We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not any better after renovations!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Albany to your Saves list
Hilton Albany
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Lodge Street, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Hotel Albany)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Fly!
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Rocky Point, New York, United States
1 review
“Not any better after renovations!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My expectations were a bit higher after hearing they had renovated. I had to wait two hours to get a room and as I was sitting there I watched several people get checked in. I am a Hilton Honors club member and got no recognition for it. When I finally got a room I noticed the floors were wet and room was dirty. There was black mold all around the windows. I took a picture of it and should the front desk and the only response I got was " I'll let the manager know". Would not stay here again!!

Room Tip: Room without black mold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Andrea A,

Thank you for your comments and recent review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to have read about your "not so pleasant" experience while staying at our hotel. The staff of the Hilton Albany truly takes pride in our "newly renovated" hotel, but it appears that we failed to meet your expectations. Please email me directly if you would like to discuss this further. My email address is John.D'Adamo@hilton.com

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    115
    67
    37
    19
See reviews for
61
42
18
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel! Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were very clean and the new renovations of the hotel were great! Nice place for a family to stay as well. Quiet area and I experienced no problems. I would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Ericka M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Hilton Albany Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased that our staffs level of service exceeded your expectations in every area. We appreciate ALL of the recomendations and thank you for your business and loyalty.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was previously a rather "down-at-the-heels" member of a different chain. The recent upgrade to Hilton has been a welcome improvement. Lobby and lobby bar are very welcoming. Equipment in the fitness center is very good. Room was comfortable and immaculate. I would probably book here even if I had need to be in Albany other than on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear dekberg,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and review about the Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor. Needless to say we are proud of our "new" hotel. Our staff, along with the renovations truly make the experience of staying at our hotel both memorable and positive.
I hope that we have the chance to serve you once again.

All the Best !!!!

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful downtown location with great views of Albany. Just a few minutes walk from the amazing New York State Capitol (highly recommend a visit there while in Albany!!) and other historical sights, as well as the waterfront, which has a great walking path. Room was recently updated - but didn't have the polished feel I would have expected (frays in the carpet, etc). The bed was very comfortable. The hotel bar was nice - right in the lobby- although I heard a flight crew on our way in on the airport shuttle lamenting about the recent rennovation to make what they described as a beautiful old bar into something modern and mediocre. The service from the staff was great. I could tell they were not done with rennovations as the stairways, pool area and other parts of the hotel were old and worn looking. Oveall though - LOVED the location and the views. Nice place to stay. Don't forget - plan some time to walk over to the capitol! It is AMAZING!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear103Lisas103,

Thank you for your recent review of The Hilton Albany on Trip Advisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Albany. I was very pleased to read your great comments about our service and our staff.

Thank you again

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There is nothing special about this Hilton property despite the fact that a repeat guest in the elevator was raving about the new renovations. Here are my impressions – in no particular order.
• Despite having Hilton Honors Club status and after having confirmed (on line) a king room, I was told that I would have a double bed. There was no recognition of my HH status (the stingiest of properties hands out bottled water – for instance). Loyalty – I am finding out – is sadly becoming less & less important to hotels and airlines.
• The hotel seems to cater to a lot of big groups … a lot of kids and conventioneers running about.
• The room was smallish, the bathroom minuscule.
• The furnishings and bedding seemed new. The room was clean; most of the amenities were the standard Hilton fare, except no bathrobes. I called the Front Desk to get one and it was if I asked for a fur coat. “Bathrobes?! We don’t have bathrobes!”
• Speaking of the phone, don’t try to call anyone – including the operator – because no one answers the phone … there’s not even a voicemail prompt. So, if the hotel manager thinks there are no complaints, the reason might be that no one answers the phone.
• The doors and hallways are noisy and woke me up early in the morning. In a way, this was good thing since my wake-up call came a half hour late.
• There is a smallish gym and what looked to be a decent sized pool; I didn’t try either.
• I tried to eat in the casual dining restaurant, but it was closed before 10pm.
• When all else fails, try the bar … And happily, the bartenders delivered: they were prompt, attentive and I could get basic food there (I didn’t try room service). There you will find the old school kind of good bartenders who look like they are minding their own business, but are Johnny-on-spot when you need them. I was able to find solace over a beer and a greasy burger while watching a captioned TV show about tuna fishermen.
• The internet was free – at least for me (was this an Honors perk? – maybe).
• There was a mini-frig in the room.
• There is a Rite Aid and Starbucks next door – all close early - by 8pm.

