We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Pump Station/CH Evans Brewing Co.

Albany Pump Station/CH Evans Brewing Co.
19 Quackenbush Sq, Albany, NY 12207
518 447 9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 609 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: C. H. Evans Brewing Company at the Albany Pump Station, Albany’s premier location for food and hand crafted beer. With up to 10 in-house brews to choose from, The Pump Station is sure to have something for every beer lover.
Brunswick, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Consistently serves excellent brew and food as well...my favorite is the Kick [--] Brown Ale. Nice and hoppy. The burgers here never dissappoint either.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    155
    70
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fancyish Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I came here for a weekday lunch with a group. A few people ordered the lobster & shrimp macaroni & cheese, and had been talking about it as their favorite dish beforehand. A couple of people ordered some kind of salad with crusted chicken on it, and they liked their meal choice.

I ordered the veggie burger with fries, and enjoyed it. It's a little on the mashy side, which is typical for handmade veggie burgers, and is fine by me. It had good flavor, with a touch of zest to it. The burger came with good "pub fries" as well.

The place has good atmosphere; it's not your typical bar, with bar food. It's well-lit and airy, and is appealing to all kinds. While there, I noticed a good, diverse dynamic. I'm in my mid-thirties, and people of all ages were there; I wouldn't have expected it, but behind our table was a big table seating a group of seniors. This is why I'd refer to it as fancyish pub food. It's like a fancier version of what you might find in a typical bar, not only in menu selection, but also in quality. If you'd call it bar food, you'd call it GOOD bar food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Venue, Solid Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is a cool set up with a great selection of beer. The place was packed when I went for a later dinner on a Tuesday night.

I sat at the bar and was served promptly. I just wanted to decompress after a long day and am glad I came here. The bartender was attentive and made good suggestions. My burger was well made and was better than expected. The homemade chips were tasty!

The beers are really good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
503 reviews 503 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
1,012 helpful votes 1,012 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were in town on a business trip in April. Our host recommended Evans Pumpstation. He was spot on. The pump station provides a unique and casual atmosphere within which to dine and partake of their local beverages. The dark ale is good. Their salads were good as well. It is a busy spot so come prepared for a wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Busy place, pretty good food, the beer was a little underwhelming...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very hip happening spot! The host was rather snooty when we arrived (at 7:00 p.m. On a Tuesday) without a reservation. After a 15 minute wait, we were seated. We tried all the beers, with a sampler, and they were all a bit one note, almost flat. Decided on a cider, it was pretty good. My husband enjoyed the strong ale. Our table tried an appetizer sampler, the onion rings were really good with a chipotle dipping sauce. Everything else on that plate was meh. We had the ravioli, a grilled pork chop, pulled pork sandwich, lobster and shrimp Mac and Cheese (penne) and bacon stuffed bar-be-que sauce dotted baked shrimp. The food was good. The service was, well the server apologized a lot, it was okay. She was very nice, but, We did a fair amount of waiting. The decor and atmosphere were totally cool, so it was all fine in the end.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Pump Station/CH Evans Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Albany Pump Station/CH Evans Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Pump Station/CH Evans Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.