We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiro's continues to please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiro's Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hiro's Japanese Restaurant
1933 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12845
518-456-1180
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 552 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Hiro's continues to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We had a delicious full dinner of Hiro's special sukiyaki, cooked at the table side. Hiro's never disappoints in its great, authentic tasting food. Luckily we had made reservations since the place was busy. The appetizer, soup, entree and ice cream dessert were all excellent. It's not a super modern building, which to my experience means mediocre franchise food. But Hiro's is clean, well-maintained, and has it's own special ambience.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

There sushi is amazing, the best in Albany area. Best Spicy Tuna and Philly Roll ever. Also the nigiri comes is large pieces. HIRO's is the only place I want hibachi. Just there sauces alone make me not want hibachi any where else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the Courses!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A lot of the reviews I read before going to Hiro's said that it's "not much to look at, but. . ." and I tend to agree. It looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70s. And for a long time, we were the only patrons in the whole restaurant. Strange for a Saturday "date" night. This was the third time we'd been to a hibachi table (Koto and Hana as the priors). I thought our server was very nice, but not as entertaining as other hibachi houses and there was no sake served (disappointing to say the least). The food was very tasty (although I thought my lobster was a little chewy and overcooked) and we really enjoyed the different courses served: clear soup to begin with; agemono (small piece of chicken but mostly onion encrusted on a stick); fresh, already-dressed salad that reminded me a bit of coleslaw, but instead of creamy dressing, it was clear and I loved the taste. Then came our actual hibachi dinner. DH and I got the same meal of steak and lobster, one companion got chicken and shrimp and the 4th diner got steak and shrimp. Other than the tough lobster on my plate, everyone else was very happy with the taste of their food. We will probably go back as it's pretty easy to get in on a Saturday night and you can be seated without the whole party being present.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have to admit, when we pulled into the parking lot I got a little worried...it's not the best looking building from the outside, and this part of town seems a bit past it's prime...maybe more than a bit. But, after we got inside I was really glad we'd come. We sat down and were immediately treated to warm hand towels...drinks...and then the calmest, tastiest, most generous hibachi dinners we've had to date. The meals started with a delicious consomme (that even the kids gobbled up), then salad, a chicken-onion appetizer, and then the chef appeared to prepare the food. Unlike most hibachi places we've been, he wasn't a robot following a canned presentation. He was engaging with the kids and adults alike, was sincere and attentive, and seemed to cook extra amounts of everything. Everyone had fun and left with full tummies. It was a great experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can't remember when I first discovered this little bit of Japan in the heart of the Capital Region but it had to be at least 35 years ago when I drove by and the idea of 'Japanese Cooking at Your Table' caught my curiosity. So I told a buddy of mine and we decided to check the place
out! We were so awestruck that not to long afterwards I returned with my wife-to-be and a year
or two later arranged to have my wedding rehearsal dinner there! A reservation is a good idea
and a must for Friday, Saturday, or Sunday, and be sure to specify a 'cooking table' or 'hibachi'
when you make it. And see if you can arrange to get Mori as your chef! The show is spectacular and the quality of the food second to none! Suonomo and Mushroom Teriyaki
are excellent. For variety order different entrees and mention you wish to share...shrimp, scallops, steak, chicken. Beware that Plum Wine is potent...it has a wonderful sweet taste
so you're unaware of the punch it packs! We've been back a number of times, probably most recently for an anniversary celebration with some very close and special friends taking up an
entire hibachi! While the place doesn't look that impressive from the outside once you come
in it is very intimate and inviting. I've been to some other Japanese restaurants and the only one that can hold a candle to Hiro's is the Gasho down in Central Valley near Harriman.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiro's Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hiro's Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiro's Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.