Room Tip: Even though a lackluster property, it might be a best bet in Albany ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Micknyny,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of your guest room and the service you had received in Sessions, "our bar". I was disappointed to hear that our restaurant "Charter" closed before 10pm. This should not have occured and I do apologize. I have adressed this with our Director of Food and Beverage.

Thank you again

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is decent. The temperature of the room I stayed in was set at 58 degrees and even after setting it at 80 degrees after 24 hours, the room remained at 58 degrees. So, I ended up turning off the A/C. The staff who cleaned my room took 3 towels and only replaced it with 1 towel. I used the pool and spa. Both needed some cleaning because I saw some mildew along the corners/edges of the pool/spa. But they had towels there and there wasn't that many people using it when I was there. The pool is 4 feet deep. Overall, I was satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor.com I am sorry to hear that your thermostat in your room made it too cold. I also did show your review to our housekeeping team leader.

I did see that you positively rated our service and accomodation levels very high.

Thank you again.

Regards,

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel accommodations were good. Town closes too early for the summer, after 6pm area around hotel closes. Hotel amenities only things you can use. Location poor due to businesses near hotel closing early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD-GM-ALBHH, General Manager at Hilton Albany, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sheila C,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Great Service, Cleanliness and Accomodations on Tripadvisor.com I was pleased and proud of my team to read about how happy you were with everyone you had encountered. When you travle back to Albany please make it a point to stay with us again and I will have our shuttles transport you anywhere around the area within a three mile radius of the hotel.

All the Best !!!

John D'Adamo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Albany

Address: 40 Lodge Street, State & Lodge, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Hotel Albany)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With completion of the $16 million renovations guests now see the dramatic and exciting change of the facility upon arrival starting with the new entrance, spacious lobby, guest registration counters and the beautiful Charter Restaurant and SESSIONS lounge. This new look brings a sophisticated and upscale setting to downtown Albany all designed to invite people to share, meet and socialize in the public areas of the hotel.The hotel is now 100% non-smoking in all guestrooms.The changes are extensive - including all the elevators, corridors, guest rooms and suites. Now renovated and upgraded meeting the newest standards which are exemplifying Hilton's commitment to its customers. Even the function areas, pool and fitness center have been completely remodeled for the comfort of our guests that provides a contemporary and comfortable environment to conduct business or just to relax.Hilton Albany is the smart choice for travel to Albany - offering comfort, convenience, and a wealth of amenities as well as HHonors points for guests. Located just one block from the New York State Capitol Building and two blocks from the Times Union Center, hotels don’t get any more downtown than this.Getting here is simple too – the Albany Rensselaer Amtrak Train Station is just five minutes away, and the Albany International Airport is just fifteen minutes from our door. Once you have arrived at our hotel in Albany, you’ll find that the best of the city can be found within a few steps in any direction. Hilton Albany is located in the heart of it all, making urban exploration exciting.This downtown Albany hotel is the largest in the area, boasting 385 oversized guest rooms and suites that lend themselves to sophisticated and comfortable travel. Guests at our full-service hotel can appreciate an array of perks that make any stay unbeatable. From complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to a state-of-the-art Hilton Fitness Center to the largest ballroom in the Capital District, our amenities put us above and beyond other hotels in the area.With over 30,000 square feet of space for weddings, meetings and group travel, planners find delight with our downtown Albany hotel. Offering a professional catering staff, flexible venues and customizable online tools to assist in planning, Hilton Albany makes event planning a seamless exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.