We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced chocolate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chocolate Gecko

The Chocolate Gecko
21 Colvin Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
518-436-0866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Shopping in Albany
Albany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced chocolate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ok, one average sized peanut butter or marshmallow Easter egg was $2.50. After eating it , and asking family members who received them, the eggs got a "They were ok". Not worth the price. Yes, they have interesting flavor combos, like the Dark Chocolate Chai Buddha, but the portions are so small and definitely overpriced. Kandy Kraft and Krause's are just as good or better in quality and better in price., and have a larger selection.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The chocolate is good enough, but prepare yourself for sticker shock. Krauses is better anyway. The parking lot is convenient and the store is clean at least.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spicy Chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you like unique chocolates you're in for a treat!
The spicy chocolates are actually spicy and FLAVORFUL!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam Junction, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“reponse time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have been trying for almost 5 months to schedule a class but I don't have phone calls returned or they never answer their work phone, or even a personal cell. I want to take a class but I am getting discouraged. I would like to change this rating which I will do once I hear from some one and get a class

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“chOcOlate!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Incredible chocolate, great shapes, incredible fillings--some sweet, some spicy, all creative, all yummy. reasonably priced. and the komodo crunch--beyond addictiive. I mean need to find a rehab center and half-way house,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chocolate Gecko also viewed

 

Been to The Chocolate Gecko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chocolate Gecko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.