We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Calabria

Cafe Calabria
1736 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
(518) 456-5665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 552 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Don't let the 'deli atmosphere' fool you...the food here is way more varied and the dinner entrees delicious! Lunch sandwiches are really great, too. I had veal and peppers that melted in my mouth. My husband had the seafood special and almost licked his plate! Our waitress was efficient, friendly, and helpful. While the atmosphere is not the most elegant or romantic, the food will certainly bring me back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The cafe is perfect. The menu ranges from large sandwiches at lunch to superb large Italian dishes at night. Also, fish and steaks. The wine list is fantastic and reasonable for many. The service was great , the place is very quaint- I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Albany (NY)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went there with my family back in December 2013, I liked them on Facebook but am new to the whole TripAdvisor thing but needed to express the excellence of a restaurant I have been to roughly three months ago. I have been to numerous restaurants after Café Calabria here in Albany and out of state and although some have been good nothing compares to this place. From the Calamari for an appetizer, to the salads, to the Frutti Di Mare, to their special back in December which was an Alfredo sauce with Sambuca, to the desserts....everything was excellent. It was such an excellent experience I still savor it and will be going there again soon. EXCELLENT SERVICE as well. Clean and spotless. The best Italian restaurant in Albany is Café Calabria, THE BEST RESTAURANT IN THE ALBANY AREA IS CAFE CALABRIA.....DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME GOING ELSEWHERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Frutti Di Mare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I asked our waitress about the frutti di mare. She told us that the sauce was to die for. It was. We both ordered it, the assortment of clams, giant mussels, shrimp and sea scallops was just perfect. It came over linguine. I would definitely go back to Cafe Calabria and order the same dish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good southern Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Italian red sauce was very good. This restaurant is a little pricier than some other Italian restaurants for lunch & you don't get a salad. Their eggplant parm was $13; Tesoro & Treviso both offer it for lunch for under $10. Nevertheless, the food was very tasty. There are 2 side rooms for diners and, in the center area, a deli with Boar's Head cold cuts, etc.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Calabria also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Calabria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Calabria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.