We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
1901 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-4204
(518) 862-1520
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 591 restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having been to Ponderosa in Florida before, I was keen to try a buffet style place that would allow us to eat what we wanted and to fill up on a long journey. We even managed to pop in just before 16:00 so we only paid $8 each for the food.

Given the price, the food was great and the steak was good enough to have second helpings. My wife wasn't too impressed with the pie - but we made up for it on stocking up on ice cream and fresh fruit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    3
    6
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FILLING & LOTS OF CHOICES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After a well fought WIN, the team wanted to go somewhere to end the evening, that was cost effective since all the boys had limited funds. We chose The Golden Corral, and they were more than accommodating. We called ahead to let them know, and upon our arrival, they quickly set an area up for the team and the families. It was great!! Although, i don't know if much food was left after they finished. :-)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Have to be carefull not to over indulge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Massive amounts of very good food. About anything you could want. Many choices for main dishes, extensive salad bar and desert bar. Specials every night (included).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great choices - they have everything in this self service restaurant; steak, fish, salad, pasta, pizza, in fact you name it, I bet they have it. It's all you can eat for a set price of just over $11 (Oct 2012) and boy is it worth the money. The food is really good quality considering its a self serve buffet.

The only downside is that the place can get very crowded and is a bit like a school cafeteria. But hey, what do you expect when you're paying such a small amount to stuff yourself until you burst.

At least give it a try, I bet you'll go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“All you can eat scares me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food is basic and could lead to eating too much. That requires self control. If you eat at one of these places you know them all. Fast, pushy, confusing, not for the quite meal with family and friends. A feeding frenzy and some real sites to see. Almost like a trip to Walmart when you see the parade of people.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.