We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice digs, but with attitude.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Albany to your Saves list
Hilton Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Lodge Street, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Hotel Albany)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Waldorf
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice digs, but with attitude.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

WOW! After 12 days traveling around Canada in interacting with Canadians we went through culture shock here. True New Yorkers...with attitude! Not very pleasant or helpful. Desk clerk # 1 sent me to there website vs. helping me at the front desk to solve a Hilton Honors problem...Clerk #2 (an hour later) helped me fix it at the front desk (I couldn't get online!). When asked about restaurants, the bell hops were very hard to get info out of. I had to ask twice for a list of local restaurants and a map. One "hop" told me..."...they are all in my head!" I have had family in NYC and was familiar with the NY mindset - Haven't seen it in years (haven't been back!) but it is alive and well...even in Albany!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Fran F,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel. I do apologize for some of the encounters you had with members of our staff. I can assure you that some are the exception and not the norm. We strive to instill, communicate and train hospitality and professionalism in our entire staff.

Feel free to reach out to me the next time you are staying in Albany. I am sure you will enjoy your stay.

Warm regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    140
    83
    44
    23
See reviews for
70
51
21
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Hilton Albany is a really nice newly renovated hotel in the heart of Downtown. Great alternative to the high rise hotels in the area. The hotel is primarily composed of 360+ rooms with a large banquet space. It is very low key and quiet for relaxing by the pool. No crowds or noise . The rooms are very spacious and well appointed with high end furnishings. Best of all there Audio Visual department (Matt) saved the day by supplying us with a special adapter for our projector.Matt greeted us with a smile and fixed our problem fast and without delay. Top notch service!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Mario D,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read how we exceeded your expectations in all areas of service and facilities. I was extremely happy and thank you for recognizing Matt in our AV department. Matt and his AV team are the most professional in downtown Albany. I will pass along your praise and assure you that we will recognize him for his efforts.

Thank you again.

Yours in Service
John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

The Hilton in Albany is in a very convenient location in the heart of old Albany. The hotel has been renovated and updated for the most part and is pleasant and open. Breakfast buffet was the normal with made to order omelettes. The odd thing in the room that I was in was that the very small bathroom had been completely updated, and very modern, high end fixtures every, EXCEPT the bath tub was old, discolored, and generally grubby looking. So very modern fixtures and a 30 to 40 year old bath tub.....ODD!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay , as well as the amenities of the hotel. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations in service during your stay. We are refininshing our tubs by fllor of the hotel and unfortunately this project is ongoing. Here is a tip the next time you make a reservation. When you return this year ask for a higher floor as we have refinished many of our tubs already.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Albany.

Sincerely,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The extensive renovations have really paid off. Very comfortable beds, spacious rooms in relaxing colors.nice pool, albeit a little cool. Many different sizes of conference rooms. Helpful desk, nice restaurant with very competent waitstaff. Looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear canter2u,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that our renovations have really made a positive impact on your stay and your intent to return. I was even more pleased to read how our staff in all areas of the hotel made a positive impression with their hospitality and knowledge.

We look forwrd to your return.

Yours in Service,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

As a Business traveler, I was placed on the higher floor with privileges to the Executive Lounge ....Amazing sleeping room with beautiful living area, amazing stay and all the comforts that you could ask for as a business traveler!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Steven P,

Thank you for your recent Five Star review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. I was happy to see that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Hilton HHonors Executive Floors. I hope that you had the chance to enjoy our Executive Lounge as well.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when you travel south out of the North Country.

Cheers !!

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed over-night while attending a relative's wedding reception. The hotel is adjacent to NY Routes 87 and 787 that afford easy access via auto. It is a 15-story, imposing building in Albany's Capitol Hill area. Our arrival pinpointed the only negative about the hotel: limited temporary parking at the hotel's entrance that requires unloading baggage, and then driving your car to the immediately adjacent elevator parking garage ($12.95 daily-no valet service).
However, that step aside, the hotel has a cool, modern open plan arrangement as you enter, with reception, bar, rest areas and restaurant. It was crowded and noisy on the Saturday afternoon we were there because of the confluence of several other weddings and meetings that were being held locally.
There are four elevators serving the hotel rooms, which, depending upon the customers, may entails a short wait for service .
The rooms and bathrooms are neat and clean and have been updated. Pillows and sheets are soft and beds comfortable. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and pets are not allowed.
Each room has an LCD TV with HBO, refrigerator, Wi-Fi, temperature and fan controller.
Hotel employees were gracious, helpful and friendly. We did not utilize and of the other facilities.
We opted for eating breakfast in the large restaurant. They have a selection of buffet or menu ordering. My wife an I opted for the menu and the cost for a basic egg/omelet with toast and orange juice was about $27.00 (w/o tip).
Generally we would recommend this hotel, based on its many pros and few cons. Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: This a 15-story hotel. Get up high and away from elevator doors and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear HandsomeDog,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor . I was happy to read about your stay and experience at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed all of your in room amenities , as well as our Charter Restauran for Breakfast. Your observation of how the Hilton Albany has become the true weekend destination for many wedding parties in downtown Albany is spot on. We were glad that you chose to stay with us.

All the Best !!

Sincerely,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We usually stay at Hilton's or Marriott's. This was the first time at this hotel. Definitely not family friendly. You have to park in a parking garage and the parking garage is not connected to the hotel. Extremely difficult to bring all of your bags in one trip. There were none of the usual amenities and all things in the hotel were super expensive. I suppose if someone is traveling for business it would be fine. The rooms were small and the bathroom was dirty and the shower was extremely small. The bathroom was very small in general. The great thing was the service. The cleaning lady and man that delivered our room service was great. They both went above and beyond. All hotel employees you encounter will ask if everything is going well and make sure you don't need anything. I wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear misssmiley1019,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hilton Albany. Let me start out by saying thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team and the wonderful level of service you received and should receive from our brand. Let me apologize for the condition of your bathroom. I will include my email below and you are more than welcome to email me in detail the issues you had encountered. Our parking garage does in fact connect to the hotel, however not directly into the lobby. It connects at our A Level where our Pool and Fitness Center are located.

Thank you again.

Yours in service,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
john.d'adamo@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Address: 40 Lodge Street, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.