We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel...parking was confusing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points!
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel...parking was confusing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We arrived around midnight and was greeted by the front desk agent who was very nice. The hotel was a quick trip from the airport and is in an okay location. The only issue we had was the noise from the construction from across the street was very loud!

All in all was a nice hotel and nice staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear BIJOUS,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. One of our main priorities is to make our guests feel welcome and we are so glad that you found our staff friendly. We appreciate our guests bearing with us as improvements are made to the downtown area. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    189
    56
    29
    12
See reviews for
111
126
35
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 2 boys age 3 and 13 Great hotel perfect location right on pearl st free wifi the food is good especially for free LOL I will stay here anytime I'm in albany the staff was very accommodating and pleasant to deal with i got in very late and was greated very warmly parking was a breeze A+++++

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear KEITH07002,

Thank you for the review. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on maintaining our level of customer service no matter what time the time of day, AM or PM our staff is here to help! It’s great to hear feedback from our guests about our amenities; we’re glad you had a chance to use the complimentary wireless internet and enjoyed our On the House Hot Breakfast. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

For those of you visiting Albany I would recommend the Hampton Inn Downtown. The rooms were spacious with flat screen TVs and a large channel selection and the lobby gives you a "days of yesteryear" ambience.The hotel has a good hot breakfast and there are two restaurants, one a bistro type right on premises. The staff was courteous. I wish parking was free but he $16 you have to pay is not a budget buster and is secure. The downtown location makes it convenient to take in Albany's historic sites and being the capitol on New York would be a good choice if you are on government business. All in all, I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear MARK A,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel so convenient. We love that we are able to provide an On the House Hot Breakfast to our guests and are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our family stayed overnight for a recent event at the Egg. Our room was very clean and ready upon arrival. I was happy to see that my extra requests were also completely filled upon entering the room. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lobby set up that allowed for multi-use of complimentary breakfast in the morning and relaxation in the evening with local free newspapers. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, except for two things....the $12.50 valet parking which didn't seem necessary at all. The back lot is definitely accessible and easy enough to self-park. And, generally most Hampton Inns have complimentary hot water for tea and cocoa as well as hot coffee available most hours of the day/night..which I would have loved to enjoy after returning from the performance at the Egg late that night as well as in the afternoon when we first arrived at the hotel. On a personal level, I would not recommend walking from this hotel to the Egg. Although the distance was about a 10-15 minute walk, the area around the Egg was somewhat less desirable at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear RoamWorld (Saco),

Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you found all of your requests were completed upon check in, exceeding our guest’s expectations is what we strive for! We love our lobby and are glad that you found it comfortable and convenient to enjoy your breakfast in the morning and relax in the evening. We are very sorry if there was any confusion about our complimentary coffee station, we do offer one 24/7, however it is moved to a different counter in our lobby during the evening hours. We certainly hope you enjoyed your show at the Egg and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose this as hotel due to the ideal location near Times Union Center. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Friendly front desk staff, check-in was seamless. Nice choices for breakfast offered. Walking distance to many different places in downtown Albany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear SUGARPEE,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our location so convenient. Guest satisfaction and cleanliness are of the utmost importance to us so we’re glad that those were two of the best parts of your stay. There are always great events happening in Albany so we would love to have you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just had 2 weeks there, excellent location for us , great room friendly service, well worth a try and expect to stay there again in the future. Friendlly staff and ideal for us.Good brakfast and or pack lunch bag offered monday to friday. Coffee on tap daily downstairs.

Room Tip: Front of building On second floor fine for is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear JohnGEssex,

Thank you so much for the great comments! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you hope to come back again. Our staff strives to provide the best service possible to our guests, especially those who stay with us for an extended period of time. We certainly look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurant in lobby. In the heart of downtown Albany. Breakfast very good, comfortable breakfast area. Only complaint is that parking is valet and costs $12.50. Lot seems large enough to self park, but it is valet only. Approximately 5 minutes to Capitol building and Empire Statre Plaza by car. Within walking distance to those areas if ambitious.

Room Tip: There is a "Women's Floor" that based on availability can be requested when booking or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
SINYTraveler,

Thank you for your review. We love to hear that our guests are finding our hotel clean and comfortable, we take pride in making sure you have a great experience! I’m sorry that you were not completely satisfied by the parking available in our lot. The lot is owned and managed by a separate company, however we value your feedback and appreciate your comments on things that make your stay less than perfect. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel Street, Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#9 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.