We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Restaurant

Barcelona Restaurant
1192 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
(518) 438-1144
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 598 Restaurants in Albany
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went to Barcelona on a Wednesday evening with some business associates. We had a reservation and were seated right away. The server was very good and always on top of things. I ordered the tilapia Perez, it had a creamy lobster sauce and small lobster tail on top and was served with rice and vegetables. It was delicious. The portions for everyone were huge and most of us did not finish them after salad and bread. My husband had the eggplant Parmesan which he liked but he felt his sauce was better. (he's Italian). The restaurant is dark but can get noisy because it is small. Overall, we had a delightful meal and I would recommend this to friends. Not much parking outside however so on a crowded night, you would have to park elsewhere. We got the last spot and it was Wednesday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Certainly not worth being in the top 20 in Albany, NY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Overall, the food is just so -so. Their chicken paella was not good. It included ugly chunks of chicken with little pieces of chorizo sausage and the saffron rice had no flavor. It was just a bright, ugly orange. Another chicken dish is served with spinach and red peppers over linguine, but the sauce was a thick glue. Finally, the penne with red peppers and portabello mushrooms with a gorgonzola sauce, had way too much sauce poured over it, and the presentation of the dish was weird and not attractive. I didn't know you could make portabello mushrooms look bad. They were served in jagged strips, on top of everything. They tasted good, but I thought you always eat with the eye. We probably won't go back. We threw out the leftovers. The service was wonderful and the rooms very pleasant. A very nice bar area as well. We really wanted to like this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Food And Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our monthly trip out to a local area restaurant with friends Mike & Tracey. It was their pick and a good one. Pre dinner drink at the bar was fun with their Bartendress. Dinner was fabulous with appetizers and drinks. Our server did an excellent job and everyones meal was rated highly. We will definitely make a return trip to this fine restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always amazing -- definitely #1 fave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Barcelona never, ever disappoints. The service is always friendly and the food is consistently delicious. It has been the go-to place for us when it comes to celebrating something special -- anniversaries and birthdays, especially.

I always suggest Barcelona to friends/anyone who is looking for a restaurant they are taking their parents/a date to. The atmosphere is warm, inviting and romantic.

Best seafood alfredo and their specials are always top notch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Ga
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very tasty tapas plus good regular entrees.

We mixed a couple of tapas items (clams, stuffed peppers) with a rice and beans entree. The food was great. Will go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barcelona Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.