We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our experience - and it is a real experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of From The Garden

From The Garden
227 Lark St, Albany, NY 12210
+(1)518-427-3881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 591 restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: American, French, International
Restaurant details
Slingerlands, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved our experience - and it is a real experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to From the Garden using a living social deal. Alan was a wonderful host! This is a real experience - much more than a meal.
Tell Alan what you like in a wine and he will pair the perfect one to go with what they are serving.
There is no menu. Everyone is served the same items - after checking on food allergies.
Every menu has a theme - ours was Sweeny Todd.
Warm red beet soup to start - you get the idea.
Every course was served with an additional wine sample.
Dessert was wonderful - can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slingerlands, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were at From the Garden this past Friday 10-18-13 via Groupon. We did not have reservations and even though the evening was booked they found room to fit us in. All courses were awesome and as each course was served it was explained of where the product came from locally. The restaurant is small and quaint which makes the dining experience even more special. The service, atmosphere, and food were awesome. This is a must try - but you have to be one who likes trying a common food with a twist. We will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great experience for any foodie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I appreciate great food and great wine. We picked up a groupon for From the Garden and I believe it is the best investment we ever have made in a groupon. From the Garden is run by a husband and wife who are very knowledgeable about both food and drink. The experience you get here is invaluable, this is not like any other dining experience you've ever had.
Firstly, there is no menu, you are served what is fresh and tastes great. Secondly, the expert sommeliers (both husband and wife have owned a wine store and are qualified sommeliers) pick wines to fit your palette (you tell them what you like, they bring you an excellent beverage). Your dinner is also paired with 3 wine samples that match very well.
We were blown away by the quality of food and wine here as well as the service and overall experience. This is not a restaurant we would have expected in Albany, NY. This is a restaurant experience we would have expected in New York City or Philadelphia. We will be dining here again, in fact, we already made reservations for dinner again before we left tonight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, quality artisinal food with flare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I are from Toronto, Ontario, Canada, and always drive to Provincetown yearly, stopping along the way, enjoying the journey! Well, enjoy we did when we found From the Garden! We had read about it on gaycities.com and it got rave reviews. After walking Lark Street and being unimpressed by the culinary offerings, we came back to From the Garden, and were just thrilled that we did! Fresh from the Garden changes its menu weekly, is open on Thursday, Friday and Saturday for dinner, with wine classes and food included on Wednesdays. We couldn't decide on the 2 courses for $20, or the full five course deal for $40. Allen (sp?), one of the owners (a lovely husband and wife team), suggested a "tasting" with something from all five courses. We gleefully accepted that as a choice, and were we in for a treat! We started with a creamy, super fresh, picked-that-day eggplant soup with basil and red peppers, then had a deconstructed salad with fresh greens, homemade mustard-based dressing, and a white bean salad (the name of the bean escapes me now). Both were super and we enjoyed Allen telling us where all the food came from, as well as the wine choices he offered us. He and his wife Kay are quite the sommeliers! The mini Belgian waffles (gluten free! - thanks Kay!) with two chutneys - peach and a hotter, more savoury one, with Kay's special roasted garlic paste tucked under a basil leaf, were to die for! We then had a main of Acapulcan chicken on a light, but complex jasmine rice, served with coins of sautéed zucchini, and for dessert the wonderful tomato and basil sorbet was a delight like none other! Allen also offered us a wine tasting of a very rare wine from Italy called "Madonna Como - Dolcetto d'Alba", which was a lovely wine that was for a European palate and was a refreshing change from the heavily oaked and otherwise altered wines so many North American palates are used to.

Allen and Kay regaled us with stories of how they came to be in this business, their stories of travel to Toronto to play traditional Indian music in the homes of prominent Torontonian families, and much more, right down to their adorable service dog, Dolce, who they brought out at the end of the meal with our permission. We love dogs, and have our own Mini Schnauzer, so it was nice to pet Dolce and chat with our hosts after a delicious feast!

The portions turned out to be perfect for us, since we were hungry, but didn't want huge portions that left you feeling stuffed. Allen was smart to suggest the tasting, which cost us $30.

In a society where so many people stuff their faces to excess, gobble their food instead of savour it, and have a limited palate, it was a real oasis at From the Garden, because we are epicurians who appreciate fresh, quality ingredients, care and artfulness of presentation, and innovation, all criteria which From the Garden passed with flying colours!!

So we will be back here next year on our way to Provincetown. Thank you Allen and Kay, for offering quality fare and a superlative, relaxed dining experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent an Amazing weekend in Albany due to the eve of my friends wedding anniversary. She ofter talked with me about this place over phone so this time I was in her city and can't miss the chance to visit this place.

It was Friday and the place was kind of crowded but the environment was really friendly. We quickly took a table and within a couple of min one staff came to take order. I heard a lot about their wine so I decided to give a try. When I saw their menu I was surprised to see the variety of items. All went really well and the price was really affordable.
Loved this place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From The Garden also viewed

 

Been to From The Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage From The Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.