We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merry Monk

The Merry Monk
90 North Pearl Street, Albany, NY 12210
518-463-6665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Merry Monk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 609 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stopped in for appetizers after hearing how good the mussels are. Well, they are delicious! They are prepared several different ways - I opted for Thai curry and was not disappointed. My wife had baked brie,which was also very good, and we both enjoyed a couple of pints of Ommegang Rare Vos. The night we were there it was quite crowded and service was sloooow! I only saw one server and she worked her butt off and never lost her cool, even when nearby diners complained about the long wait. We couldn't complain, though, as we had a nice table in the window ( without a reservation ) and the food was well worth the wait! I will definitely return to make my way down the list of mussel offerings!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Belgium Beer & burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had two lunches on two different days at this bar. It was never crowded and I had the same server, who was very friendly. During the first meal I had a Palm cheeseburger, or something like that, and it was delicious. The fries were also great with the coconut curry dipping sauce. Of course, I had a Palm beer with the Palm burger. The next day, I had the grilled chicken caesar salad, and it was very good. I liked the atmosphere and food in this place, which has a decent selection of belgium beers and tv's to watch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Went because it was close and found a gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

On Sunday night in Albany your choices are limited but that doesn't mean you have to settle. I was very pleased with my visit to the Merry Monk. It is a bar, but the food was great. I had the Fleming Baked Cod and it was delicious in a lemon butter sauce. Not wanting the usual fries that accompany bar food the waitress accommodated me by subbing a house salad. Friendly service, clean and welcoming atmosphere and I will go back, even though I will have more choices on a weeknight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great - food, service, bar - and a really nice beer list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in just after noon for lunch after a morning meeting. We were the only customers, but it filled in steadily. Our server (also tending bar) was terrific - friendly, prompt, attentive, knew the whole menu and made great recommendations.
We really enjoyed our barbecue Boar's ribs and the French dip was delicious - made with brisket, slow-cooked in beer with veggies. It was sliced to hold together when dipped. It is delicious. Portions were large but not crazy and we felt it was a great value for the cost. The drinks? Tall and just right. We really enjoyed our stop here and imagine it must be packed for lunch during the week, and for dinner. Again, our server did a GREAT job.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great beer, wonderful mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Really solid, wonderful Belgian-style restaurant. The dipping mayonnaises for the frites were amazing. The mussels were properly prepared and lovely. Sleek styling for the decor. Our service was very good, too. Can't wait to go back with the husband.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merry Monk also viewed

 

Been to The Merry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merry Monk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.