We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining at it's best!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scrimshaw

Scrimshaw
660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211
(518) 869-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scrimshaw is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 598 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Executive Chef Michael St. John and his culinary team present an innovative menu of New American cuisine, featuring creative seafood dishes alongside traditional Scrimshaw favorites. Scrimshaw is the proud recipient of the Achievement of Excellence award from The American Culinary Federation in the category of Fine Dining, and has been honored with the AAA Four Diamond Award for the last five consecutive years.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful service... Creative and fabulous menu everytime we go!!! If you are in the Albany area you have to go to this hidden gem! Get the tableside ceasar salad!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobleskill, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Dinning Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The quality of the food and the service were excellent. The piano player was elegant and incredible. The prices were quite high, but isn't everthing?

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutchogue, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A quiet romantic place away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I liked the small intimate personal feeling I experienced. No hustle and bustle. Competent wait staff, delicious well - seasoned food with freshness and delightful plate arrangements. Expensive enough to be that special restaurant for a special occasion.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a romantic evening out. The evening was fine... the food not that good. Apps: clams casino and gravlox. Clams were very chewy and the bacon under cooked. Lox tasted good; however it was more like smoked salmon. Osso buco about 3 on a scasle of 10. Salmon was fine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at Scrimshaw, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your visit to Scrimshaw. I am disappointed to read that
you did not enjoy your dinner with us, and apologize for your meal. We
endeavor to offer the very best dining experience, and will review your
comments with our culinary team. Your comments are appreciated, as all
feedback, especially constructive, is taken with the intention of
improving what we do. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A push”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Service was ok....meal was very good when corrected. Ordered the prime rib and what came looked like a 1/4 inch cowboy steak with two small ends of edible meat. Not even shaped like a rib. Both waitress and another mgr looked at it, looked put out and said if you;re not happy we can take it back. My feeling was they should have recognized right away that this was not what should have been served. Finally another waitress Pat came by...took one look at it and took my plate away immediately...no questions asked. When she brought back a true prime rib she apologized and made it right without causing a scene. My hat's off to her. A great Customer Service job and she saved the evening for us AND her restaurant from a poor review.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesmondAlbanyGM, General Manager at Scrimshaw, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for visiting Scrimshaw and for taking the time to recognize our Server. We are sorry that you were served a meal that was disappointing, and pleased that it was corrected. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scrimshaw also viewed

 

Been to Scrimshaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scrimshaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.