capitol on New York would be a good choice if you are on government business. All in all, I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear MARK A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel so convenient. We love that we are able to provide an On the House Hot Breakfast to our guests and are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our family stayed overnight for a recent event at the Egg. Our room was very clean and ready upon arrival. I was happy to see that my extra requests were also completely filled upon entering the room. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lobby set up that allowed for multi-use of complimentary breakfast in the morning and relaxation in the evening with local free newspapers. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, except for two things....the $12.50 valet parking which didn't seem necessary at all. The back lot is definitely accessible and easy enough to self-park. And, generally most Hampton Inns have complimentary hot water for tea and cocoa as well as hot coffee available most hours of the day/night..which I would have loved to enjoy after returning from the performance at the Egg late that night as well as in the afternoon when we first arrived at the hotel. On a personal level, I would not recommend walking from this hotel to the Egg. Although the distance was about a 10-15 minute walk, the area around the Egg was somewhat less desirable at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear RoamWorld (Saco),

Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you found all of your requests were completed upon check in, exceeding our guest’s expectations is what we strive for! We love our lobby and are glad that you found it comfortable and convenient to enjoy your breakfast in the morning and relax in the evening. We are very sorry if there was any confusion about our complimentary coffee station, we do offer one 24/7, however it is moved to a different counter in our lobby during the evening hours. We certainly hope you enjoyed your show at the Egg and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.