We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnsider Restaurant

The Barnsider Restaurant
480 Sand Creek Rd, Albany, NY 12205
(518) 869-2448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 552 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good seafood !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were a large group and we all served on a timely basis. I had a grilled swordfish which I had for the first time. I really enjoyed the fish as it was cooked just right. Salad bar had a good selection and all was fresh and tasty. Really enjoyed the cheese there as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    60
    41
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loud, loud, loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I don't know if all the restaurants are extremely noisy but this is the second one I've tried and you had a hard time talking to the person across the small table. To add to the so so rating was the fact that their "signature" prime rib was cold and the vegetables were over cooked and tasteless. Try some place else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had dinner in the tavern area. We ordered our usual for dinner. I had the baked haddock and my husband had the hawkeye grill. The fish entree
is topped with browned breadcrumbs. This time it was loaded with breadcrumbs, a few too many for me! Underneath the breading my fish was undercooked (translucent) and lukewarm but was in a scolding hot casserole dish. This would have been fine if the fish was cooked thru and warm. My husband's entree wasn't up to par either. The beef was tough and chewy. An overall disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Steak Best Salad Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The place is a little pricey but worth it. BEST salad bar in the area, its not big, and only has vegetables for a salad and has cheese and bread, but everything is so FRESH.
Steaks are very good and cooked the way you ask, reservations are required on weekends or you might wait for an hr or so but worth the wait,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“OK but I was disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

From the reviews I expected better. I chose it because I was staying on Wolf road and had been driving for two days, it was close to my hotel. The salad bar was good and they have hot whole grain bread as well. I ordered the lobster casserole with tenderloin filets. The steak was good but for 28 day aging not spectacular. The lobster was over cooked, tough and chewy Not worth the $30+ price..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnsider Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Barnsider Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnsider Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.